We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown and Punchbowl

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown and Punchbowl
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown and Punchbowl
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Cambridge, uk
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We dined here in late October and had a very enjoyable evening. The restaurant was very busy for a Thursday evening as was the bar area. Menu choice was extensive with both the usual menu and an alternative mid-week option available. We mixed up options from both. Wine list was extensive. The staff were attentive despite the place being busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_GrahamUK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in here with wife and 2 year old child. Simply put, it was the best Sunday roast I have had for years. Quality of food is outstanding - the beef was melt in the mouth perfect. Service excellent, atmosphere lovely with a table by the log burner. Anyone in the area should absolutely give it a try.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Cambridge
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Lunch on a Friday, tried this place for the first time and impressed. Relatively recently extended by new owners, same small local group as several other local eateries, all of which are good. Excellent parking, too. Good attentive service and really well-thought-out menu, mainly trad English but with Continental flavours and additions. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F1523XKdavidc
Henlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed New Years Eve as attending a party in the village. Loved the style of the room although do watch out as there are cream carpets everywhere so make sure to wipe your feet or remove your shoes at the door if muddy ;-) Interesting 'key' system in that you have to choose a four digit pin code for access....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluffievelluto
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Went there for dinner, what a treat! A lovely cosy little country put, great atmosphere with a fireplace and low beamed ceilings. The menu was good, the food delicious and the service was outstanding. From a warm welcome the team there looked after us throughout the evening and really made sure we were having a good evening. Haven't seen the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julija S
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Visited the Crown and Punchbowl with a friend for a weekday lunch. We were seated in the newly refurbished dining conservatory which offered a pleasant ambience, although not quite as charming and cosy as the old pub itself. Service was exceptionally attentive and efficient and our meals were served with plentiful amounts of bread and oil. My dessert was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Githa S
Burwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I attended a Christmas meal at this restaurant along with some colleagues. We had ordered the meal upfront but then we decided to have some snacks so we chose pork scratchings. I put one of these in my mouth and immediately thought wow they are hard only to find that upon the first bite it had broken a piece of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
Tim P, Area Manager at The Crown and Punchbowl, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cox I am sorry that you have not received a response from us, the General Manager Mark has written to you,we would have preferred to call but your letter did not have a contact number for us to call. I am sorry that you felt the waitress was making light of the situation, that was certainly not her...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Recommended by a friend who has dined here before. We had a table booked for 6:30/7 and it was empty of guests. We had a drink in the bar and the melon lemonade was lovely. Restaurant was nice, it became busier around 8. Fresh bread, balsamic & oil was brought to the table which was a lovely touch. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Collette P
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We just popped in here one afternoon for a quick look It is really beautiful - the décor - service - everything about it really There were lots of people dining there and the Menu looked Magnificent Will have to go back here one evening to dine The staff were really friendly - One of the nicest cosiest Pubs I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michellecoston
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Clearly very popular and for good reason. We (a group of five) visited on a Game Menu evening although we were not aware of that until we arrived. Although the game menu looked very good, we asked if we could still order from the normal al a carte menu, they were very happy to oblige. In addition, there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troutman4851

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horningsea
6.0 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,612 reviews
5.8 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,184 reviews
6.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
6.5 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,100 reviews
6.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown & Punchbowl is a quaint country pub, restaurant and inn nestled amongst farmhouses in the village of Horningsea, just 3 miles from the centre of Cambridge. This Grade II listed building was originally an old coaching inn constructed in the 17th century. It has been extended periodically but retains many of its traditional features including brick fireplaces and original timber beams. The Crown & Punchbowl has 5 delightful double rooms, all of them ensuite. The Erasmus Room is our largest room and offers an ensuite bath/shower. Room rates are from £120 per room. Breakfast is available for an extra £10 per person. All our rooms feature: - Freeview TV & Wifi - Egyptian Cotton Linen - Espresso Machine & Kettle - Toiletries & Hairdryer ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown and Punchbowl

Address: The Crown & Punchbowl Inn High Street, Horningsea, Cambridge CB25 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Horningsea
Price Range: $155 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown and Punchbowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Punchbowl Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown and Punchbowl staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown and Punchbowl staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great food”
 of 5 bubbles 778stephanien, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Best Pub Ever !!!! -- Rural Cambridge”
 of 5 bubbles michellecoston, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only erasmus has a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles stonybroke, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead-and go direct!”
 of 5 bubbles timsmith750, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We only ate there so cannot comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles richardmJ2370RA, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5