We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poplars B&B

    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Showing 10: English reviews
    Start your review of The Poplars B&B
     Click to rate
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 15 August 2016

    We were welcomed by Brenda who immediately offered to make us tea and help with our bags - she even offered to drive us to the wedding reception we were going to! The accommodation is first class, very comfortable and clean, lovely shower, plenty of towels and even slippers. An added bonus is that the accommodation is separate from the...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank E J
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Thank you EJ it was lovely to meet you both and we had ordered perfect wedding weather for you! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us

    Wells, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 2 June 2016

    A really nice find this B&B very comfortable room clean and tidy. Nice shower with plenty of hot water not always the case. A good selection for breakfast so much to choose from and as much as you want. A bit off the beaten track but that's no disadvantage.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Baggy_11
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi there baggy_11 Sorry about the hot water ..why does it always occur when we have guests..it appears the valve had stuck but Bob thumped it with a hammer and yeh!!! Hot water.......Hopefully it wont play up again but we have the hammer at the ready!! For the valve not the guests!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Chatham, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 18 May 2016

    Felt very relaxed and at home here excellent information in folder.good selection for continental breakfast.bit cold to use the patio unfortunately would highly recommend would definitely stay again if in the area

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Carol L
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Carol L I did ask for some warm weather but I guess miracles a bit short in Caldecote... We have been looking at Patio heaters and Chimeneas?? so maybe next visit we can toast your toes!!

    Hertford, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 7 October 2015

    Rooms are clean and fantastic value. Breakfast options in the little kitchenette area are varied and tasty and helping ourselves at anytime was perfect for us. The hosts were really helpful and friendly. I managed to forget something really important and they posted it back to me straight away :) Would recommend it to anyone staying after a wedding at...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Rach700
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Rach700 Thank you for the review We are always happy to oblige when guests leave things behind..we also provide a 'taxi' service if we can for half the cost of proper taxi..... Glad you had a lovely wedding

    Exmouth, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 3 May 2015

    What a snashing B&B ! My son found this place on the internet. It's a little off the beaten track (i.e outside Cambridge) but well worth the drive. Bob and Brenda have an excellent set of directions to get you there. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable as well as being nicely appointed. The owners say "Continenetal stye breakfast"...

     Report
    Helpful?
    2Thank Martin S
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Martin S Thank you for the review... We are a little remote but some times the peace and quiet is relaxing thats if the deer are not moaning, the foxes are not barking or the hedge hogs rutting..my word they make a racket!! so pleased everything met with your approval

    Reviewed 22 August 2014

    This is one of the best B & Bs I've ever stayed in and the hosts were very friendly. Tea and biscuits in the garden when we arrived and very clean and comfortable accommodation. A good choice of continental breakfast and fresh fruit, Hostess tray in bedroom. Thank you both

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank marie b
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi marie b Thank you for your lovely comments.. Nice to know some of my weather prayers do work if you were able to sit outside... Only happens at odd times of the year! Glad you were happy with the breakfast................

    Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 13 August 2014

    Spent 2 nights (1 alone and 1 with my daughter) at this delightful B&B as attending a wedding nearby. Was even greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Brenda was a lovely hostess providing all that was needed and was most helpful with local information too when wanted. Accommodation was all that was needed/expected and very comfortable.

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Jill E
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Jill E Thank you for commenting we like bouquets and brickbats too....... We are quite close to several lovely wedding venues and try to help all our guests with directions taxi service etc where possible alas I cannot always control the weather but I try

    Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

    Lovely hosts, Brenda and Robert Stayed as were attending a local wedding Very good facilities like a home from home Would stay here again Hosts couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable Thanks so much

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Jac R
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Jac R Thank you for your very welcome comments...I am a bit late in replying sorry!! Glad it was all you needed for your stay and that your wedding was wonderful... I get so much pleasure seeing all the outfits and the HATS!!!

    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 9 May 2014

    I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for two nights, and would readily recommend it. My room was well equipped with all you would normally find, but with little added extras...milk, butter and orange juice in the fridge etc. The room was clean and well maintained. It is situated down a quiet lane with no passing traffic, and so is...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Anthony T
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Hi Anthony T Thank you for commenting on here ..we are reasonably quiet here though the wildlife can be noisy depending on the time of year but its good to chill!!

    Melbourne, Aust
    Reviewed 27 January 2010

    Excellent property and lovely hostess. Room was clean and beautifully decorated. Bright modern bathroom quite spacious. Excellent ground floor access. Also modest cooking facilities for those who would like to self cater – which we did. Follow instructions to locate the property and note there is a stretch of unmade road at the end.

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank acacia_rose
    BrendaCambridgeUk, Owner at The Poplars B&B, responded to this review

    Would like to respond by saying POTHOLES are a thing of the past!!!!! Yeah!!!! We are now lovely smooth tarmac all the way along our road and out drive way is lit up and just perfect!!

    5 photos of this hotel

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (5)
    Viewed
    Other (5)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Highfields Caldecote
    3.6 km away
    The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
    9.5 km away
    The Varsity Hotel & Spa
    The Varsity Hotel & Spa
    #1 of 36 in Cambridge
    2,155 reviews
    8.0 km away
    Hotel Felix
    Hotel Felix
    #8 of 36 in Cambridge
    1,092 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    9.7 km away
    Hotel du Vin Cambridge
    Hotel du Vin Cambridge
    #14 of 36 in Cambridge
    838 reviews
    10.2 km away
    The Gonville Hotel
    The Gonville Hotel
    #2 of 36 in Cambridge
    1,583 reviews
    5.2 km away
    Harvest View Bed and Breakfast
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Additional Information about The Poplars B&B

    Address: 12 East Drive, Highfields Caldecote, Cambridge CB23 7NZ, England
    Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Highfields Caldecote
    Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars B&B 4*
    Number of rooms: 3
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from The Poplars B&B staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?