We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Adamsburg, Pa.
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to find right off of the interstate. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast could use a few more items but did the trick. Price was right. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to book a room in Charleston for Thanksgiving night and ended up here. Thinking the hotel might be busy we were surprised to see it almost empty. We checked in and the girl at the front desk offered us our choice of floors, offered to put us away from the elevator and offered a king bed, all without us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bandit321
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear Bandit321, Just wanted to say thanks for your excellent review! We were delighted to hear all the wonderful comments you made about our staff service and breakfast. We're glad that you chose to spend Thanksgiving with us and hope to see you again soon! All the best, Richard Eaton General Manager Holiday Inn Express Civic Center

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located and just off the interstate. We were using our GPS to get to the hotel but the satellite signal disconnected and it took us a bit of time to find the hotel - just head to the downtown area and you can't miss it. Across the street from the hotel is the civic center and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockend86
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear Rockend86, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in knowing when we have exceeded our guests expectations so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Richard Eaton General Manager Holiday Inn Express Civic Center

Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff members were fantastic! Kind, attentive and welcoming after a very long day and night on the road. I had little patience after getting lost and adding 100 miles and two extra hours to my first day out. I couldn't have landed in a better place! Whatever I asked for, they were ready and prepared to assist. No excuses, just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777grandma777
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear 777grandma777, Thank you so much for your review. And yes, we are truly fortunate to have such a fantastic team here that always "goes the extra mile" to assure the total satisfaction of our guests. We're glad that you chose us for your stay in Charleston and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit! Sincerely, Richard...

San Anselmo, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent trip to West Virginia, we were stranded in Charleston when our flight out of there was cancelled twice. We found that they offered a discount for people in these circumstances. We called and they booked us immediately and sent the shuttle to pick us up. After we checked in, the shuttle then took us to the nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiestaf
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear maggiestaf, Just wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share the great experience you recently had at our hotel after your flights were cancelled. I can certainly understand the frustration you felt after experiencing a recent flight cancellation myself and how stressful it can be. I am so happy to hear that...

North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was quick and easy, the room was very clean as was the bath, the breakfast was very good with sausage bacon and eggs along with the normal fare. My only complaints were the wifi which in our room was very weak and there not a fridge or microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear William B, Just wanted to say thank you for kind review. We appreciate all the nice things you had to say about our clean rooms and great breakfast. We'll certainly look into the issue you had with the weak wifi connection and I'm happy to report we will be adding additional microwaves and refrigerators to our rooms soon. Please...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room and view were great. When we checked in, the staff was awesome and took all our needs into mind. The breakfast buffet was stocked well and kept very clean. The only problem we had was that we couldn't get and warm or hot water. We let them know about that in the morning when we were checking out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear Thomas M, Thanks for sharing your recent experience with our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks about our rooms, staff service, and breakfast. And please accept our apology again for the issue you had with the hot water. I am happy to report that the problem was quickly corrected and we are glad to hear that you were pleased...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The parking lot needs attention, it made the hotel look like it was a questionable area of town. There is a sizable mall across the street, so it is definitely not a bad area. The staff inside was very nice and informative about the area and the hotel has a shuttle to take guest around town. My room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you for your candid feedback, and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with usl. Each of your kind words about our staff, rooms, courtesy shuttle, and well stocked breakfast are much appreciated. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston we hope you will choose us again. Sincerely, Richard Eaton General Manager Holiday...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful! This hotel is in desperate need of an update!! Mattress very old lumpy and smelled sour! Slept on top of my sweater and left my shoes on! Room needs a good cleaning the coffee machine was filthy! The bathroom had a one Disposable Foot Sox next to the garbage can in the bathroom from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpat1318
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear cpat1318, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and I hope you will accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you described concerning the cleanliness of your room. I can assure you that I have addressed these issues with our leadership and corrective action has been taken. We do have many improvements scheduled for...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Extremely dirty. Room smelled as soon as we walked in. Dusty. Bathroom floor sticky. Bed looked and felt like it was 15 years old. Yellow/brown stains on the sheets. Didn't want to touch anything or even get into the bed. Will be complaining to the company who selected this hotel for our business conference stay. Do not recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adp5047
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review

Dear adp5047, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issues you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these matters will be looked into and corrected. I wish that we had been given the opportunity to make things right before your departure as we clearly would...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
0.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.1 km away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
100 reviews
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Dr, Charleston, WV 25301-2527
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $155 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staff is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles 777grandma777, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay in the middle if you want good Wifi”
 of 5 bubbles gtmobill, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for first floor - there are only two elevators and they are very slow.”
 of 5 bubbles MissS4, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms are small”
 of 5 bubbles Cgeck, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor was great, very quiet. Except our king did not have either a microwave or refrigerator or safe.”
 of 5 bubbles NSF4040, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay