We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Superior

HIExpress.comUS$119*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$171*
US$119*
US$171*
US$119*
US$171*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Superior
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Superior
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Spent two nights at this Holiday Inn. I was here on business so used the room for sleeping and working when not at the conference. The staff was very friendly and always greeting you as you went. The continental breakfast was very good and offered a great selection. The room was clean and very well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uws54880
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us when your in the area.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Overall a good experience; I would stay here again. The breakfast was excellent, the hotel was quiet, location was easy to find and the staff were friendly. The room was clean and well kept. We planned on using the pool & whirlpool, both which looked decent, but ran out of time. Some minor issues - there was only one luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reviewerG1826JF
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We value all our guest and look forward to your next stay with us.

River Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Spent two nights at this hotel located off of busy Hwy 53. I visit Duluth/Superior annually and this was the first time for me to stay here as the hotels in Duluth were booked. I would stay here again as the service was good and it's location to Barker's Island and the bike trail.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel P
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

We are so glad that Duluth was full so that you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay and will be staying with us again.

Blue Grass, Iowa
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our son's hockey tournament. The hotel was nice and clean, staff was friendly and the pool was very nice!!!! Even better was that it was a few minutes drive back in to Duluth where the tournaments were. We came back after one game and our room wasn't made up yet. Our son needed a quick shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiffany M
holidayinnx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

We are glad you were able to use the pool and have breakfast with us. We value our guest opinions and experiences with us so thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 August 2015

After three nights at the Hotel from He** - we moved over to this hotel. It was spotless! The staff was great and the location was so much better! WHY did we not book here sooner?! Only issues: the guest from the night before left the alarm on at his 5:30 and the guest upstairs was doing her 6:00 am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopefloats123
Royalton, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This place is adequate. It is very busy in the summer months and the price gets kind of high during vacation season. Great morning meals and the rooms are very comfortable. If traveling in the area during peak summer season I suggest making reservations at least 1-2 weeks in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregS_8048
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 29 July 2015

The hallways were dirty, the elevator was dirty, the breakfast area and the room were not as clean as we like. The parking was on the side and back of the building and the lighting was not great. There was one front, side parking lot that no one parked in...I assume because there was no lighting at all. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juggernaut77
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

Dear Juggernaut77, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and superior accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your business with us. However, we apologize for the inconvenience the lack of cleanliness of the property and the parking condition may have caused you. The situation you have described is...

Central City, Iowa
Reviewed 25 July 2015

My daughter and I were on our way home from Red Lake Ontario and need a clean affordable place for the night. Their military rate was way better than the discounted price we got from Super 8. Desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were roomy and very clean. Didn't get to the pool or hot tub. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Huntley, Illinois
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Have stayed in this hotel on several motorcycle trips over the years to the North Shore of Lake Superior. The hot tub area smelled of mold, the beds in our room were 2 queens. One of them had no support and any time you moved or got out of the bed it was very loud and creaky. Not much sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoldWingHuntleyIL
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

Dear GoldWingHuntleyIL, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are truly sorry for falling short of your expectations with the condition of the beds and the unpleasant smell at...

Michigan
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The Holiday Inn Express brand can have a lot of variance in property quality. This is pretty much a bare bones facility. I've stayed here several times, and the experience is always the same: Clean rooms and interior, Exterior typically needs some maintenance (lots of litter), and the staff is friendly to efficient enough. Nothing outstanding here. But the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jra3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Superior, responded to this review

Dear jra3, We would like to express our gratitude for your honest review. Thank you for making our hotel as your preferred choice of lodging when you are in the area. While we are happy with your kind comments, we regret that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us as we fell short in some details particularly with...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
2.3 km away
Best Western Bridgeview Hotel
0.7 km away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Superior
174 reviews
6.8 km away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
467 reviews
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Superior is located 1/2 block off HWY 53 on Second Avenue East. Near Barker's Island. 1 block West of Hwy 2. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Superior, WI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Superior

Address: 303 2nd Ave E, Superior, WI 54880-3045
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Price Range: $179 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Superior Hotel Superior
Holiday Inn Superior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Superior staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
19 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Superior staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King suite”
305cathyn, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 312 which was conveniently close to the stairs leading to the pool and hot tub.”
EvelynR35, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on the upper floors instead of ground level if you want to sleep in.”
Xenos2, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor, facing the water. Rooms with king beds are very spacious.”
SRJMod, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 3rd floor, it was quiet and we had a nice view. Close to elevator.”
502ginnyh, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
TravelocityUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$119
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates