We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skamokawa Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skamokawa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Skamokawa Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016

While on a kayaking trip, I stayed in one of the hotel rooms without a patio (I found that there were several nice options of places to sit and enjoy the view and fresh breeze - on the dock or the gazebo). The room was spotlessly clean.There was a small refrigerator in the room and the general store downstairs was... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreyWillow03
Cathlamet, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Epic fail! If this hotel wants any chance of staying in business, they need to learn a thing or two about demographics! Statistics show that the spending public at large spends on average almost 3 billion on travel every year. In 1996, the average spender who had a pet traveling with them was less than 3 percent. As of 2015,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MedinaClass
Shannon B, Owner at Skamokawa Resort, responded to this review

As a pet owner myself we really wanted our hotel to be a pet friendly one, but it wasn't a good fit for us. Like you mentioned before we did accept pets for a short time but unfortunately we ran into too many irresponsible pet owners, and items were being damaged more often than not. Our property is historic and... More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

If you want to experience the lower Columbia, the Skamokawa Lodge is the perfect location and setting. The setting is peaceful, centrally located and very comfortable. If you want to get away from it all and at the same time emerse yourself in U.S. history, this is the place!

Helpful?
1 Thank PMBru
Shannon B, Owner at Skamokawa Resort, responded to this review

We are so lucky to be in such a beautiful area and one full of history. I am glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us review it means a lot to us. More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2016

This was a perfect place for our reunion with six women friends. The accommodations were just right for us. We were in Condo #3. While we enjoyed the local community and kayaking on the river, we also appreciated the comfort of "coming home" to our comfortable rooms, kitchen and private decks overlooking the water. I want to come again and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mudspud1
N. Calif.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2015

My wife and I decided it would be a great idea to take her mom and visit her sister on Thanksgiving, our choice of this resort could not have been better. It is the perfect location for two elderly ladies, one living in Centralia,WA the other coming from California. The staff could not have been more accomodating and friendly, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank woodzyN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Having been to Skamokawa for several years now, this was my first time staying at the resort. What an amazing surprise to find this gem! The owners and their staff are fantastic and the condo is incredible---especially the jacuzzi tub! The views are great, the beds are comfortable and it's just a short scenic drive to the beach. A perfect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kirstin J
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Three couples shared Suite #3 in a relatively new building on the property. Others in our group stayed in "hotel rooms" in the historic building which I understand are cozy and clean. We didn't see those rooms. The three suites in our building were great. We had a full kitchen, two water side decks and an easy walk to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank freelancesteve
Washington state
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Some of bride and grooms family stayed here and found it to be charming! The single rooms are upstairs from their general store which was also charming, if not totally functional as it closed very early and opened very late. There is only one way up to the rooms, very long, steep stairs. The rooms all share a common, narrow... More 

Helpful?
Thank wernemi
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2015

No, you will NOT find a huge, but "could be in any major city in the US"-type of room with carpets and two king beds. What you will find are restored hardwood floors, a quaint narrow upstairs hall with an oriental carpet runner it's entire length, and doors to each room opening off of either side. Each room overlooks the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We stayed at the Resort for 7 nights in July. What a surprising find! Lance and Shannon were fine hosts and extremely accommodating to any needs. Our room was small but clean, with gorgeous views of the Columbia River from the private balcony. Housekeeping service was great, too. We also took a picnic dinner to the hotel gazebo one evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank 805pam2013

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skamokawa
27.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
18.2 km away
The Villa at Little Cape Horn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Resort is located in a Historic District on the Columbia River. All 8 hotel rooms have queen beds, private bathrooms, and satellite TV. 2 Rooms have a private balcony. All 3 of our exquisite suites have a relaxed sitting area with private balcony and breathtaking views, private baths, full kitchens, satellite TV, washer and dryer. Suites sleep from 2-10 people and vary from 1-5 bedrooms. We also have Conference Center with private deck. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skamokawa Resort

Address: 1391 W State Route 4, Skamokawa, WA 98647-9740
Region: United States > Washington > Skamokawa
Price Range: $112 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Skamokawa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for water view rooms. Less chance of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles freelancesteve, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are quaint and comfortable from the brief glimpses we got at other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles carrieb375, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The first rooms at the top of the stairs have the private balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles 805pam2013, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The balcony hotel rooms have nice decks with views. There are also more spacious condos which are available.”
 of 5 bubbles gwonhoff, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“face the water; wifi available on the patio”
 of 5 bubbles Buffehead, 24 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5