We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 425: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
 Click to rate
Waverly, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful inside. The staff was great. I can't say enough about Roberta S. and Monica. They are wonderful. Rooms were large, nice and clean, bed very comfortable, every detail attended to. Breakfast buffet was exceptional. We all fell in love with Mosa. Everyone there very friendly and helpful. Thank you all for making us feel like a special guest. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _wvdefan
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice and clean but I feel like 140.00 is a little pricey which is why I gave it 4 instead of 5. Beds were clean and comfy. Fridge in room. Nice towels. Bathroom was clean. Carpet didn't seem to be vacuumed recently but other than that room was smelled and looked clean. Don't go here looking for a view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommaDiamond
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear MommaDiamond, As we are located in South Charleston, I agree, we do not have any better view of the area than any other hotel. What we do offer is a suite, indoor heated pool, fitness facility, restaurant and bar on property and free WiFi. Thank you for choosing us. S Arnold, GM

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The entire experience was great at the Holiday Inn. Staff always greets you by name and makes you feel as a valued guest. The rooms are always clean and well maintained and the location is easy to get to, to get in and out. The best part of my morning is when Richard greets me and he knows what I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann m
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Ann, We're glad you feel at home and that you enjoy the service so much. Our goal is to be the best in service and we appreciate your mention of our staff members. Thanks again for your loyalty to Holiday Inn and we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped over for one night on way to Florida. Clean, spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen at a reasonable rate. Dinner at hotel was better than typical, and had kids coloring sheets. Breakfast not included given this was not a holiday inn express, which I expected, but surprised coffee wasn't free. Pool had multiple levels and large hot tub. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike & Emily D
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Mike & Emily, We're very happy to hear your comments and appreciate them! Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the pool. We hope to see you again on your return trip!

Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First off, this nice hotel is pet friendly which is what we were looking for. The room was very clean, and actually... It looked like the housekeepers forgot to leave us bath towels for drying off after our shower. We called the front desk and had towels delivered to us pretty quickly. Also, I expected to be on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tisha L
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Tisha, We love to travel with our friends as well, and finding a pet-friendly place is sometimes hard. We're happy it worked out so well for you and thank you for all the great comments. I hope we'll see you more often!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up here because a sister hotel had problems with our reservation and ended up booked, so they moved us as a courtesy. This hotel ended up being far better accommodations than where we had previously booked. The pool was better for our kids, the full restaurant had very good food, and our room was great. As a bonus,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay T
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay, We're happy to hear you enjoyed your unexpected stay! Thank you for all of your comments about our hotel and staff. We especially thank you for mentioning our 2 staff members by name. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My room was dirty. I don't think they own a vacuum cleaner here. I ate at the restaurant here and it made me sick. The front desk man was rude and surly. They have to feed stray cats in front of the place in order to keep the rodent population in check. Did I mention the trains? Charleston loves trains,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rm H
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Mr. RmH, We are sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory stay with us, and we do hope that you informed us of the issues so they could be taken care of before you left. We will be sure to address the service issues addressed in your review but please note that we were hurt by the assumptions...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very impressed with the cleanliness and upkeep of this hotel. The only problem I saw was the kids running from the very impressive indoor pool through the restaurant area to the elevator in swimsuits without cover ups and dripping water all over the floor. The beds were soft and very comfortable. The only noise that we heard were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear Donna E, You have the same observations that we see as well. But we love having families and the indoor pool is a great attraction for them. And for their parents. Hope will will see you back in Charleston soon. Thanks, S Arnold, GM

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As you can see from the title the service was beyond great and the food is very good and the employees are very good and especially Roberta she is a amazing worker and the hotel should be proud of having her

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buffalhdbdhxhd
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear buffalhdbdhxhd, “Great Comments” Thank you and we always appreciate when you mention by name one of our superstars. Hope you can come back soon. S Arnold,GM

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is well kept and clean , Staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet and the server Richard were both wonderful!We also enjoyed the Comedy Zone on this visit which was an added plus..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jallen9762
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review

Dear jallen9762, Our Romance Package is a great value and available most weekends when we have Comedy Zone. I hope you can come back for more romance throughout the year. S Arnold, GM

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
6.0 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
4.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
4.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
4.7 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $155 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
1 month ago
5 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
10 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
10 months ago
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would imagine rooms away from the elevator are the best. That is where we were.”
 of 5 bubbles donnae479, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The top floor views are great!”
 of 5 bubbles jallen9762, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Kid and family friendly”
 of 5 bubbles circbarb, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 903wendyj, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure they reserved the type of room you want before traveling.”
 of 5 bubbles AlfredT_12, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5