We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Booking.comUS$150*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$150*
US$150*
US$150*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I accidentally found this hotel while looking for someplace in the area to stay, so we could explore the mountains. We had such a wonderful time, the food was excellent our room was wonderful, such a relaxing and comfortable place for couples for sure! Susan & Arthur made our anniversary extra special and we can't wait to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Jill, Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we would be more than happy to see you both back at the hotel anytime. Happy Trails! Susan H. Innkeeper

Stutensee, Germany
Reviewed 17 June 2016

To start off – everything was absolutely perfect! The B&B is situated in the town of Elk Mountian, pop. approximately 200. There are a few houses which testify to the fact that people truly live in the community, but we saw no one and the post office and library (yes, there is one) were closed. The tiny church did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkpoppy2015
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Vielen Dank! It was great to meet you both and practice a little of my rusty German. Hope we get the chance to see you again someday, but anyway, glad we were able to make your stay memorable. Chef Susan

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We had a great experience staying at the Historic Elk Mountain hotel. The hospitality was superb and the food at the restaurant was of high quality. The room we stayed in was comfortable and very clean. One note - there are no services in the town. No grocery store, no local bar or cafe. Be prepared for the quiet solitude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haleyrichards
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks Haley. There is no bar, although the hotel has a full license so you can have a drink anywhere on the hotel premises. Although we do not have shops, there is a supermarket in Hanna which is about 14 miles away (next door by Wyoming standards) and there is a café, but it is only...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 31 May 2016

My wife and I were taking an 11 day drive around the country for my 50th birthday. Since I made her spend the night in a TiPi up by Devils Tower, I thought she could use some pampering and spoiling. I booked the Fremont Suite at the Historic Elk Mountain Hotel. The room FAR exceeded our expectations! It was my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
Myersville, Maryland
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My husband and I are looking into moving to Wyoming in the near future. We chose Elk Mountain for its beautiful scenery. When we got there the weather was not so great and construction was going on around the Hotel. In spite of that, the couple who own the property, Susan and Arthur were fabulous!! The hotel is very historic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy-Donnie H
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, glad we were able to make your stay comfortable, despite weather and construction. Hopefully we will be in full summer in a couple of weeks.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 20 April 2016

At the Elk Mountain Hotel you are actually treated like a guest, not merely referred to as one. Arthur and Susan are concerned and thoughtful, two words you wouldn’t usually choose for a hotel staff. They looked up road conditions for us (we were snowed in during part of our stay and had restricted travel.) They provided several other things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
HistoricHotel, General Manager at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Glad we were able to supply the Wow factor, we certainly got a Wow review. It was a pleasure to have you at our little hotel. You are the kind of guests that make this job worthwhile and give me and my staff a sense of satisfaction that we are doing the best possible...

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 3 January 2016

What an amazing find. We were driving from UT to CO. It was the dead of Winter and we were tired. I had booked the hotel in advance. What a wonderful surprise. The Inn is first rate. All the appointments and the inn itself has been renovated to premiere status. The biggest surprise though was that the owner is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suburbanbound
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks, it was a pleasure to meet you both and hope it will not be too long before we see you again. Maybe for a Valentine Getaway. Susan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel after being let down by an Airbnb host in Saratoga - so glad we did! This is such a unique and memorable place, packed full of history and character. Our room was incredible, from the ambient birdsong to the fireplace, jacuzzi bath and naughty pics on the walls! The food was fantastic - just wish we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, glad we were able to make your stay in Wyoming pleasurable and memorable.

UK
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Historic Elk Mountain Hotel sits in a tiny community, away from the hustle and bustle of town life. It's a lovely looking building inside and out, with a real country lodge feel - helped by the enormous bison head mounted on the wall of the entrance hall! We were greeted by Susan, the owner/chef, who is British. She showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boglin_sue
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks and glad we were able to make your stay in Wyoming pleasant and memorable.

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The room was wonderful and had a historic flair. The service was great and the hosts came out and spoke with the guests during dinner. They also gave great recommendations for exploring around the area. Excellent food. The best part was the relaxed atmosphere. You could feel the stress roll away!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionel K
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks. We like to make everyone relxed and comfortable and are always delighted to help guests explore our area, it has alot to offer, but like most of Wyoming, the best parts are hidden away. Come back and see us again sometime.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Region: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Price Range: $223 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, Alabama
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Nellie Tayloe Ross Room which was very nice!”
karenhG2959WH, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room is lovely. The owners might suggest one that will suit your needs.”
jwickam, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well-appointed and decorated as expected. Beautiful,,”
dianasL8691HG, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were nice”
JoelK268, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1, has big jetted tub. Really liked it.”
WYOTommy, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$150* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$150
TripAdvisorUS$150
TravelocityUS$150
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates