We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Virginian Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Virginian Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here three times in 2016, nice place - clean rooms and reasonable rates.. and vacancy when the main town is booked solid. Nice river by the property.. and a full service pizza place across the way. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I rented a cabin as I had my dog with me, and I try to be respectful. It is small. I knew this from previous reviews, so was fine with it. The efficiency kitchen and tiny 3/4 bath suited my needs as a stopover on my road trip. The pillows, as previously noted, are very thin, so I had packed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the cabins. # 4 to be exact. Everything worked. The downs I saw. Terrible thin pillows. The t.v. Was super hazy. The heat worked and kept us nice and warm. Besides the deer wake no is up at 1:00 in the morn. Eating out of our trash on the porch our stay was great! This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
Rochester, Washington
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very clean rooms in a rustic setting. Nothing fancy but it was clean and well cared for. I would stay here again. There is also a decent pizza place right next door that i very convenient and a gas station and convenience store on the other side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mace648
Management response:

We're always happy to hear from our guests. Thank you

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The room smelled musty and was very dark, even when the curtain was wide open and all the lamps were on. It was advertised as having free wifi but I couldn't get a connection after trying for more than an hour. We were on the lower level and could hear the people walking above us on the wooden floors and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michigantraveler35
Management response:

We're sorry you were disappointed, we are working on these issues. Thank you for your input.

Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. A rustic large room. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Wonderful continental breakfast in a charming room. We were sorry that our trip only required one night. The price was very reasonable. It was a large spread out property that was well cared for. We enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate staying again if in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 822cherih
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Rustic cabin like room with full kitchen (didn't need it). Pet friendly and park area for walks. Clean, comfortable bed and quiet. Great continental breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Enjoyable and recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
Waterloo IL
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Our room was very dark and desperately needed updating. The furniture was in such poor shape that I got a splinter off one of the dresser drawers. Breakfast was not served until 8 a.m. so since we liked to head out to the national park early in the morning, we were not able to take advantage of it. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myra77
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The pool was been filled in 6 years ago so someone should remove the photo of it from TripAdvisor. Staff was friendly. Rooms are large and clean and you get a feeling of being in a cedar cabin furnished back in the 90's. Grocery store is next door, pizza place is only steps away, and the downtown is only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bergetti
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We rode through on our motorbikes on what was a sweltering, hot August day and I have to say, when I walked in and turned on the AC and sweet, frosty cold air came at me I never wanted to leave! The beds were very comfy and the room was cozy and had a great feel to it. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Al M
Management response:

Thank You for taking the time to review. Remember, on your return visit to mention you are a return guest and get a $5 discount.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 km away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
341 reviews
0.5 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
290 reviews
1.6 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.3 km away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#1 of 10 in Winthrop
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new management since 2009. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Virginian Resort

Address: 808 Highway 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Price Range: $107 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Virginian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Virginian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Winthrop
Virginian Hotel Winthrop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Virginian Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Boise, Idaho
4 months ago
Boise, Idaho
4 months ago
Clinton, Washington
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Virginian Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riders seemed to be grouped in one area along the river, while families were housed in other areas of the hotel/motel.”
 of 5 bubbles MaDuck18, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a cabin and have fun go to three finger jacks for dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles 850kenm, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with the best views would be second-story rooms facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles F6834QAanns, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms for 69.00 are just basic cabin type rooms. The cabins are nicer at just 99.00”
 of 5 bubbles 768rebeccal, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 870RobertP870, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay