We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 566: English reviews
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This Hampton is like all others we've stayed in - we seek out Hamptons because of their excellent staff, reliable quality, and the invented the free breakfast. Almost all Hamptons have noisy HVAC units - wish they'd fix this. Because of its convenience to I-64 and 79 and the main route into downtown Charleston, traffic noise is an issue. These...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
Jane Lew, United States
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The guest rooms were spacious, clean and modern and the beds were very comfortable. I especially liked the built in chargers on the nightstand. All staff I encountered were friendly except the gentleman on checkout. He didn't have much of a personality. I loved the complimentary shuttle and used it to go to the Town Center Mall and back. The...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 737leannk
Waverly, Ohio
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Breakfast could be served better, some items ran out before other replacements were available. But all in all it was ok. Very convenient location for the civic center. We enjoyed our stay in your hotel. Will recommend it to friends and family if and when they come to Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2497CKbettyb
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I will keep this short and to the point. Booked two rooms under the same reservation number. Seems very simple; NOT AT ALL! Rate was not correct for both rooms. My reservations were under the wrong HH#. Not sure how that happened when I have e-mail confirmation with the correct HH#. Informed the clerk who would not fix it on...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H3654YP
Hampton Inn Dow... C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear H3654YP, Thank you for speaking with me on the phone and clearing up the misunderstanding. I am so glad that it was not our hotel where issue occurred. It was truly unfortunate that this happened, especially at this time. I do want to apologize and offer our condolences.

Columbus, OH
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

If I hadn't been so tired when we arrived, we would have left. I stood at the counter for 5 minutes listening to the staff have a personal conversation. No one came to check on the counter until I said "hello" multiple times. Then it took forever to get through the paperwork. Our room was a typical Hampton Inn room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dddtravel
Hampton Inn Dow... C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear dddtravel, We do apologize that you did not receive the level service that you are accustomed to during your recent stay at our hotel. We're sorry for the issues encountered in your room and with our front desk, and we’re continually working with our team towards improvement to ensure that these situations don’t happen again. If you return to...

Marion, Virginia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Outstanding hotel close to the Charleston Civic Center. From checkin to checkout the staff was friendly and went the extra mile as many were going to the TSO concert and many required a shuttle to the concert. The shuttle drivers were awesome and got us there on time and even planned ahead for after show pickup. I must not forget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike9917
Windsor, CT
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just one night for work. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Loved the online check in and room selection. Plenty of choices for breakfast and coffee, tea and water is out most of the day. We used the shuttle to go to the bar/restaurant area of town...driver was super nice and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTcpl
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I absolutely loved staying there. It was right at the on and off amp from the interstate but at the tame time it had a nice pretty setting tucked away. It was like the gateway to Charleston. My next trip I will venture and see more of Charleston. The hotel had all amenities I needed. It had vary nice staff....

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F522CEanner
Englewood, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We were only there a few hours... got in around 1:30 a.m., and we left at around 10 a.m. The check-in clerk was very nice and got us situated fairly quickly. The breakfast was also pretty good. The waffles were outstanding. The sausage links were OK... The eggs were hot and there were three kinds of juices.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6123VLrichardh
Chardon, Ohio
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We stay in Hampton inns because they are supposed to be a great place to spend a night or two while traveling. This hotel in Charleston , West Virginia is the exception. The phone in the room did not work. There was no things to do packet. A large black man with a missing tooth and no identification or uniform...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dober1
Hampton Inn Dow... C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear dober1, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered in your room and at breakfast, and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
8.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $157 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's near busy roads, I don't think any are quieter than others or have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles B2493DYkathyl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“5th floor towards the front of the hotel. Rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mike9917, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We generally prefer higher floors at the end of the hall: less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsdanad, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles 738mandik, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the elevator, on the north side, and at the east end for the quietest rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LJH610, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5