We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkers Island Inn

PricelineUS$114*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Barkers Island Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkers Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed at the Inn on our way to Michigan...It was a enjoyable experience...The hotel is a little dated...The air conditioner were also a little noisy or I would have rated them higher...The staff in the hotel and restaurant we very helpful and nice...Plan to stay there again on our next trip in that area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airdog13
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovations which will hopefully be complete in about a year. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again.

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

On the plus side: engaging and friendly bar staff in the evening; loved the stuffed mushroom apps; loved the simple wine selection; thank you for having stout on draught; and what can one say for the fantastic view of the sunrise through your bedroom window. To the ladies who served breakfast, thanks for making me feel at home. If only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bern R
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and lounge. I apologize that you did not like our rooms. We are in the process of renovations and will consider your recommendations. Reviews like these help us to grow as a company/hotel/ and staff. We do hope that you try us again in the future.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We stayed here over night on August 17th to see the Giant Rubber Duck and the Tall Ship Festivle the next day. The staff at the front desk were great. The room was clean with brand new beds. It was also quiet. The bar and restaurant staff were also great. Amy (Aunty Crazy) the bartender was excellent, very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We hope that you had a great time at the Tall Ships. We are so proud of our staff here. They always give "Superior" service. We are looking forward to your return.

minnesota
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We came here for business for one night then pleasure for two. The staff is fantastic. I can't say enough good things about them. The food was pretty good. The rooms however are lacking some quality. HOWEVER, they are renovating and it does take some time. I wasn't very pleased with some of the issues I encountered but after I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeff441
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very excited about the renovations that are taking place and cannot wait until they are complete (which will take about a year or so). We always strive to give our guests the best experience and I am sorry that you encountered some issues but am please to hear that we were able to...

MN
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Was here for a family wedding and we never had to leave the property. I love that the pool is enclosed (it cuts down on room noise and hallway humidity). The rooms are spacious and the lobby/bar/restroom area are easy to maneuver. The food at the wedding was great and the gazebo was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel I
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that the wedding was wonderful. You are correct, you never have to leave. We have everything thing you would need right here. Food, drinks, fun, lodging, beautiful views, walking trails, ballroom and wedding terrace. We hope you stay with us again or have another family wedding.

Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed for just one night but would definitely stay again. The hotel is very clean and well cared for. The room was modern and the bed comfortable. We didn't hear any other guests. We were able to leave the window open and slept to the sound of gentle waves - very relaxing. Added bonus was the free breakfast with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy T
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so proud of our hotel and our area. Our staff works very hard to give "Superior" service and it is nice to hear that we are succeeding. The best thing for us to hear is that our guests are comfortable and they can come and relax while enjoying our wonderful restaurant and...

Calumet, Michigan
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Not a happy camper at this place. Priced at 190 (with tax) seemed a bit high for a hotel with dirty carpets, non HDTV, shower with crack in wall, threat bare towels, dirty Duvet, thin walls, etc..... I also hoped to get a late night (10:10pm) snack but the kitchen closed at 10pm. Next time I'll stay at Holiday Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigschnibbs
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovations and the issues that you have noted will be addressed. As for housekeeping that is unacceptable and will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We always strive to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience and I apologize that we fell short. I do hope that you...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We are staying at Barkers Island Inn as I was unable to find a reasonable price on Lake Superior on the Minnesota side (best hiking over there). The pros? ... Excellent restaurant, reasonable prices, and nice surroundings. The cons? Hotel is a little dated and run down, the Internet was spotty, our room had dirt in the bathroom when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank souldancer2
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our hotel and location. We are in the process of renovations which will take a couple years to complete and we are very excited with what has been done so far. I do apologize for the cleanliness of the bathroom. I will address this with...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd time here. I've read mixed reviews, but the good outweighs the bad. It is an older hotel, but hands down you won't find a better value than here. Our 2 room suite could use a door to separate the rooms, a new and softer bed, and maybe carpet. But for a whirlpool suite for $165/night with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent A
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We cannot wait to have you come back. We too are excited about our renovations adn I have to agree that we have wonderful staff, views and food.

Knife River, United States
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Outside deck dining overlooking the marina! Fresh Lake Superior whitefish and lake trout daily! Enjoy the salad bar! Our meals are always fresh and delicious! Highly recommended! No reservations required!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee And Jim B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. We are so glad you enjoy our food and atmosphere.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
3.0 km away
Best Western Bridgeview Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
6.2 km away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
6.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
469 reviews
7.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880-3287 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Price Range: $145 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkers Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe next time we will try to get a room on the side where the boats are docked.”
10DianeW, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“I like the 1st floor next to the pool area when we stay with the kids”
Puddler2014, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor waay in the back”
danusschellenberg, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor near the pool can be loud”
lolo4815, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of Lake Superior.”
patahynes, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$114* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$114
TripAdvisorUS$114
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates