We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 774: English reviews
Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed 7 April 2016

It was just ok, very busy. The inn was booked full which made the continental breakfast crowded. Things just seemed dingy, wallpaper falling off in bathroom,windows sills dirty, outside lights covers off or broken. Room pretty nice otherwise however, I expected little more for the money....

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victor H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient. Recently, the hotel was purchased by a new ownership group and they are in the process of repairing and upgrading the property. Please visit again in the near future to see the changes taking place.

Michigan
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Friendly staff. HORRIBLE internet connection, it would take 5 minutes to connect and then just boot you off at any given time. The hot tub didn't work, which is one of the BIGGEST reasons I choose this hotel. After a 6 hour drive and 8 hour conferences, a nice long soak would of been nice. The website said free parking,...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 231tara
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us. We utilize all feedback as a training tool for our management and staff to make improvements to the property. The whirlpool has since been repaired and is running smoothly. We appreciate your commitment to utilizing Hilton hotels, and hope that you visit again soon to see the improvements that have been...

Edina, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The staff was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was much more than you get at many places, it was a convenient location and the beds were super comfortable. I'd have no problem staying here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the great hot breakfast buffet! We take great pride in our "Hamptonality" and share all feedback with our staff. Please visit again - there are so many activities taking place during the Summer months and we are centrally located to all of the festivals.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed at Hampton Downtown for both business & mini family vacation. Every aspect of our stay was great. The complimentary breakfast was amazing! Plenty of choices for all. Our room was clean and comfy.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorieg607
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you! We are happy to hear that you were able to tie business and family travel into one trip. We do provide a great complimentary hot breakfast each day with a wide variety of items to please a wide variety of appetites. Please visit again soon!

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This hotel did not live up to the other Hampton inns we have stayed at in the US. It felt like it had a quick remodel a few years ago that just isn't holding up. It could us some TLC and a good laundry crew.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesnB9807MW
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. The hotel was recently purchased by a new ownership group and they are planning many improvements throughout the building. Please visit again in the future!

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I travel for business a LOT and to Milwaukee a LOT. I'm also a Hilton Honors Diamond member but these facts obviously are immaterial. I did the on-line check in for a nice and spacious room n the 9th floor and stated my check in time as 4pm. I arrived at 3:45 pm and was told the room was an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey A
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, and please do accept our sincere apology that you did not receive the room requested upon arrival. We utilize these reviews to train our management and staff. Thank you for choosing Hilton as your preferred hotel choice, and we recognize that you have many hotel choices in Milwaukee. Please consider staying...

Batavia, Illinois
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stay in a suite this weekend with our three small children. Room was clean, spacious, updated and perfect for our family of five. Plenty of room for us and our belongings. We visited the pool and the hot tub was not working. The pool temperature was quite chilly. We stayed at the pool until the kids lips started turning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive a restful nights sleep due to the noise in the room next to yours. The engineering team is fixing the hot tub and this will be up and running soon. If you would like to contact me, directly, I...

Raleigh, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Typical great value and great accomodations for Hampton- location is perfect to walk around the downtown area. Close to the coliseum and multiple small historic establishments that serve local micro brews

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, and the central location to all the great establishments within walking distance to the hotel. We hope you return to the area and choose the Hampton Inn on your next visit to Milwaukee.

Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Very friendly staff with positive attitudes and quiet, clean, and comfortable rooms make it a pleasure to stay! The complimentary breakfast is nothing fancy but it always hot and better than most comparable. The breakfast attendant is very friendly and always has a smile. The staff greets everyone they meet with a friendly smile and pleasant conversation. The rooms are...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie K
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making the Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown your hotel of choice when visiting the area, and for recognizing our staff that takes great pride in providing friendly service and conversation. We are so proud of our team and please do visit again soon!

Minnesota
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Overall hotel felt old, run down and worn out. Certainly not what I expect from the Hilton Brand. Price paid compared to room size (small) is out of whack. Staff / Service was strong. Wi-Fi did not work properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hickup4
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown. While the hotel is a historical structure, the rooms did undergo renovations in 2014. The new ownership group is planning future upgrades to the lobby area. Thank you for recognizing our great staff and we hope you do come back to visit in the near future.

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Suite (32)
Viewed
King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Double (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#36 of 54 in Milwaukee
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Price Range: $138 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take a room overlooking the service area - due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles richardcC4596HG, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room looked over an enclosed escape staircase. Stay away from rooms close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Poissonoeuf, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You'll have to ask for view room - not sure of sound. Sorry”
 of 5 bubbles paulwP2118SD, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 511 which had a small window and not a good view; however, it was off the main avenue and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonKfromsac, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a shopping mall view because it can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 850mitchellg, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5