Arnott's Lodge

Arnott's Lodge

98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Traveller (159)
Our semi-private rooms nestled in paradise
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 7 hotels in Hilo
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a quiet neighborhood minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in our camping lawn, to private bedrooms with private bathroom in another, to One and Two-Bedroom Suites for families and friends. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests can get discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, a must-see on the Big Island. Come experience a relaxed tropical Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and delightful swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Snorkelling
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Clothes dryer
Wifi
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
722Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 383
  • 223
  • 56
  • 19
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sam S. wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was part of the group with 30 college kids, and although the experience was amazing, I did have a few issues with the lodge. Firstly, the pictures do not show fully what the apartments look like. All rooms at Arnott's are made up of a living room and two bedrooms, but the living room also has two beds in it. I slept in the living room, given no privacy or space to store my clothes. It also will only be air-conditioned if the doors to the bedrooms are open. I became close with my roommates, so my initial issues became less of a problem. I bought drawers and a hanging rack to store my clothes, but I ended up losing money because I could not transport them back home, it would have been nice for Arnott's to provide more amenities for people who stay in the common room. The kitchenette had no oven, which is disclosed, but the fridges are very poor quality and are only meant to hold a very small amount of food. It is not meant to be used to hold food for four people for three months, and it did cause us several issues throughout our time there. We actually bought a separate mini-fridge, because the Arnott's amenities were not adequate. If you were traveling by yourself or in a smaller group, you would have to rent the entire space that can hold 5 people in order to truly have privacy. The walls are very thin throughout the entire lodge, but especially in apartments as well. The staff at the front desk was great, but many of my peers had issues with the owners, Doug and Glory. It mostly stemmed from them inviting college students to stay there for 3 months and expecting them to not act like college students. We took the Mauna Kea Summit tour with Arnott's which was very enjoyable, but was priced a bit too high for what it is, in my opinion. Overall, most of the complaints I have are things I can deal with, but I think it is important for the Lodge to be more upfront about what they offer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glory Arnott, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Aloha! Mahalo for staying with us. We appreciate that you have tried to provide a more objective critique. If you feel as though you were misled about the layout of our suites, we suggest you discuss it with Pacific Discovery. They were aware from the beginning of the layout of our rooms and what we had available in terms of amenities. We generally do not provide a large amount of storage space or large-sized fridges because our standard guests are short-term guests, and the benefits would not outweigh the negatives. Your group was not the type of group we would normally accept, especially for that time frame. We have hosted plenty of college groups in the past for short terms stays with no issues whatsoever. We did not expect you to not act like college students, but we do have to consider liability from our end. So no, we could not allow underage drinking at our hotel and we were responsible for following state laws regarding COVID. If you wished to be treated as responsible adults, you must act like responsible adults. This is especially important now, during a worldwide pandemic. Our only rules regarding your behavior involved maintaining your bubble, following state and federal law, and following our basic lodge rules which included no smoking in your rooms, maintaining quiet hours out of consideration for our neighbors, and etc. We were assured by Pacific Discovery that your group was focused on study and there would be no partying and you would comply according to our county and state COVID guidelines. We pushed the mask-wearing on our premises out of a concern for the safety of yourselves and others. It was clear that we had to be the enforcers of state laws in this case because your group leaders appeared to be unable to take control of the situation. We did not want to diminish your experience as a student but we did intend to keep you and our staff safe. Thank you for your comments on our Mauna Kea tour. We already offer the lowest rate for this tour on the island, and we gave your group a substantial discount. Our tour is the best value to be had and we are happy to hear that you found it enjoyable. Thank you for your time with us. -Arnott's Lodge Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zek wrote a review Jan 2024
Worldwide1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The beds are kind of small, more fitting for kids than adults. They have washing machines and dryers, but they charge $3.50 for each use. You can buy laundry detergent for $3. While these fees are modest, having to use quarters for this is a bit of a hassle. Also, there aren't any deadlocks or chain locks on the doors, which is a bit worrisome for safety. Plus, the office shuts at 5pm, so checking in or getting quarters after that is a pain.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Larry S wrote a review Dec 2023
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean. Great bed. Good quiet location No TV in room. No closet. The water in the shower was only warm not hot. The room rate was reasonable Residential location but walking distance to the shoreline
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Would like a TV in the room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND:
Arnott's lodge agreed to let 30 college kids come stay and take classes at their lodge for a program. During this time the owners and majority of the staff were obsessively rude to us. Our trip was very expensive and we were ridiculed everyday and treated like the biggest inconvenience. Our rooms were not cleaned once in our 3 month stay there and then we got charged up to $1,500 for cleaning fees, which was mostly crumbs and trash left in the apartment. We were college kids, taking college classes, we were not there to clean up every little crumb and mess we made. We were there for 3 months, Arnott's lodge should have expected some wear and tear, especially to their old, gross, and musty, accommodations. Arnott's lodge is the worst place I have ever stayed, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Hilo, I would suggest you keep looking because this is not the friendly, carefree environment you want while staying in Hawaii. Also a few more things, Glory (one of the owners) called my roommate stupid and harassed him because he forgot to close the door to our apartment.They also scammed a bunch of students who believed they were going to be staying in a room, but they ended up having to sleep, and live in a common area that was used by 3 other people for the entire trip. These students paid the same price as the students who had their own rooms (with a door)!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glory Arnott, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Aloha Sarah; mahalo for your time. We understand that receiving a bill for the damage you caused to our rooms might make you feel like you needed to go online and slander us. Pacific Discovery was charged fees for cleaning and damage because you left your room in a state of filth that took well beyond our normal turnaround time to clean, and because you left holes in our walls and chunks of paint were removed. That goes beyond normal wear and tear. You were provided the ability and materials to clean up after yourself and you chose not to do so. Per agreement with Pacific Discovery, you would be responsible for cleaning up after yourself as if you were living in a dormitory. If this was not made clear to you or you were told something different, it is not the fault of Arnott’s Lodge. If you expected a 5-star resort for your stay, I suggest you discuss it with Pacific Discovery. Arnott’s Lodge makes no secret of what we offer. Our manager Glory did not call you friend stupid. Your suite was asked repeatedly over several days to close the front door when you left the suite with the AC on. After repeatedly failing to do so, she told your friend that as a college student he should know better. The word “stupid” was never said. If his feelings were hurt by that, we apologize, but there is no need to pretend we said things that were never said. This interaction was witnessed by our staff as well. Arnott’s Lodge had nothing to do with the cost of your trip or your rooming assignments. If you have an issue with those things, you should take it up with Pacific Discovery. The price for your trip was set by them. The room assignments were determined by them. They knew well ahead of time what our room layout was and what we would provide. We certainly did not “scam” you. -Arnott's Lodge Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
h_nixon83 wrote a review Sept 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana116 contributions54 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I absolutely hate leaving a bad review, especially when people are friendly and accommodating which they were. My husband and I stayed here one single night when we flew from Maui to Hilo for a day trip to volcanoes. I called a couple of weeks ahead to inform them that I would be arriving past 8 o’clock, and they were very accommodating with saying that they would notate it and then I would not be charged a late check in time. They were true to their word and did not charge a late check in fee. Upon arrival there was no one at the front desk, but a nice man, possibly the owner, found the person that would be assisting with check-in. The checking itself went very fast, and they directed us on how to get to our room. When we entered our room, room 6, it was absolutely nothing like the pictures or reviews has indicated. It was extremely dingy with a terrible musty odor. The musty odor wasn’t the worst part, even though I did have a hard time sleeping because the must felt like I could have an asthma attack at any moment. The worst part was the roach on our bed frame before we could even set our stuff down. My husband looked under the mattress only to find three more roaches. Honestly we should have packed up and slept in our car. Instead we slept in the bed and tried not to think about what might be crawling on us during the night. I know Hawaii has roaches, but the entire room was very unclean including the black in the shower corners, the carpet, musty smell, and wooden vanity in the bathroom with God knows what living under it! 100 dollars is affordable, but unsanitary is a deal breaker!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arnott's Lodge, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Aloha! You have already left a review on this on another site. We are unsure why you felt the need to leave another, especially since you did not let us know at any point during your stay or after checking out that there was an issue or that you felt anything needed to change. Your room was examined thoroughly and no insects were found. Our rooms are always cleaned thoroughly and this is something that not only do we take pride in, but it is frequently noted by other travelers. We will always do our best for our guests and try to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for guests that are also budget-friendly. In the future, if you have any issues with a room or feel something needs to be fixed, please let the establishment know so that they can help you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne D wrote a review Jan 2020
Lynn, Massachusetts2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time on our adventure. Michelle was awesome she knew all about the island and made our tour very pleasant and lots of fun. She engaged with everyone on the bus and made everyone laugh. If you do take this tour I would highly recoment to ask for her to be your tour guide. The Farmers market was just OK but I got to have Poke at a small take out place and it was delicious, the small church was quaint, and Rainbow Falls was beautiful!!We went to different sites where the Lava had taken over streets and land in 2018. I would highly recomend this tour and make sure you ask for Michelle!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlohaArnotts, ArnottsAmbassador at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Aloha Anne!!! Mahalo nui loa for such high recommendations for both the Land of Frozen Fire tour as well as our guide Michelle. We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their tour, and it makes it even better when they enjoy their guide. That is awesome that you enjoyed your Poke!! We hope that a love and a spark for more adventures was born on your tour and that you will come back to explore more of what the Big Island has to offer. We would love to share more with you. A Hui Hou and Mahalo Nui Loa!!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam K wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our group enjoyed this unique hotel, much more than we thought we would, The outdoor common areas were cute - they had board games, guide books, a TV and had a very communal feel, like staying at a hostel. Great place to stay on a budget. Clean, quiet, well run. We were mostly looking for a nice place to sleep and we were happy to have found this lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christina S wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arnott‘s Lodge is amazing. We were 14 people and camped there. There is a lot provided. You can wash and dry your clothes. The showers and toilets are very clean. The place is very quite and there is an area where you can eat with your group or by yourself. This is the ideal place for camping. I recommend Arnott's Lodge to everyone!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arnott's Lodge, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Thank you for your review! Our campers are some of our favorite guests and we love being able to provide a place for people who choose to visit the Big Island this way. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Hilo :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert271 wrote a review Dec 2023
New York City, New York34 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a no frills, all substance joint. Capable, froenfly, helpful staff. The owner, Mr. Arnott, is available as well. Our room, the Simple Studio, had all we needed in the basic kitchen for a four-night stay. Very clean and comfortable. A plus: the bus stop is a blockmor two away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rae wrote a review Jan 2021
98 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay on a budget. Clean, quiet, well run. Not fancy. But who needs frills?? Internet can be slow or non existent. But that is not why people go to HI. Places to sit out side. Bikes to rent. Walk to the beach. Clean sheets and towels. Free off street parking if you have a car. This place is what it says it is, a budget place to stay at a fair price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I went for a private room with a bathroom. Nice to have my own place to sit out side and to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arnott's Lodge, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge
Responded 2 Feb 2021
Aloha! Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you recognize and appreciate what we have to offer. We always do our best to keep our hotel clean, quiet, and safe for our guests. If you had an issue with our internet, we hope you will reach out and let us know so that we can look into it. Our internet is some of the fastest in Hilo and if there is a problem we'd like to know as soon as possible so that we can fix it for you. Thank you again for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back to Hilo again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from AlohaArnotts
Hilo, Hawaii26 contributions
Aloha Rahul, Are you landing in Hilo or Kona? We are located in Hilo. You may travel by taking our tours: Mauna Kea, Volcano National Park and Valleys and Waterfall Tour. We also provide private tours. We also have bikes you can rent and there's also the public bus. Ask us for bus schedules at our front desk. I would suggest Mauna Kea and Volcano National Park tour. Let us know if you have any other questions. Mahalo, Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures
Answer from Marissa A
23 contributions12 helpful votes
Highly recommend botanical gardens and volcano. My top 2 favorites when in on the big Island. Followed by snorkeling and swimming at hapuna beach near kona.I didn't get to snorkel at hilo, but heard some parts are nice. The sunrise on the beach is magical too. Arnott is so close, walking distance to much of the good stuff!
Answer from AlohaArnotts
Hilo, Hawaii26 contributions
Yes, you would need to fly from Hilo to Honolulu or Kona to Honolulu for your flight to Australia. We have 2 airports on the Big Island. The airport closer to us Hilo. Hope this helps.
Answer from AlohaArnotts
Hilo, Hawaii26 contributions
We're more of a hostel. We are a traveler's lodge so proof of an outward bound air ticket or travel itinerary will be requested upon check in.
Answer from AlohaArnotts
Hilo, Hawaii26 contributions
Thank you for your question. The reference to street locals was directed at downtown Hilo which is 3 miles from Arnott's Lodge. The warning which they received probably referred to those who might visit a restaurant or bar and come out late. This is true in almost any town and Hilo downtown has no more or less "undesirables" than any other city in the world. No matter where you travel to you should always be aware of your surroundings and not leave valuables in your car.
Shock007 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada119 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very quiet place"
Read full review
Larry S wrote a tip Dec 2023
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would like a TV in the room"
Read full review
Vanessa H wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to catch the sunrise it’s beautiful :)"
Read full review
GraemeMcAus wrote a tip Dec 2022
49 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hilo is a very rainy area. Make sure you pack accordingly- you will get wet while you stay in Hilo!"
Read full review
Rae wrote a tip Jan 2021
98 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I went for a private room with a bathroom. Nice to have my own place to sit out side and to enjoy a cup of Joe."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hilo area.
PRICE RANGE
S$191 - S$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arnott`s hotel hilo, arnotts hotel hilo
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARNOTT'S LODGE (S̶$̶2̶8̶1̶) S$234: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 211 Photos (Hilo, Hawaii) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arnott's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Arnott's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Carlsmith Beach Park (1.4 km), Lyman Museum (5.3 km), and Richardson Ocean Park (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arnott's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Arnott's Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arnott's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Arnott's Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arnott's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paul's Place, Two Ladies Kitchen, and Moon and Turtle.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arnott's Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arnott's Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arnott's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (4.8 km).
Is Arnott's Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hilo HotelsHilo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hilo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire