We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

697 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 688: English reviews
North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay for a few nights at this hotel. Service is awful-no registration desk. Icy cold lobby and restaurant. The grounds for this hotel are beautiful. The rooms are large- just bare wood floors. Positive the bar and restaurant are lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolNorthCarolina
Bainbridge Island, WA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There was much to like in this renovated, rebranded hotel in south Olympia. Our spacious top floor room with king bed and fold-out couch was large enough to host an athletic event -- perhaps bowling, as suggested by the great expanse of Pergo (quasi-wood) flooring without even a throw rug or two to break the shiny hard surface. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There are many good things in the newly renovated restaurant at the also renamed Hotel RL, Olympia (formerly known as the Red Lion.) Pros: The food our party received was generally tasty. We appreciated that the restaurant extended hours to accommodate the holiday fundraiser elsewhere in the hotel. Our waiter was friendly and tried hard to get us seated. Now,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithPaints
Keizer, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not satisfied with customer service when we asked about the extra $50 charge to my credit card. This charge should be explained to guests at check-in, and, if used, should be itemized on the statement. If not used (as was our case), should be immediately removed from any billing notes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897stellah
Paul T, General Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear 897stellah, My apologies for the lack of clarity in describing our policy for establishing credit to cover incidental charges. The hotel releases any unused portion of this authorization upon checkout, but there can be a delay in these funds being available for your use due to the process policy of the bank that issued your card. Thank you for...

Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always enjoy my stays at the Olympia RL. I especially like having a restaurant onsite. I haven't had time to try the coffee bar, but look forward to trying something special on a future visit. Staff is always helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 855junet
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear 855junet, Thank you for the review. I'm excited for you to try our Victrolla Coffee! I'm positive you will love it. Thank you for your staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mary

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First, I had never stayed at a Red Lion hotel before, and was reluctant based on the quality I had seen at other locations, however, this hotel was recent remodeled, specifically the lobby and restaurant, and was quite welcoming. The lobby is beautiful, the restaurant is even more so with a perfect Olympia view. The food at the restaurant, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zachary R
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Zachary R, Thank you for the review. I'm so glad you chose to stay with us, and that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mary

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not naive enough to believe the pictures of hotels online, however, this hotel was so far from the pictures it was laughable. Besides it being located far off the beaten path and difficult to find (especially at night), the overall first impression was poor. The cleanliness was very poor; the hallways appeared as though they had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaV7857YR
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear lisaV7857YR, I am so sorry you did not experience an enjoyable stay. We work hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and it appears we failed with your stay. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally to discuss your stay further. Regards, Mary T

Reviewed 1 week ago

It started a the front door as there were not any benches for guests to sit on while waiting for the driver of the car to park. The lobby was cold (on design) and seemed to be arranged for teenagers with bleachers, coffee bar and a platform for open mike taking up all the space. We took our guest to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Donna R, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I have shared your feedback with our staff to review, and we will work on making any necessary changes. Regards, Mary

Seattle
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a very wet and low visibility drive from Seattle in early morning on Thanksgiving Day, we made it in time to out reserved buffet brunch. Then we checked into the newly renovated RL in Olympia as our Thanksgiving Day get away. The front desk we remembered has evolved to a more modern mobile electronic check in/out common hallway kiosk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ResponsibleTraveler
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear ResponsibleTraveler, Thank you for the great review. I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the recent changes we have made to the property. I totally agree the view from our hotel is amazing! We appreciate you staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mary

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel. Super nice place! Staff are friendly and accommodating! The beds are comfy! Personal hygiene products from Cascadia Soapery are awesome! Breakfast, while not included in room price, was delicious! Recommend the Skinny Scramble! Intrigued by their speaker series, but unfortunately not available during our stay. Big screen t.v. Our only peeve, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLeo
Mary T, Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear LibraryLeo, Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time, and hope to see you again soon. Regards,

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympia
7.1 km away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#1 of 10 in Olympia
1,078 reviews
2.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia
1.8 km away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
2.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
2.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Olympia
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Price Range: $125 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a top floor room to avoid hearing your upstairs neighbors' footsteps on the wood-like floor. And especially if they tap dance!”
 of 5 bubbles 107JohnM107, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for facing east towards the Capitol building.”
 of 5 bubbles B3109GIdonnar, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room with a view of Capitol Lake on the north end; great pool and hot tub”
 of 5 bubbles Y2758MYwilliamk, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good views and easy pet access on the lake side (premium rooms); our jacuzzi suite had no view but was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mandypdx, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a top floor”
 of 5 bubbles Marukita, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay