We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

16/06/2017 17/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, very good service and standard clean rooms. Pleasant stay on budget. There is gym and sauna but there are also running trails in vicinity. It is situated 15 minutes walking distance from the Main Street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vladan R
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to see you on your next trip to Shepherdstown!

Columbia, MD
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I were in Shepherdstown a few weeks back and knew we were going to need accommodations for an upcoming event so we stopped in to the check in desk and made reservations for a room with a king bed in a quiet section of the hotel. The clerk at the desk made the reservations and faxed me...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LordThomMohr
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that...

Front Royal, VA
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I'm giving higher than a one rating since the staff were friendly and we were able to check in early. The rooms need a more thorough cleaning and need updated. For the price, I was expecting nicer quality. The drapes were torn, stains on chairs, stains on carpet, mold on air conditioner and ripped carpet by door were a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marleanm
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed two nights, good group rate we paid. Rooms are large, the restaurant on site is very decent and inexpensive. Bathroom could stand a freshening up where grout/caulk is concerned. Room had extra sink, coffee maker, microwave, small fridge, comfy bed. There is a gym and also an indoor basketball court, which I've never seen at a hotel before....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy S
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clarion and hope you had a great time during Freedoms Run! During your stay there should have been a USA Today Weekender in the lobby - perhaps they were all gone by the time you had gotten there? Nonetheless I wish we had one for you....

WDC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I wouldn’t exactly call the Clarion a dump but agree with other reviewer who commented that the place needs some serous housekeeping and updates. Like other reviewers, I’m not a snob about hotel rooms – mostly just want a hot shower and clean bed. But I do also expect some degree of cleanliness and housekeeping above what one would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GD77
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Clarion. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to take advantage of our breakfast. We offer free coffee in the mornings starting at 7AM when breakfast starts. I will get with our Food & Beverage department to see what we can do to...

Southeast
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I was not quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. The check-in and check out were very efficient and the staff were very nice. The room was large and great space for sharing. I would definitely recommend to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LovesComfyBeds
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The staff here is pretty nice. I would not choose to stay here. The rooms are dated and need to be thoroughly cleaned/painted. Bed spreads are old and heavy. The Internet is abysmal. I travel throughout Africa and consistently have better internet than the have here. Reading other reviews it does seem they are slowly trying to upgrade. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin S
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We have updated our internet service and have installed a device that helps disperse speed evenly to be fair to all of our guests. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I'm not a snob about hotel rooms. I understand wear and tear, but I expect clean. Our approach to this hotel made a good impression. It looked modern, well kept, and attractive outside and in the lobby. However, when we got into our room the two sheers on the window were ripped from top to bottom and from the frayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that...

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Very good and good Bar with nice rooms special events can be held here , would recommend anyone to check out for Weddings and Holidays ,Easter egg hunts and buffet very nice for family-friendly.Been here many Times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william c
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoy the Clarion Hotel and all of our events! Our Thanksgiving Buffet is right around the corner - hope to see you there!

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Spent a week at the Clarion - used gym and pool (both very nice). Admin and cleaning Staff very efficient and friendly. Rooms were clean and modern. Neighborhood is quiet, but near Shepherdstown historic area. Tried to use the outdoor fitness trail, but it was not mowed/maintained. Suggest that management put a coffee pot in the lobby for guests -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandBetsey
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our amenities! We enjoy hearing about our guests stay so that we can only get better. We do offer coffee on the weekends, but I will pass along your comments to our General Manager. While there are spaces at the entrance of the hotel that are reserved for our staff...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
16/06/2017 17/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
128 reviews
1.5 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
795 reviews
13.2 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
14.9 km away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Rumsey Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Dr, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-9602
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Price Range: $194 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor is handy.”
RetiredDude, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the front of the hotel and away from the elevators because of the noise.”
  • Nice big living room
  • Big bed in the suite
  • Front of the hotel and parking lot
  • Bathroom is small but in good condition
  • Nice desk and strong WIFI
  • Sunrise from the room
PrawetJ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 404.”
LordThomMohr, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even the room near the elevator was quiet.”
T4199SYpauld, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the far side of the hotel are quieter -- they are looking out at the grounds and fitness center -- NOT the parking lot.”
barbara12november194, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$140
Priceline
ClarionHotelsUS$140
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates