We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hale Ohia Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hale Ohia Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hale Ohia Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Our cabin at this property was a real gem in the woods. We stayed in cabin 44 which has a round bedroom with a king-sized bed, skylight and a doublesided fireplace which also faces the living area. We ate our breakfast of fresh mangos and homemade nut bread on our lanai every morning and just enjoyed being in the forest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annalea52
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're so pleased to hear you loved your stay in Cottage 44; it was our pleasure to host you. I appreciate your attention to the uniqueness of the cottage— the circular bedroom and double-sided fireplace are two of my favorite features. I'm glad you liked the light, fresh breakfast and hope you both enjoyed...

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hale Ohia Cottage. Mike was super and was available for restaurant suggestions (not many great restaurants in volcano) and tips. He directed us to the Glow that was never mentioned in any of our guide books. The fresh fruit and homemade bread was a treat. Our room had a fire place and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Debbie, thank you for the kind review. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us in August. I'm glad I was helpful in suggesting restaurants and other attractions, aside from the obvious and beautiful Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Thank you for your compliments on the cozy room and fresh breakfast. Dixon says hello! We both hope to welcome...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Camellia suite for 3 nights. The setting and hotel were both absolutely gorgeous and the atmosphere was quiet and secluded. It was very close to the Volcano National Park and because we were on foot it was perfect as a starting point for hikes. The only real problem we had was crossing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Angela, Thank you for staying with us in August and for taking the time to review us.   I’m glad you and your husband enjoyed the Camellia Suite and appreciate your compliments on the cottages and grounds of Hale Ohia.  We can’t take too much credit since Hawaii has such natural beauty, which I’m sure you relished throughout the Volcano...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Laulani Cottage, which was located off the main property at a distance of about 2 miles. It was a beautifully decorated cottage, with a fully-equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, and a nice living room area. The cottage was about a 5 minute drive to both Volcanoes National Park and to the restaurants and little shops of Volcano...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MPKirsch
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review and for staying with us this past summer. I'm happy you and your family found the Laulani Cottage comfortable and peaceful, tucked away on our lush estate. The Volcanoes National Park and other attractions in Volcano Village are certainly very close, and I hope you enjoyed exploring the area. Thank you for recommending Hale...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed in the Ihilani cottage at Hale Ohia for two nights during our trip on Hawaii. The cottage and grounds were lovely. Its very quiet, and Dixon the cat came to visit us for a few minutes each morning. At night, it gets quite chilly and the fireplace makes for a cozy environment. We had fresh papaya, bananas, guava...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCRickH
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Rick, Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad you found the Ihilani a cozy, comfortable cottage during your two-night stay last July. I appreciate all of your compliments and your attention to the fresh breakfast. You're right that Hale Ohia is not a typical B&B with communal lodging and breakfasts. Given the quiet, secluded nature of the grounds, it...

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Nice and clean place to sleep. Crew not very welcoming. (we didn't see anyone until it was time to pay and leave) Breakfasts were NOT good: bread and papaya only.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaldayen
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for staying with us back in May. Thank you for recommending our estate as a clean, comfortable place to stay, however I am disappointed you were less than impressed with your experience. Hale Ohia is not the typical B&B— lodging is dispersed throughout the grounds and guests enjoy a light,...

PORTLAND
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Lovely grounds, rooms, staff and fabulous breakfast. Very close to park. But the walls were so thin we couldn't sleep. It sounded like other people were in our room. Bed/mattress seemed new but very hard, one side of my body kept falling asleep. If you're a sound sleeper, you'll love this place. If you're a light sleeper like me, you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cheytull
Mike T, Owner at Hale Ohia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for staying with us back in February. I appreciate all of your compliments and am happy to know you and your family loved the grounds, the cottages, my staff and the fresh breakfast. However, I'm disappointed to hear you had trouble sleeping in your room. If you can recall, I...

usa
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Two of us were accommodated in the Ohia unit- a three bedroom, kitchen, living room set up after we made a last minute reservation. The owner was very accommodating, showed us to our room, explained the details and left us with a breakfast, including a home made bread. We were charged as though we were in a much smaller unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsrs
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Wonderful private cottage in lush property. The cottage has a separate reading nook, fireplace, and porch (also a tiny kitchinette area). It's a beautiful room with a ton of character. Definitely go to their website to see the pics. Once inside you really cannot see the other buildings on the property, so you feel quite isolated and private. It's a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1gr8plan
Chicago
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I forget how I found these cottages, but I'm so glad that I did. The location is perfect--they are just off the road that takes you quickly to the rest of Volcano village or to the national park, but the landscape is very lush, and you forget about the road the moment you drive up the path. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gimme_a_screen_name

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.7 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
379 reviews
0.3 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.5 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
489 reviews
0.6 km away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Volcano Hawaii vacation retreat offering an intimate destination at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ohia Cottages

Address: 11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: $210 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ohia Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Ohia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ohia Cottages Hotel Volcano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ohia Cottages staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ohia Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the main building and it was quiet as could be.”
 of 5 bubbles StephKCO, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottages are good for more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles olollyberry, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look at the website which shows floor plans.”
 of 5 bubbles Mungo44, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stand alone room if meets your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles P762EXianc, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the smallest room available!”
 of 5 bubbles amills21, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5