We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The American Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The American Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The American Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 823: English reviews
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Came here for 4 nights so my husband could golf here. The hotel is very nice n does deserve 5 stars as they do most things right. From the valets who open the doors every time for you to the ever smiling concierges, everyone is always trying to please you. We were here on an Amex package so had lost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzeyes
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear suzeyes, Thank you for the lovely review on both your visit and The American Express package. We do list all our packages and specials on our website for guests who would like to learn more. This summer it has been fun to watch couples visit us and spend his, hers and together time. I hope your husband enjoyed his...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I noticed when I called multiple times prior to our arrival that everyone was really nice and super accommodating. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a glass of sparking wine. From that moment forward, every time you had any exchange with an employee, it was "my pleasure, of course, thank you Mrs Carr, absolutely, have a great day, I'm so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Susan C, Happy anniversary, what a wonderful milestone you and your husband achieved. We are always honored when guests select our resort to celebrate these occasions. It is a delight to read how the entire team provided you with kind service. The Greenhouse is one of my personal favorite spots to enjoy, so glad you discovered it. Thank you...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Checked in early on a Sunday around 11AM, which was nice. Front office was helpful in finding rooms which was very appreciated. Once checked in, headed to guest room where key did not work. Housekeeper was helpful in commandeering a front office agent to run a key to me then I heard another guest in the same hallway whose key...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom S
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Tom S, Please accept my apology for making a poor first impression when your key did not function properly. We are looking forward to replacing our key system over this fall and winter. Our team is empowered to check guests in early when rooms are clean and ready, it is a pleasure to read about our team seizing their...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 August 2014

$441.78 per night for a Five Star Resort. How does one get such a rating. Welcome to your grandmother's attic.We checked in and given a small dark cave of a room. No natural light and needed all the lights on mid day. One chair in the room, one sink in the bath. Rememeber this is Kohler the bath fixture company....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank expertravel1
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear expertravel 1, Please accept my humble apology that we failed to provide you with a Five Star experience. While we realize that décor is personal taste, we certainly should have provided you with such an amazing experience to earn a better review. In addition, our team did not fully explain our resort fee, there are many more inclusions. For...

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very fine at all turns. We stayed in The Carriage House, huge room, 3rd. floor. I went to the Spa, it was like no other. Dixie, 13th. year at spa, was an angle. It is hard for me to relax, and by the time she was done with my detox massage, with facial and head massage, I could not move,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas V
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Thomas V, We are delighted you enjoyed your services at the Kohler Waters Spa and your room at the Carriage House. The best compliment our spa technicians can receive is when guests don’t want to move at the end of the service! Best Wishes, Christine L

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My father's family grew up in the Villiage of Kohler, and worked for the Kohler Company for decades. Besides quality bath fixtures, the American Club was originally part of the housing for Kohler Company workers from Europe. Today, it is a Five Star resort with amazing golf courses. My extended family has lunch at the "Horse and Plow" Bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LarTraveler
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear LarTraveler, You are correct, The American Club was built in 1918 to house immigrant workers coming to American to begin a new life. After closing down for renovation in 1978, in 1981 it reopened as a luxury hotel marking its new purpose. We are glad you enjoyed the Horse & Plow, it was the original recreation center for the...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Caveat: I stayed here with friends as a get-away/spa trip, not as a golfer. The best part about the Carriage House is that it is adult-only which is perfect when looking for a few days away with friends. The Carriage House is compact because it is the original structure. However they have done a good job of retrofitting the structure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cgiessler
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear cgiessler, Thank you for your review. At the Carriage House every category offers a different bathing and showering experience. Your King bedded room is a Heritage room, and as you note with an open concept shower. Our reservations team can detail out each category and the bathing/showering experience to be sure the experience matches the guest! Some guests like...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I thought 'southern hospitality' cannot be beat. But, this midwestern city and specifically the club really surprised me. This will remain one of the most memorable business trips I have ever taken. Congrats to the staff and especially the concierge staff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Farhan16
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Farhan16, Thank you very much for acknowledging our team and the service they provided to you. We are very happy they made your business trip memorable. Best Wishes, Christine L

Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Playing Whistling Straits golf course would have been terrific but the greens fees did not match our golf games. We'll just watch the PGA Championship next year. We stayed with two days of spa treatments instead of golf. All of our treatments were great. I highly recommend the Hamman Ritual. If you stay at the Carriage House you have the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nailer J
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear Nailer J, Thank you for your review and recommendation of our spa services. Many guests who stay at the Carriage House enjoy spending the day in their robe and slippers until dinner time! So glad you took advantage of this. The spa does have complete male and female locker rooms for guests who travel from the American Club main...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want a top notch retreat with excellent amenities then this is the place to go. Kohler, Wisc. is not an extremely convenient place to travel but it is about 30 minutes north of Milwaukee. The American Club has great restaurants, fitness center and golf - this is the home of Whristling Straits. The amenities (fitness and golf) are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acappy300
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review

Dear acapsuto, We are very happy to read you felt the experience was worth your trip! As a resort, some of our amenities are spread out over the Village of Kohler as well as Whistling Strait being located north west of the hotel. Thank you for mentioning our shuttle service, which will take our guests anywhere within our resort, complimentary....

784 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (405)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (28)
Viewed
Eau de Vie Suite (44)
Viewed
Heritage King Room (34)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
Superior King Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Victoria Room at the Carriage House (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
0.5 km away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
260 reviews
5.8 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
75 reviews
21.6 km away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
97 reviews
3.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Immigrant Restaurant
The Immigrant Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The American Club

Address: 419 Highland Drive, Kohler, WI 53044
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Price Range: $193 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The American Club staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The American Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“free breakfast at inn on Woodlake”
 of 5 bubbles anneb978, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We've never had a bad room. Once you figure out what building you're in, you can avoid the walk through the atrium if it's cold. Just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles Hushpuppy2014, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are most convenient to the lobbies, the restaurants and the courtyards.”
 of 5 bubbles 264PaulM, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet. We enjoy the superior level room for its spaciousness and water features.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyH492, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try for West Wing courtyrad view”
 of 5 bubbles robtroxel, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay