Scp Hilo Hotel

Scp Hilo Hotel

Traveller (231)
SCP Hilo guest rooms offer outdoor seating area with tranquil  garden or calming water views.
Room & Suite (19)
SCP Hilo's outdoor pool is open daily from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm and provides designated quiet hours from 6:00 am to 9:00 am.
Pool & Beach (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 7 hotels in Hilo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
SCP Hilo brings the vision of Holistic Hospitality to The Big Island’s adventure aesthetic and lifestyle. Known for offering authentic and genuine experiences, guests at SCP Hilo will leave with a deeper respect and appreciation of the spirit and culture of the Hawaiian Islands. Located on the eastern side of The Big Island, SCP Hilo offers guests easy access to nearby Liliʻuokalani Park and Gardens, Hilo Farmers Market, Rainbow Falls, Nani Mau Gardens, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park and Mount Mauna Kea. Guests seeking a truly regenerative tourism experience will appreciate all that SCP Hilo has to offer, including local workshops from sustainable farm tours to lei-making and local fruit tastings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycles available
Hiking
24-hour security
Street parking
Yoga room
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Snorkelling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese

Location

126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Hilo Intl Airport
Kamuela Airport
71.6 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles240 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Scp Hilo Hotel garners praise for its exceptional cleanliness and homey ambiance, complete with cultural flair and live entertainment. Guests have called out the comprehensive amenities, such as bikes and paddleboards, the pool, and the live music, as highlights of their stay. The staff's friendliness and efficiency receive accolades, enhancing the appeal of the basic, yet cozy rooms. Its central location near downtown Hilo and attractions is also a big plus. However, opinions on the hotel's value do vary among travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Basic
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
240Reviews2Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 29
  • 18
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Morgan R wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying here was the best decision of our entire trip. You hear about the "aloha" spirit but we never knew what that truly meant until we stayed here - it was not the gimmicky tourist sort of "aloha," that's still nice and we appreciate it, but here the staff and management were just so genuinely kind and caring. You could tell that they meant what they were saying and really wanted to help us have the very best experience as possible. They were so warm and authentic, happy to answer any questions and educate us on the culture and history of the area which helped us be aware and appreciate so much that we wouldn't have otherwise known. I would highly highly recommend staying here. On top of the incredible staff the view in the morning of the mountain and the ocean were incredible and the location was very convenient with a restaurant right next door for the lazy and late mornings. Everything was also very clean and COVID precautions were in place which helped us feel extra safe, even though the Covid numbers/risk is so low in the area. Thank you especially to Ms. Breeani - what an incredible and kind lady we will definitely remember you whenever we think of this trip to Hawaii, we can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katie2908 wrote a review Sept 2022
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, my partner and I had a pleasant stay at SCP Hilo. However, in retrospect, we wish we had spent more time in Kona as there are more resorts and restaurants on that side of the island, and less choice in Hilo. Hilo also felt a bit run down (lots of stores boarded up/permanently closed, restaurants that closed early, large homeless population). So overall, if we visited again we would probably choose to stay in Kona.

Having said that, if you’re looking for somewhere to stay to be close to the Volcanoes National Park, then this is a good option in Hilo. However, for the price, the rooms are only so-so. The building and infrastructure is quite old/dated, and the room was very small, particularly the bathroom (King Bed Bay View room). But the room was clean and they have modernized the decor. The view from the room was also very nice (photos attached). However, worth noting that there was no safe in our room to store valuables while you’re out and about.

In terms of the facilities, the hotel have beautiful gardens and a huge pool with plenty of poolside seating, as well as tables and chairs in a covered area just off to the side of the pool. There is also a communal office space and laundry facilities ($3 per wash or dry cycle, just under $2 for laundry detergent). There’s also coffee, tea, filtered water and kombucha on tap at reception. SCP have a great focus on environmental sustainability, so there are mugs/cups that get washed and no single use plastic (which is awesome!). The staff were also super friendly and accommodating. There was also free parking onsite and we never had an issue finding a park.

Bottom line: a good option if staying in Hilo with great amenities, but the hotel itself is quite old and the rooms small.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kiana Vallente, Guest Services / Front Office at Scp Hilo Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2023
Aloha Katie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this in-depth review. Your feedback is appreciated, valued, and will be taken highly into consideration to help us improve. If you ever do find yourself visiting Hilo again in the future, we would be happy to host you. Mahalo for staying with us, and malama pono (take care).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Pete wrote a review Jul 2022
Tucson, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Soul Community Planet (SCP) Hilo Hotel is on our short list of favorite places to stay in Hawaiʻi because of its people, new look and feel, pet-friendliness, and its commitment to the community and the environment.

We first stayed here when it was the Hilo Seaside Hotel back in early 2020. Returning two years later, we’re happy to see it still has the same charm with a healthy infusion of renovations. We love all the little (and big) touches they’ve made from the room’s wooden ceiling fan and raised shower head, to the front lobby with its subtle nods to local history and culture. The entire property features natural wood furniture made by local artisans. The Commons room in particular features a lot of local pieces, and is a cool, quiet place where I could work remotely and join video calls on the hotel’s solid WiFi (while enjoying some Kona coffee from the lobby).

The landscaping is lovely and the pool is picturesque with its deep blue tile and Buddha statue sitting nearby. For a cooler, refreshing swim, take a plunge in the “ice pond” (an inlet of Reeds Bay) across the street. Its clean, clear brackish (slightly salty) water is easy on the un-goggled eyes and if you’re lucky, you might just get to swim past a local honu (turtle).

The real draw for us though, and what will keep us coming back, is the hotel’s amazing staff. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Emily, Priscilla, Charlee, Megan, Josh, Jared, and Bree! They are genuinely friendly, inviting, and helpful people that are a ton of fun to talk to. Their wealth of island knowledge runs deep so I encourage you to take a minute and have a real conversation with any of them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IsabelleZ wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place doesn’t care about its customer at all. As soon as they get their money, no refunds or attempts to give you at least a clean room.

We booked online seeing the good reviews, this place is a scam. We were impressed seeing the newly renovated room we got assigned to, and opened our bathroom door to see a gecko in the shower. Neither of us were comfortable catching the gecko, so we went to the front desk who sent over room service. The lady who came was totally unprepared and asked *us* how she should deal with the gecko. When she couldn’t get an answer from us, she called front desk and fetched a mop ??? She chased the gecko to hide somewhere in the room and told us it’s the best she can do. We went to front desk again to exchange to a different room and were refused, since front desk says there are only downgrades available, and he is not allowed to refund us on the price difference. Then he told us he’ll move someone else around and upgrade us to a room with a balcony. We didn’t care for the balcony since we’re only staying for a night, but at least it wasn’t a complete downgrade. We were SO wrong. The “upgraded” room didn’t even have its doorknob working. Front desk had to use an actual key to let us in the room and was not going to attempt fixing it during our stay. The room itself was another huge disappointment. It looked nothing like the renovated room with an additional gecko, but like it was from the 60s, nothing was renovated and it had cracked paint and very old bathroom amenities. We asked front desk if this was really the only room he could give us, and he said he’s never been in the room but the system says it’s an upgrade so we should be good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karina wrote a review Apr 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a glorified motel with bare minimum decor and a pad on your bed that will not be in the same place that it started on the day you arrived.

If you are sensitive to any noise, do not stay here. There is absolutely no built in sound barrier here. You will hear people next door taking a shower. You will hear them talking. You will hear the dog in the room next door barking at 7am. Worst of all, you will hear the extremely loud planes taking off and the extremely loud cars showing off their mufferless engines.

Then they will surprise you with a $10 amenity charge that they do not show when booking. They purposefully hide this fee as it is NOT listen in the taxes and fees when you go to book and instead they hide it in the “terms and conditions” which is extremely shady. I had to argue with them and complain about my stay in order to get it removed.

Lastly, the “beach” it’s near is a joke for a beach. Save your money and aggravation and stay far away from this town and go to Kona.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica Hill, Guest Services / Front Office at Scp Hilo Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Aloha Karina, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are saddened to hear your stay with us was terribly loud and not enjoyable. We apologize that you feel we are being "shady" about our amenity fees being listed in our Terms and Conditions policy. We never want our guests to feel misled about our property or amenity fees, that is why we also have it posted on our main website under FAQ's. Regardless, we apologize if you feel we hid this fee from you. We are happy to have refunded these fees for you. If there is anything more we can do please reach out to me directly. We wish you happy travels while here in Hawaii. Take care, Erica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kiley K wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 2 young daughters and i stayed at the newly renovated SCP hotel and loved our time there. Our room was clean, and comfortable. There was onsite washer and laundry that we made use of, and it even took credit cards which was helpful cause i didn’t have any cash on hand. The staff was so friendly saying hello and interacting with my daughters. We had the pool to ourselves and had a blast there. It was a quick overnight trip but this hotel has definitely left a great impression on us. We will be back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben1275 wrote a review Jul 2022
Oslo, Norway
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The SCP chain promotes laudable principles, including sustainability, fair trade and green practices, which we strongly support. Our choice of this hotel was nevertheless driven more by the extremely high prices of hotels on Hawaii Island, particularly at its western side.

The hotel is rated as 3-star, which we regard as fitting. It is consequently puzzling that rooms go for almost 350 $ including tax, almost the price we paid per night at a luxury hotel in downtown Honolulu. Free parking, as well as free coffee and water and a 40 $ voucher we received for the hotel shop definitely saved some expenses, but we still regard the price as too high.

First and foremost among the assets of this hotel is the reception staff. They have all been very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, which we greatly appreciate. Other advantages are relative proximity to the airport and to a good shopping mall. The common areas are green, clean and very pleasant.

Our room, on the other hand, though generally clean, was less uplifting. It was fairly small, with paper-thin walls through which everything in the neighboring rooms or the corridor was heard. The window A/C was noisy and located at head’s level to the side of the beds, which precluded use at night. We consequently kept windows open, which introduced a full orchestra of birds, frogs and insects, as well as the sound of airplanes landing and taking off at times we would rather have slept. The beds were too soft for our comfort. Their frame on the contrary was hard and sticking out, and all of us were bruised more than once. Finally, the use of outlet power strips to increase socket capacity in the room is not safe and should not be a permanent solution.

In view of our short visit to downtown Hilo, we are fairly happy we chose this hotel over a more central location, but it would still register as less than what we would wish for an optimal holiday on this lovely island.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erica Hill, Guest Services / Front Office at Scp Hilo Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Aloha Ben, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay, and that our location was good. We want every guest to feel the value in their stay and are so sorry to read of the many issues you faced while at our hotel. If you could contact me directly at the hotel, I would love to hear more of your stay and see what we can do to make your stay better. Take care, Erica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ivanoei wrote a review Jul 2021
San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The public spaces look great after the remodel - just like the pictures. Our room was clean with new paint, floors, windows, ceiling fan, beds, furniture and everything was in good repair, but it had a basic plain feeling. I think it was just the lack of headboards or wall decor, or the plasticky laminate flooring, or the simple white bed covers. Nonetheless, room was large and spotless, beds were firm, walls were sound proof. Room air conditioner did it's job very well, water pressure was strong and hot! An ice machine is down the hall, a small refrigerator was in the corner of the room. Coconut Grill is conveniently right next door for breakfast. Good large portions, and actually too much for us. (Found Just Cruisin' Coffee less than 2 miles away that was a better fit for us - coffee and breakfast bagel sandwiches to go.)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelLove886 wrote a review Jan 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a jumping off point for Volcanoes Nat'l Park. It was perfect! We had a 13 hr flight, then a 2 hr drive, and our check-in was thankfully extremely quick and friendly. Emily greeted us upon arrival and gave us all the info we needed. Our room overlooking the koi pond and little lagoon was just perfect. Cozy, comfortable, nice morning view, and in the evenings we could listen to the live music from the lobby if we kept the sliding glass door open for the breeze. It's an old property that was revitalized. Very comfortable pool area that even has outlets to charge your devices while swimming. Laundry was easy to use - $3.50 per wash or dry.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking on street (free) or in lot. Koi pond views offer you bay views as well
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hilo Info, Guest Services / Front Office at Scp Hilo Hotel
Responded 13 Jun 2023
Aloha TravelLove886, We're so happy you were able to enjoy your visit with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you return. Mahalo, SCP Hilo Hotel Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingrid wrote a review Nov 2022
Hobart, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely stay in great location. Check in process was strange, we arrived prior to the 4pm check in & after travelling 16 hours were told we would have to pay USD75 for early check in. We went for a drive & returned to use wifi & bathroom & was told room would be ready in 20 mins. We went & got lunch & came back an hour later to a different check in agent telling us we’d have to pay extra, even though the previous one said we could check in after 20 mins.
Appreciated the free parking, pool facilities & free coffee & tea.
Really lovely spot by the water, resident turtles are straight across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kiana Vallente, Guest Services / Front Office at Scp Hilo Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2023
Aloha, First and foremost I want to thank you for taking your time to write and post your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. At SCP we live by the values of Healthy, Kind and Green. Your interaction with one member of our team was very inconsistent with our standards of service, and this should not have happened. In response we have implemented a new training program to help ensure all SCP associates are consistently professional, courteous and helpful. We regret that you had a less-than-satisfying experience with us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to win your loyalty back. Mahalo, Kiana V.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sourabh K asked a question Nov 2021
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
Is there a microwave in the room, or is it possible to rent one?
Answer from Erica H
Aloha Sourabh, We do not have microwaves inside the rooms, but we do provide two (one in the lobby and one in our hospitality room) for our guests to use anytime they would like. Mahalo, Erica
jlg asked a question Aug 2021
Honolulu, Hawaii65 contributions5 helpful votes
Do rooms have tv?
Answer from Erica H
Aloha, We do have tv's in all rooms except our "Peaceful" room category. Mahalo, Erica
Anderson B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the cafe next to the hotel-Great food!"
Read full review
BdayTrip wrote a tip Mar 2024
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes, it's by the airport. There are flights! We slept fine..."
Read full review
Kehlani A wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring water shoes for the Pond."
Read full review
Joe O wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It rains a good amount on that side of the island but sun came out a lot. "
Read full review
Dennis L wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Grab a beer or wine at store for your room - take down to lobby to listen to the music on weekend!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hilo area.
PRICE RANGE
S$194 - S$338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilo seaside hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilo Seaside Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCP HILO HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 253 Photos (Hawaii) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scp Hilo Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Scp Hilo Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Reeds Bay Beach Park (0.3 km) and Kuhio Kalanianaole Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scp Hilo Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Scp Hilo Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Scp Hilo Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Scp Hilo Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scp Hilo Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine, Ken's House of Pancakes, and Ponds.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scp Hilo Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scp Hilo Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Scp Hilo Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (2.6 km).
Does Scp Hilo Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Scp Hilo Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hilo HotelsHilo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HiloHotels near Scp Hilo Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire