We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ephraim
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The Trollhaugen has been around forever, and looks it, but it's a cute part of Door County kitsch that could be so much better. One disappointment is that even though rooms in the lodge are advertised "with fireplace", they're no longer able to be used by guests - the cabin has the only functional one. The outdoor hot tub seems... More 

Helpful?
Thank EpicDriver
Javier S, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive criticism, we'll take it into account as we gear up for the next season. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This place needs some serious work. Half of the windows wouldn't open and there was a rag stuffed in an open hole to keep the bugs out. The water in the shower was little more than a drip. Not even a phone in the room. We weren't looking for anything fancy, but this wasn't even decent. Glad we were only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drewe23
Javier S, Manager at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

We are sorry that the Trollhaugen did not meet your expectations. You did not notify management about having issues with the shower nor did you specify when you made your reservation that you did not want a room near pet friendly rooms either. Had you done that we would have taken care of your concerns. It is interesting that no... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed one night and that will be our last night!! Owners son was in the office and didn't know the difference between a penny and a dime. Never told us that the doors would be locked after 8 and what doors we needed to go through a different a door after 8 pm. The chandelier in the hall going... More 

Helpful?
Thank beth0ls0n
Javier S, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Dear guest, this was our manager's first night and it also happened to be the same night a fuse blew out. He was nervous and did not take care of you like he should have. We apologize for that. More 

Guttenberg, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

If you're looking for a fancy schmancy Victorian B&B, this is not for you. If you are looking for a comfortable friendly place to rest after spending your days outdoors, then you will enjoy this little lodge. Chris, the manager, is more than accommodating. After our first day and a long drive, she called the local "Post Office Restaurant" to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rabeccaj
Javier S, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Glad to have had you with us. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This place is really run down with mismatched furnishings and no dresser in the room. The window AC was noisy. A dead bug squashed on the window blind and a tiny bar of broken soap were further negatives. Can't recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank susansas
Javier S, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as it gives us a chance to make improvements. I will pass this review on to our manager and housekeepers so that they can see where we need to improve. As for the room furnishings, we apologize that they are not to your liking. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We had a nice stay. We stayed two weeknights. Quiet. Spacious room (well, except shower was small). Bed comfortable. Decor is dated but clean and well-kept. We mainly needed a place to sleep, and it was priced great for our needs. Easy to find. The manager was friendly, and made great suggestions for food/activities.

Helpful?
Thank Dana W
Javier S, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Glad to have made your Door County experience a great one. Hope to see you back soon. More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A great place to stay at an affordable 'Door County' price. They made it feel like we were at home. Great fire pit out doors to make s'mores. We met some really cool 'new friends', shared a drink and a kielbasa. After a long day out in Door County, it was fun to come bak and relax!

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Tr0llhaugen, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated, we are glad that we made your Door County vacation a memorable one. Hope to see you back soon! Maria More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed on Memorial Weekend! The cabin had a shower leak that was discovered right before we arrived-Maria was so amazing through it all! She called me to alert me and assured me my stay would be acceptable! It was amazing the cabin's shower could not be used but things like this are out of their control... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
Tr0llhaugen, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you here, you were not only understanding but flexible. Thank you and hope to see you soon. Maria More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We stay at the Lodge 2 nights and we loved it. Maria was a wonderful host. She did everything to make us feel comfortable and have everything we need for us and our 2 years old girl. The room was very, very clean. We got some extra towels , extra dishes, snacks and more. We felt like at home. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vesna D
Tr0llhaugen, Owner at Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC, responded to this review

I am glad you felt at home that is what I strive for with every customer. Hope to see you back soon! Maria More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Since it was Pumpkin Festival in Door County we were very lucky to reserve 4 rooms for our group at a very good price. Our queen room overlooked the deck and the woods, had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot (not the kind with pods) along with complimentary packages of coffee and blueberry muffins and bottles of water. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Smitty70

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.7 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
667 reviews
1.6 km away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Ephraim
201 reviews
4.2 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
59 reviews
6.6 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
215 reviews
2.4 km away
Nordic Lodge
Nordic Lodge
#9 of 17 in Sister Bay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
8 Motel rooms with new mattresses, 5 inn rooms; 1 log cabin with full kitchen. Motel/Log Cabin are pet friendly. Walking distance to town and water. Fire pit, grill. Hiking trail in woods. AAA approved. Non-Smoking. Rooms with frig, micro, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, cable, DVD player, Wi-Fi. Some rooms with fireplace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC

Address: 10176 Hwy. 42, P.O. Box 111, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Price Range: $84 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trollhaugen Lodge, LLC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is fine. Had a fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles maryfL131AB, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“4 double queen bed(s) rooms are located on the top floor and 4 king size bed rooms are located below in the exposed basement area. There are steps involved for older or handicapped guest. Older guest or handicapped guest would probably want to stay in one of the 4 king size bed rooms because there is a driveway to drive below, although it might be a difficult climb for most vehicles during snowy weather conditions.”
 of 5 bubbles 428daleh, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Recommend the 2nd floor B&B rooms in the back, these are quieter since they are further from the road. Beds were pretty stiff, but for the cost worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenB283, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3