Hilltop Legacy

Hilltop Legacy

57 Hina St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2005
Traveller (47)
View from room.  (Sorry about the screen!)
Room & Suite (29)
The owner's cat is sooo sweet!
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#3 of 4 guest houses in Hilo
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

The Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental is located in the beautiful town of Hilo, Hawaii. Our property boasts stunning views of the ocean and the surrounding mountains, making it the perfect place to relax and unwind.

We offer a variety of guest rooms. Our property has been recently extensively renovated in August of 2022, ensuring that our guests have a comfortable and modern stay. The Hilltop Legacy is conveniently located within a short distance of Hilo's many attractions, including beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway or a family vacation, the Hilltop Legacy is the perfect choice. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful property.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Budget

Location

57 Hina St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2005
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Hilo Intl Airport
Kamuela Airport
68.7 km
See all flights
80Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 15
  • 17
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sarah-schmidt0285 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is basically a step up from a hostel since you get a private room and bathroom. The bed, floor, and bathroom were clean and the linens and towels were the newest things in the room, and having a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker was a functional plus. Parking is limited in front of the house which sucks, but at least there is additional parking by the grassy area.
If you like a place with character and has basic amenities that is still dependable, clean, and safe, then this is a great place to stay.
Random quirky fact: there is an on-site outdoor cat who is super friendly and social.
Only things I would fix: clean the dusty fan, fix the rain gutter outside my window that creates a noisy waterfall on the metal roof whenever it rains, and get rid of those damn invasive coqui frogs that are so loud and kept me up at night (last one is unrealistic, don't take it seriously, you can't escape those frogs if you visit Hawaii).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from J Lee, General Manager at Hilltop Legacy
Responded 22 Dec 2022
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilltop Legacy and found your private room and bathroom to be clean and well-equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It sounds like you appreciated the character of our property, and we're happy to know that you found it dependable, clean, and safe. We're glad you had the chance to meet Snowball, our friendly outdoor cat. It's great to know that he made a positive impression on you during your stay. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the dusty fan and the noisy rain gutter outside your window. We will make sure to address these issues as soon as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the coqui frogs, but as you mentioned, they are a common feature of the Hawaiian landscape and can be difficult to escape. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any further concerns or suggestions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jairo D wrote a review Jul 2022
Sao Paulo, SP
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Check-in was difficult because it was dark. We received instructions at check-in time and not 24 hours before as advertised in the reservation.
The parking lot has two spaces, there are other spaces on the street in a specific place 50 meters away, as closest spaces are in places prohibited by neighbors.
We never had personal contact with the host, only via hotels.com. We complained about excessive noise from the neighbor next door (loud TV all night) the rude response we got was a suggestion that we leave the accommodation until 11 am and look for another place to stay. The next day my wife spoke to the neighbor and we didn't have this problem anymore (something the host could have done). In our last night there was a dog on the property that barked all night. Contact with owner is poor and takes long time to answer. Fortunately, some property renovation workers helped with useful information and brokered the conversation. The room was large, with space and basic utensils, no plates or cutlery. The mattress was extremely soft and deformed, causing back pain. Location very good, next to downtown Hilo
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from J Lee, General Manager at Hilltop Legacy
Responded 22 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for any difficulties you experienced during your stay. We want to assure you that the property has recently undergone extensive renovations, and we are almost finished with these updates. We hope that these improvements will enhance your experience in the future. We are sorry about any issues you had with noise from neighbors and barking dogs. Please know that we take these matters seriously and will do our best to address them in a timely and appropriate manner. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We hope that you were able to enjoy the large room and convenient location of our property. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration as we continue to improve the guest experience at our vacation rental. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hilltop Legacy is a very small hotel -- a few rooms that are part of a larger house where the family that manages or owns the property lives. As the name suggests, it's way up at the top of a steep hill with a lovely view of the bay. Unlike the last small hotel where we stayed on the Big Island, we found the arrival instructions to be straightforward and easy to follow. We were met by the friendly owner/manager, who helped carry our bags upstairs. The room was very small, but clean and pleasant. The walls, however, are very thin, and we felt as if we were in the next room. (Not a place we wanted to be.) The common area was inviting. All in all, we were very pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi M wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times, always in the Legacy Suite. The view of downtown from the front window is spectacular. But there is also a large side balcony that has a downtown view and, on a clear day, a great view of Mauna Kea. Also a nice view of the surrounding lush tropical greenbelt. Not sure, but this property could be on top of the highest hill in Hilo. I also love the original bathroom from the 1930s that this suite has, with its tile work and nice soaking tub, as well as the cute dressing room. So much more character than some newer properties or a generic hotel. Apparently there is sometimes confusion about where to park, but I'm not sure why since the on-site parking spaces are well-marked.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dmbmtrip wrote a review Jun 2021
North Potomac, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our room and were able to get a great price. The staff is accommodating. It is important to make sure if you have more than two people to get an extra room. The staff does their best to make sure that you are comfortable. Lastly the staff is very friendly. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from J Lee, General Manager at Hilltop Legacy
Responded 22 Dec 2022
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the great price you were able to get for your room. We're glad to hear that you found our staff accommodating and friendly, and we hope that you were able to feel comfortable during your stay. We appreciate your recommendation to book an extra room if you have more than two people, and we hope that you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you for choosing Hilltop Legacy!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack M wrote a review Aug 2014
Chester, New Jersey
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked this place 11 months in advance, the price included breakfasts for myself and my wife. When we checked in and asked details about breakfast, our host said it wasn't included anymore. They had never told us about this during that 11 months. He promised to send us a VISA refund for $28 for our 2 nights stay. That was over 2 months ago. Upon getting home and reviewing our VISA account we found no refund so we called and were told that they couldn't do a VISA refund so they would send us a check right away. After waiting about 10 days I called again. It's been almost 4 weeks since that last call and still no refund.

The McCarthys
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room was adequate but don't trust these folks. TV didn't work the first night but was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shachar R wrote a review Oct 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
first let me start by saying that this is not a hotel.
this is an appartment with 4 rooms and we got the small room -and they weren't kidding when they said SMALL.
there is no orivacy in the toielt, everything is old, no place to put your stuff, the wife actually started crying when she so the room.
nothing like you see in the pictures.
not recomended!!
BUT- first you need to considure that there are not too many hotels in hilo most of the places are appartments.
second the location is good.
and third the guy who welcomed us was nice...
but I'm sorry to say that its just not recomended ):
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from J Lee, General Manager at Hilltop Legacy
Responded 22 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We want to assure you that since your stay, we have undergone extensive renovations to improve the quality of our rooms and facilities. We apologize for any issues with the size of the room and the lack of privacy in the bathroom. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to show you the improvements we have made and provide you with a more comfortable and enjoyable stay. Additionally, please be aware that as an apartment, we do not offer the same amenities and services as a traditional hotel. However, we are pleased that you found the location convenient and that our staff member was friendly. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaBeau808 wrote a review Jan 2015
Hawaii
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I got the room on the end that has the original bathroom...showing its age but functional. The towels were kind of a shock, hard & stiff and felt like sand paper...they must dry on a clothes line. I'd bring my own if I came back. In contrast, the 4 poster bed was very pretty and comfortable. There is a very nice view of Hilo and the bay when it's not raining (and you overlook the carport half full of trash). I was shown a nice lanai but didn't get to use it due to the pouring rain. The coquis are loud but not deafening, The interior walls are pretty thin, I could hear every word of a heated conversation in the next room and their snores reverberated thru the house. There are 5 rooms to rent and 5 parking slots but the paying guests are only allowed to use 2 of the spaces. There is high competition for those...if you lose your spot you have to park around the corner and down the hill to schlep your luggage up and down. The owners were not there but the stand-in caretaker was very courteous. And the room was super clean. It's a bit of a trek to get to town to eat (and of course you lose your parking spot). Still, the place has character and is better than staying in a hotel on Banyan Drive. And the landscaping is pretty. Although it is listed under the B&B section, they do not serve breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loverboy123 wrote a review Aug 2016
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
pictures are misleading nothing like the pictures the out side of the building needs painting needs new beds no air conditioning no curtains in the bathroom no privacy bed is no Good no breakfast as promised
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from J Lee, General Manager at Hilltop Legacy
Responded 23 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. We apologize if the pictures were misleading and that the outside of the building could’ve used some painting. We are happy to inform you that we have recently undergone extensive renovations and have updated many aspects of the property, including replacing beds and installing air conditioning in some of the rooms. We apologize for the lack of privacy in the bathroom and for any issues with the bed. We hope that these improvements will enhance your future stays with us. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your experience more comfortable
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R O wrote a review Apr 2014
Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. Check in was a breeze! The house was quiet and very well equipped. No breakfast even though it's listed in the B&B category but we will stay there again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Date of stay: March 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Solange Moras wrote a tip Jul 2016
Sao Carlos, SP277 contributions165 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the triple room, really big great view"
Read full review
venout wrote a tip Feb 2016
Bellevue, ID2 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Guess you have to pay more for a room there, to get a bigger room, but not sure."
Read full review
CharlieBear127 wrote a tip May 2015
Nottingham, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't have a car, think twice about booking here. I managed without a car but the hill is extremely steep!"
Read full review
Jack M wrote a tip Aug 2014
Chester, New Jersey47 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room was adequate but don't trust these folks. TV didn't work the first night but was fixed for the second night. So verify that the TV is working beforehand if you plan to use it at all."
Read full review
ashirayk wrote a tip Feb 2014
New York City, New York32 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"see the review above."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hilo area.
PRICE RANGE
S$233 - S$352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilltop legacy vacation rental hotel hilo
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILLTOP LEGACY: UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 57 Photos (Hilo, Hawaii) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilltop Legacy
Which popular attractions are close to Hilltop Legacy?
Nearby attractions include Lyman Museum (0.8 km), St. Joseph Catholic Church, (0.9 km), and Naha Stone (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilltop Legacy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and outdoor furniture.
Which room amenities are available at Hilltop Legacy?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
Is parking available at Hilltop Legacy?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilltop Legacy?
Conveniently located restaurants include Liko Lehua Cafe, Pho Viet, and Vegan Shop.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilltop Legacy?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (1.4 km).
Does Hilltop Legacy have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Hilo HotelsHilo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hilo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire