We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Garden Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of The Garden Cottages
 Click to rate
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This is a round shaped cabin with a separate bathroom/laundry area. There is a glass window in the ceiling and lots of windows all around. The cabin is nestled in a garden near the Lopez Village. It's very scenic, the cabin is very well fitted out with lots of information and easy use.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martha448
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Reviewed 16 June 2016

If you like rude awakenings, stay in Cottage A. When we arrived, the cottage was clean and the gardens were pretty. So we thought we would have a nice stay. But that was not the case. The quirks began to show themselves when we got ready for bed. WiFi was slow as we began to check e-mails and search for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ang3217
rentals1014, Owner at The Garden Cottages, responded to this review

I am so very sorry that your stay in Garden Cottage A was less than perfect! I am mystified that you had all these problems as all the previous guests have had no complaints. I wish you would have mentioned the issues to me personally when you called to say you had to leave a day early. My staff and...

Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed in Cottage B. We found there were no problems at all. People come to Lopez to experience the water (sounds/straights), trails, parks, lots of biking and hiking. This is more of a rental, not a resort. Minimal service, but that was expected, and we didn't need any help with anything. WIFI worked better than anywhere else on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica C
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Wow, my boyfriend and I just got back from our first (hopefully first of many!) trip to the Garden Cottages in Lopez, specifically Garden Cottage B...I cannot even begin to express how much we loved this place! They are located in a prime spot in Lopez Village--the area with the shops, grocery store, restaurants, and some beach access--but as soon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chelsea C
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Great area in Lopez Village and lovely garden surroundings. However, it is too costly at $160 per night considering the roof leaked, there is no private bathroom, and there were terrible-smelling candles we had to remove outside.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan M
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We stayed in Cottage B the nights of August 24, 25 & 26, 2014. The cottage was perfect for us. A lovely and very private garden greets you upon your entrance. The unique octagonal shaped cottage was clean and well appointed. There was an outdoor deck and a dining patio that offered plenty of privacy. We had no issues or...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James S
Acampo, California, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Our stay was far from pleasant. The room is adorable when you walk through the door. However, before long you realize it is a giant waste of $175. The kitchen faucet is literally falling off, the bed is old and uncomfortable, the TV is small and requires 3 remotes to operate, there is no adjustment on the heater (full on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kathleen Q
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. When we arrived we were welcomed by the lovely scents from the flowers in the garden and hummingbirds flying past. We really loved the quirky lay out of the octagonal shaped cottage and the decor: Warm green colours and lots of wood. The cottage had everything we needed. A beautiful bathroom with sky light,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LeprechaunConnemara
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I paid in full in advance for a 4 day stay at the "Garden Cottages" for a special birthday celebration and stayed in cottage B. On the surface, the place seemed quaint enough. The "professional gardening" was just okay. Lots of dead branches and weeds! It quickly became clear that the space was very cramped for two...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bhappytraveler
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We wanted to stay in Lopez Village, and found these cottages online. There are two cottages on the property, and while they do not have a water view, they are about a block from the waterfront. On the plus side, the gardens surrounding the cottages are absolutely spectacular, and beyond what anyone would expect for a lodging of any kind....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike_in_CO

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
0.2 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
114 reviews
8.8 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
410 reviews
7.7 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
7.7 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
472 reviews
14.1 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about The Garden Cottages

Address: Washburn Place, Lopez Island, WA
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Garden Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 2 garden cottages. One is rectangular and one round -shaped. The round one may be a little larger and more set back off the road.”
 of 5 bubbles martha448, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Cottage A”
 of 5 bubbles Ang3217, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cottage B has a tub, not wheelchair friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles E4547KNjessicac, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Cottage A might be better.”
 of 5 bubbles 369janm, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
4 of 4