We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Trego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Minnetonka
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2016

You can depend on Heartwood to be quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Realize that it is off the beaten track and dining options are limited, but it is a great base to explore the nearby towns and attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wiwanderer2016
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to your return. Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Goodhue
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This was my second stay at the Heartwood. The first was a ladies weekend, and the second was with our kids and grandkids. We stayed at the Hoinville House. It was perfect for us! All the basic amenities were included.....we brought our own food and drinks. The house was laid out well and was very clean. We enjoyed all the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Welcome back! Thank you for your wonderful review, my staff and I really appreciate your kind words. My Team works really hard to go over and above to satisfy each and every guest at Heartwood. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I didn't know anyone else was on property other than seeing the wedding chairs set outside for the ceremony. We had a nice quiet time and enjoyed sitting on chairs gazing out at the lake. A great place for a conference or meeting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juli S
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We are happy that you had a nice time. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your summer! Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Ely
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We held our weekend family reunion here and everything was better than we expected. Some had hotel rooms, some stayed in a cottage, all accommodations were excellent. The Heartwood employees are all extremely helpful and friendly. We played at the beach, fished, played disc golf. Great golf course nearby for our family tournament. It's really a little slice of heaven!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnmariank
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the very kind words that you shared about our Staff and property. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

MILWAUKEE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This is our third visit to Heartwood. It's beautiful, friendly, a nice restaurant and affordable. Nice simple things to do or not. Just sit and watch the world go by and not have to jump up do something. It's a nice place to just do nothing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DOREEN G
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Great to have you join us again. Thank you for the very positive feedback, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again for your fourth time. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

St Anthony
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Heartwood is made for families! Our family has visited Heartwood several times, it is never crowded and loud, but instead peaceful, accessable and full of great activities. Free canoes, kayaks and other water gear, free basketball, volleyball and other courts available. The list goes on and on. So many ammenities and so peaceful. We love Heartwood and plan to make... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joyo393
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our facility. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Birchwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We attended a Mystery Lodge mystery dinner. The venue was appetizers, dinner and dessert along with a comedic "who dunnit". We had a spectacular time. The value was perfect, the appetizers were ample, the cash bar was reasonable and the evening was entertaining. We'll be back for the one in September. Dirk (the Conference Manager) had the staff more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank 59706DavidH
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the Mystery Dinner. We look forward to seeing you again at our next show. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We went to Heartwood to attend a Mystery Dinner. . We took advantage of their package deal for the show and a room at the hotel. They have beautiful facilities and trails and we hoped to be able to hike their trails the next day. The show was excellent. After the mystery part of the show, they did improvisation for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LinnWI
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the Mystery Dinner. It is something we just started and we will be doing a few more shows this year. I appreciate your feedback concerning our food service and will share your input with my Team and look for ways to alleviate the issues so as to better accommodate and... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016

There is no heat in the bedrooms of the cottages or duplex cabins, forcing you to sleep with all bedroom doors open in order to stay warm. Trails are awesome and staff is fantastic. Stay in the lodge during the winter!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanbP4758FM
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your appreciation of our Staff and trail system. In the Cottages and Duplexes there is a central location in those units for the heat source. I am sorry if this caused you any inconvenience during your stay. Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We have stayed at Heartwoods numerous times. Every visit just gets better. Love the beauty of land and sunsets. Very clean facilities and upkeep of grounds. Went on very nice groomed trails for cross country trails and snowmobile trails. Staff is always happy and willing. Highly suggest this for all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank raradedo
Mike T, General Manager at Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, responded to this review

Great to have you back! We're happy you a great time and enjoyed yourself. Thank you for the positive comments. We really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Mike Trudeau General Manager More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trego
24.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
40.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Northwoods Lodge
39.0 km away
St. Croix Inn
St. Croix Inn
#1 of 1 in Solon Springs
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
39.6 km away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
88 reviews
39.6 km away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Address: N10884 Hoinville Rd, Trego, WI 54888-9161
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Price Range: $197 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Master Suite was very generous, as was at least one of the other bedrooms. The others were comfortably sized. Air mattress for the youngest grandkids fit fine. Lots of room to spread out in the house, with 3 TV's and several gathering areas!”
 of 5 bubbles 610patb, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“In our room was a door that opened - not a sliding glass door. It was easier to use then having to push open the usual glass sliding panel. ”
 of 5 bubbles DOREENG282, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The "hotel" rooms have a balcony which overlook the lake”
 of 5 bubbles LinnWI, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Upper level rooms gives you more beautiful sunsets..”
 of 5 bubbles raradedo, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“It is pretty far from the nearest town, so make sure you stock up on your things before heading into the resort.”
 of 5 bubbles brookem304, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay