We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Shaka Shak Garden Inn

126 W Kahaopea St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-5305
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (9)


#14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo

The Shaka Shaka Garden Inn is a lovingly restored 3,188 square foot plantation house,We combined nostalgic old Hawaii with modern conveniences. It sits on a 13,800 square foot tropical garden with orange, papaya trees, fish ponds and Hawaiian flora on a one car street in a quiet neighborhood. We have a total of 4 spacious upstairs bnb style rooms and budget studios with private entrances on the ground level, All rooms are uniquely decorated with a Polynesian flair and outfitted with comfortable beds, cotton linens and LCD TV's for news and Netflix. Guests have access to fast Wifi and a fully equipped kitchen.with plenty of provisions to make simple breakfasts and other meals. We live on site in a separate area of the house and are usually available for company, local info and island recommendations to optimize your trip. Parking is FREE on the long driveway and there are ample street parking for bigger vehicles. All rooms are ventilated with ceiling and floor fans,otherwise, AC is available in some rooms for a nominal fee. Our location is very convenient. Although hidden on a dead end street, just 2 blocks away is the cross streets of Volcano Highway Saddle Road extension HI 2000, and only 4 stoplights to the Hilo International Airport. At the corner is the Bus Stop and a mini mall with local dining spots, fast food establishments, supermarkets, banks and even a beauty salon. Taxis, Uber and Lyft can also bring you to our house from the airport or downtown.

Come visit us to experience THE REAL HAWAII...

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Water park
Water park offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Additional bathroom
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish


Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
53Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 12
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
WH799 wrote a review Jan 2020
Munich, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
Cynthia offered us two rooms on short notice after our booked accommodation let us down. We staid in two small rooms next to the car port - dark and very small for four people with only a shared outdoor bathroom that was not clean (we mostly used the 1st floor shared bathroom in the house instead). We appreciate her helpfulness, but she massively overcharged us taking advantage of our situation. Parking in the driveway is very tight - but there are more spaces nearby (about 100m away).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from ShakaShakBoss, Owner at Shaka Shak Garden Inn
Responded 4 Jan 2020
This German family called us day after Christmas (this is a really crazy time, hotels on the east side run out of rooms, on the Kona side, hotels are charging $10K) half past 8pm. looking for an emergency accommodation for 4 people = husband wife and 2 children, as the place he booked dropped the ball on him. ,I didn't offer him the rooms, these were the only rooms I have available, his daughter found my listing minutes after I published them, due to a last minute cancellation. I was pretty clear on the phone that the 2 rooms downstairs were in a separate area of the house. All our other rooms are booked up days before Xmas break.. I gave him the price per room, as per my online ad, which was even lower what the downtown hostel charged $150 per night for a private room (shared bath) during Xmas and special event weeks. Also, he approved the charges, before I let them occupy the space PLUS he booked a 2nd night. We re-configured the 2nd bedroom with a bunkbed to accommodate father and son, Then gave them exclusive use for the outside bathroom, as he demanded a private bath. It was clean, still is, but just outside, they just have an aversion to island style bathing. Altogether, this is a 400 square ft space for all of them. He thanked me profusely as he told us they were getting ready to sleep in the car. I felt sick and lightheaded during this stressful time... i had to lie down a bit, but forced myself up to help my brother build the bunkbeds at 10pm. ,In the morning, I offered them coffee, milk, juice, some fruits and they could have made pancakes for breakfast for the kids. I don't know how much more i could have done for them. Now he turned around and give me this horrible review. For future guests, please look at our other reviews online for a more accurate assessment of our highly rated vacation rental. I love hosting and helping people, otherwise I would not be in the hospitality field. I have over 10 years of experience in a 5 star hotel and another 10 years in corporate sales. Aloha
Read more
elaine stuart wrote a review Dec 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom32 contributions1 helpful vote
Felt very welcome lovely and clean friendly place Good location easy to get to Rainbow falls Slept really well tea and coffee and breakfast provided Fan in room to keep you cool Free parking And quiet Thanks for your lovely hospitality Cyncthia
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
cleeb0012016 wrote a review Jul 2018
Adelaide, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
The guesthouse is a lovely two story and spacious home. So nice looking out the airy living area to the lush garden. Great selection for breakfast and good value for money. Very quiet location but still walking distance to shops, restaurants, mall, cinema and bus stops. Perfect if you have a hire car with plenty of parking. I was able to borrow the bike, snorkel and floatie for the gorgeous beaches nearby. Felt very welcomed, safe and well looked after - would highly recommend. I also stayed at the Shaka Shak Studios which is in downtown Hilo and walking distance to everything and even better if you don’t have a car.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from ShakaShakBoss, Owner at Shaka Shak Garden Inn
Responded 2 Apr 2019
So nice to have guests appreciate the work we put into this vintage Hawaiian house. We have decorated it as a zen retreat with a mid century flair. We also made sure the modern conveniences such as a fully equipped kitchen, fast internet access and even Netflix is available for guests' enjoyment. Natasha and I thank you for your stay and we hope you visit us again in the future. Good travels!
Read more
Joan C wrote a review Apr 2018
Delta53 contributions19 helpful votes
This place was easy to find, close to shopping and not far off the highway. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We met other travellers at breakfast and shared a lot of travel information. Cynthia and Natasha were very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from ShakaShakBoss, Owner at Shaka Shak Garden Inn
Responded 20 May 2018
Thank you Joan for leaving a nice review both on booking.com and tripadvisor. We appreciate so much that you took the time to share your experience in our Hawaiian home. It will help future guests in their decision to stay with us. You are always welcome back. Aloha!!
Read more
Travel759124 wrote a review Feb 2018
1 contribution
Beautiful home away from home everything that the big island has to offer Shaka shak is that place to start right!...with there beautiful home in the right location easy access to everything to your convenience..the perfect place to be!..thank you! Cynthia and Natasha broa!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Excellent!well keeping
See more room tips
Response from ShakaShakBoss, Owner at Shaka Shak Garden Inn
Responded 20 May 2018
Aloha and thanks for leaving a great review. I am delighted to know that you appreciate the beauty of an authentic Hawaiian plantation house. It is the historic details that give this mid century house a lot of character. You are always welcome here. Mahalo!
Read more
US$93 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHilo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shaka Shak Garden Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hilo Daijingu (0.9 km), Kinoole Farmers Market (0.2 km), and Hilo Hatties (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
Is parking available at Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Hawaii, Hilo Rice Noodles Soup, and Hiro's Place.
Does Shaka Shak Garden Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Shaka Shak Garden Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Shaka Shak Garden Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kaipalaoa Landing (4.4 km).