We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilltop Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilltop Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Erie, Colorado
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We had a very positive experience here. The am breakfasts were excellent, with home made pancakes (chocolate chip and coconut) the cook even made heart shaped biscuits for Valentines Day. The only downside is no gym area. But we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tnish59
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewed 29 January 2016

This is in regard to the Hilltop Restaurant, not the hotel. Many moons ago, when I attended WSU, the Hilltop was locally owned, and there was a very personal touch to the dining experience. The food was the very best in town and for just a little more than other restaurants, but the food was worth the extra expense. As...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jim M
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We actually are not corporate owned, and my husband and I have owned the Hilltop for over 40 years and still manage it daily. We tore down the original Restaurant 3 years ago, (and we all cried for weeks). We have a brand new Executive Chef Team and our food and...

Lacey, Washington
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The "new" Hilltop is the only lodging facility in Pullman that includes a full service restaurant and lounge. Rooms are great and staff very friendly and helpful. No other place comes close for value and convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kfrankk
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel & restaurant. We've had a lot of fun with our new Executive Chef Team and have all gained 10 pounds with their wonderful creations! We are very lucky to have such a great staff- thanks again for your great comments- we truly appreciate you as a guest!

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Renovated hotel, both rooms and lobby give this hotel a slightly better than Holiday Inn Express vibe. Amenities are top notch. Beds comfy, TVs HD and new, rooms big for a hotel and the place smelled pleasant. Breakfast buffet was very good but a little bit limited in variety. I would say best stay in Pullman for the price. Increase...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert D
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We are excited for the new year as we continue to try and improve all areas of our hotel & restaurant. Our breakfast cook made WONDERFUL apple cinnamon crepes for our gust breakfast buffet this week- come back and request them- he'll make them just for you if you ask! Again,...

Kent, Washington
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The room was 3 stars. Was dated and nothing special. Fridge and microwave by themselves in a corner and not built into a cabinet or anything, one small table and two chairs, flat screen TV in a hutch and two beds for the room I had. Bed and pillow were comfortable. My only two real complaints were that there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krazykidz
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We were in town for an event at WSU. Based upon reviews, we decided to reserve at the Hilltop Inn. We were greeted warmly and the front desk staff informed us there was a large student group staying in the hotel but that we had been placed on a different floor. We were informed the students were not to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kiwi4532
Idaho
Reviewed 16 November 2015

clean, large rooms. There is a restaurant, bar, indoor swimming pool with hot tub/Jacuzzi. Limited hours for swimming pool and hot from 7AM-10PM. Staff at hotel is very helpful. It is Pullman and it can get busy during the WSU school season so do make reservations during the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YasminEdwards
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here on the Palouse. We take pride in our hometown hospitality and wonderful staff that we feel enhances the quality of your stay. Pullman does get busy, but we will always do our best to get you in! Thank you again...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I came to Pullman - Palouse region - for a week-long photography tour. I enjoyed staying at the Hilltop Hotel for the rooms were large, simple and comfortable. This is a great price-value combo. I did get the impression though that the hotel was greatly understaffed. The rooms were not cleaned well every day. I especially doubt if my room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bojantercon
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel! We apologize if you feel we were being wasteful; when photography groups come into town we try to make breakfast easy for our guests and give them the ability to eat on-the-go. On any normal day at The Hilltop, we always try to offer real dishes and cutlery to...

Skaneateles, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

If you are planning a trip to Pullman, this place is great! Beautiful room, free breakfast and great views. Book well in advance because it fills up fast. Breakfast wasn't great but it was free. I was able to walk to town from the hotel which was nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tanya. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in the process of improving our breakfast selection and changing what is served day to day. We enjoy seeing reviews like this so we know what we're doing right and where we need to improve. We hope to see on your next...

Wimberley, Texas, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We were looking for something in between $60 and $150 and we were hoping that the Hilltop would be a nice fit but it made us second guess the downtrodden looking $60 choice. Nothing was bad but we basically didn't feel that there was any bang for the buck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
Barb W, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sir. We are sorry that your stay was not all that you had hoped. We are an independently owned and operated hotel. We strive to give the "Hometown Hospitality" we take so much pride in, to all of our guests. We are in the process of updating the hotel, from breakfast, to the rooms and...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pullman
3.2 km away
Residence Inn Pullman
Residence Inn Pullman
#1 of 5 in Pullman
165 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Paradise Creek
11.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moscow Pullman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
12.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
13.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilltop- Lodging, Cuisine & Spirits is your "home away from home." Locally owned and operated for over 40 years, we pride ourselves on our Hometown Hospitality. We have 115 rooms with a King or Double Queen, Indoor Pool, Restaurant & Lounge, and a wonderful staff. Or enjoy a Themed Spa Suite overlooking Pullman and the home of the Cougars- Washington State University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 928 NW Olsen St, Pullman, WA 99163-2862 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Region: United States > Washington > Pullman
Price Range: $155 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Pullman
Hilltop Hotel Magnuson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilltop Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from the north side of the building. :)”
 of 5 bubbles 669terrib, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the views of the hills are spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles EVancouverMom, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms on valley side facing northeast have a view over the valley towards Pullman.”
 of 5 bubbles inklinglover, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good view of WSU Campus. Lounge is WSU Cougars themed. Easy access to all Pullman and university locations.”
 of 5 bubbles kfrankk, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you want quiet, stay away from room 132. It is near the pool and stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles YasminEdwards, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay