We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

It seemed that the hotel has a consistent business trade That being said some business traveler creature comforts should be improved. Wifi access is weak, television line up is limited and you have to settle to watch NBC (olympics) through a light snow storm. $8.95 for breakfast (not included) . Tuesday and Wednesday nights see a good local crowd for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCP_NCH
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your stay. We have been working diligently ensuring that our customers have an enjoyable experience. We have added 18 new antennas throughout our guest rooms to ensure high speed wireless internet service. As far as the TV is...

In Transit
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Staff is very nice, polite and professional - cheers to them! Building is out dated and lackluster. Wifi is TERRIBLE. Streaming sites (Hulu, Netflix, etc) are blocked and the web connection isn't even strong enough to stream or even download a movie. The cable is terrible too. Analog cable that doesn't display correctly on fairly modern TVs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyPBnJ
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Unfortunately due to guests streaming, other guests were not able to do the simplest tasks online; therefore, we had to block the streaming. Also, perhaps your cable was loose? We would have been more than happy to fix that for you. We hope this doesn't discourage you from staying with us again on your...

Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We came up for the theater festival. My friend had forgotten how quickly the town fills up and got one of the last rooms in town at this hotel. I was excellent. Last time we were up, we stayed at a different place and it was not nearly as nice. The rooms were clean and quiet and it had good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbara12november194
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next July!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Dated rooms with peeling paint, scratched furniture and major stains in carpet. $4.70 for a 10 oz. latte! Nice staff, including a driver (Sue, such a nice woman and also good tour guide!) who provides complimentary shuttle service at night, 6-11 is one of the only highlights. Cute town, but the hotel needs a makeover, better food and wireless. Internet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dubselector
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We have been updating our wireless service and have 18 antennas throughout our guest rooms. We have blocked off certain websites due to streaming taking too much bandwidth. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We strive to satisfy each one of our guests. We hope you give us...

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Hotel room was great, Staff was very nice, could not beat the price. "Generations of Shepherdstown" had a picnic for everyone who had ever lived in Shepherdstown West Virginia. We had a great visit. Thanks to all the staff for making it an extra relaxing weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shepherdstown. We hope to see you on your next trip!

Maryland
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nothing much has changed about this property since my last review in 2014. The hotel lobby is still in serious need of a 21st century makeover. The atmosphere is a little dark, dated and gloomy but the hotel staff makes it a little brighter and worth the stay. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marygran
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our Rumsey Tavern. I will be sure to pass along your message to the General Manager as well as our Tavern staff. Hope to see you and your family again!

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The hotel staff was pleasant, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and it is located close to downtown Shepherdstown. Ate in the Rumsey Tavern and the food was very good--had the crabcakes. It had a printer available to guests in the lobby. Didn't use the fitness room. Would definitely staff at the Clarion again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garradio
Angie K, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our crab cakes are absolutely delicious! You should try the corn and crab chowder on your next trip - it's a favorite of ours!

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Hotel stay was good. Staff was great. Room and price was very good. Location excellent. But, this property is getting a little "long in the tooth" and could do with some paint and refurbishing. All-in-all, not a terrible property as the staff more than made up for any short-comings of the physical plant. I'd stay there again if in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahnattan48
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Imagine a dark dreary room with one very small window, ripped carpet taped down in the middle of the floor, cracked and mildewed bathroom vanity sink and tub and you have the Clarion. Well okay, the bed was reasonably comfortable, but there was a dearth of outlets and none close enough to charge by the bed. Did I mention the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan48
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Clarion. We would love another chance to impress you if you are ever in the area again. We hope to see you soon!

Ridgeley, West Virginia
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

The Clarion hotel put a bad taste in my mouth before I even walked in the doors. The day we called the make the reservation, the girl who answered the phone said we are completed booked up for that night as soon as I told her my date. I knew they had rooms, I looked online right before I called....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awright824
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very saddened to hear about your encounters with our Front Desk. We pride ourselves on our customer service and we failed short of that for you. I do know the day you checked in, we had all hotel rooms check out as well as a full hotel that evening just about. We try to grant early check ins...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
122 reviews
1.4 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
748 reviews
13.1 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
91 reviews
13.3 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Rumsey Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Dr, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-9602
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Price Range: $165 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the front of the hotel and away from the elevators because of the noise.”
  • Nice big living room
  • Big bed in the suite
  • Front of the hotel and parking lot
  • Bathroom is small but in good condition
  • Nice desk and strong WIFI
  • Sunrise from the room
 of 5 bubbles PrawetJ, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 404.”
 of 5 bubbles LordThomMohr, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even the room near the elevator was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles T4199SYpauld, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the far side of the hotel are quieter -- they are looking out at the grounds and fitness center -- NOT the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles barbara12november194, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We love a King size bed. We always get a room fit for the king.”
 of 5 bubbles T8654QOcarolh, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay