We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aloha Crater Lodge

Save
Share
11-3966 Lanihuli Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (181)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (2)

About

#14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the Hawaiian fern forest at the edge of kazumura cave and lava tube, Aloha Crater Lodge welcomes you. Located next to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our rooms are designed with your privacy in mind. Every room has private entrance and bath. An outdoor hot tub is situated in the heart of an ohia tree and fern forest. Kazumura cave is a treasure to behold. Breathe in the beauty and majesty of days of old when lava created this incredible sight. Experience Aloha from the edge of Kazumura cave.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
293Reviews4Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 117
  • 35
  • 13
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joseph C wrote a review Jul 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada567 contributions153 helpful votes
+1
Aloha crater lodge is a very unique spot with a great location. We rented the Orchid Suite for one night. Dealing with the owners was great and they were very friendly when we pulled up. The room was nicely appointed and was unlike anything I have stayed in. The room seemed really clean and had plenty of small touches that set this place apart. A bunch of snacks were on the table and fridge for you to enjoy. The bathroom was cool and the rock shower was one of a kind! The room does not have an air conditioner which was not an issue when we were there but something to be aware about. Small complaints are at the time of writing the hot tub was broken l, hopefully fixed soon! Another is the blinds are thin in the sleeping area so on the ground floor privacy is minimal. It’s a great place and I highly recommend it for couples especially if you are looking to be close to Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Leah O wrote a review Apr 2021
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
*the photos are the condition jucuzzi and the other photos are proving that I cleaned the room before I left, cleaning floors and bathroom as well as removing bedding and putting them in convenient piles on the floor with the used towels* The place was a good location for volcano, not worth it though. When we arrived the female host was a bit aggressive toward us and made us feel uncomfortable. The house very much looked as it does in the photos on the outside The host said since we had a dog she was going to remove the rugs since they do not have time to clean them between guests, (this is posted on her ad” but the rugs were on the floor when we arrived and were filthy. The bedding as far as the sheets and pillow cases smelled and appeared clean, but the top blankets were clearly not cleaned recently and were dusty as well as smelled like mildew. The throw pillows were unable to be washed so we didn’t not use them. They were dusty and mildew as well The floors were disgusting. The only sponge for dishes and the “kitchen” was stored unpackaged on the floor by the toilet scrubber and dish soap. Beware This is not a kitchen it’s a bathroom sink with a mini fridge and some dishes. The hot tub could be a nice touch but it was very dirty in the water and the vents were gross so we spent little time in there. When we went to rinse off after the hot tub there was no hot water or pressure. We told the host and they said there was. I guess just not while we were staying there. Then some creepy guy who I assume was the make host tried to come into our room and he was always staring and creeping around. The shared walls are thin to the other Airbnb. After we complained and asked for a partial refund the host left a dishonest review of me as a guest on my Airbnb saying we trashed the place and it took them two hours to clean it, but I took photos of the place and how we cleaned it and left it in better condition then we found it. She also tried to blame us for “bombing the hot tub” whatever that means 😂😂 we were there for a day, that hot tub has years of neglect and abuse.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Fisher, Owner at Aloha Crater Lodge
Responded 28 Apr 2021
This review entails a lot of complaints, too many to address. The main issue we should look at are the Airbnb policies because this reservation was made thru Airbnb. Basically any problems/issues that can not be fixed on our end (Aloha Crater Lodge) would require a cancellation/refund and a relocation for the Guest thru Airbnb. Leah's issues/complaints described were not presented to Airbnb at any time until after they actually stayed thru the night. If the complaints were not first filtered thru Airbnb then Airbnb can not refund nor can we. Actually, no matter how our Guests reserve a room if there is a problem between the Guest and the lodging we can only offer a cancellation/refund if a discrepancy is brought to our attention right away. If the issue is unresolvable we will release the reservation and refund accordingly. One of Leah's issues came to our attention directly by messaging, no hot water, this was addressed immediately when we pointed out the shower handle direction to the "H" for hot water and they said it was ok. When Leah arrived she inquired about adding a 4th person and we waived the extra person fee. Extra towels were available in the room and instead of 4 towels they used 8 sets of towels. On check out everything that could be washed in the washer was washed because they had their doggo so comforters/blankets, pillows, throw rugs, cushions et all, in preparation of the next Guest arrival (the same day). It was unfortunate that the Guests in the neighboring room wanted to use the jacuzzi however Leah and her friends, totaling 6 people, were in the jacuzzi all night . One question? If you complained that the jacuzzi was not well, dirty, why did you and your friends stay in for sooo long? Lastly, Leah, your cleaning skills leave a lot to be desired. We cleaned the coffee spilled on the floor and chair cushions. We actually washed/dried 4 loads of laundry that you and your friends used, remade the beds , wiped down and cleaned the bathroom/kitchenette and did everything else that needed to be done for the next check in (the same day). It is possible that Leah stayed here with her friends, reenacting naked and afraid and then purposely intended on getting a refund afterwards. Her complaints, poor reviews across the board and "documenting with photos" their discrepancies/complaints while not adhering to any relevant policies, not requesting a formal cancellation thru Airbnb leave something to be questioned. Her request for a complete refund came in the moment she checked out. Our review posted on Airbnb was made right away and we expected a poor review on her end because we refused her request for a full refund after she and her 5 friends stayed thru the night with us.
Read more
Mandelina wrote a review Mar 2020
13 contributions
We love this place, you can tell a real artist has been putting this room together and it shows!!! The terrarium is coming along since our last visit, the bed frame continues to be the coolest, there's a nice kitchen the a double shower as well. The personal accent in about every thing make this is stellar find!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
T&L wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were looking for an ‘off the beaten path’ location and were not disappointed!!! In the middle of a beautiful Hawaiian forest-the room we have is perfect. We have a view of the scenery out of the giant patio door-which by the way leads to a huge deck with chairs to look over the beautiful scenery-as well as the huge window. The room itself makes you feel like you’re at home!! Giant king bed-jetted tub-fresh bread and fruit for breakfast. And the owners are so nice!! Came and introduced themselves after providing us with self check-in instructions. The price is so affordable too!! Highly recommend!! Oh yeah-it’s only 2 miles from the entrance of Volcano National Park. We left the park in we’re here in less than 5 min. Can’t wait to visit the lava tube they have on the property tomorrow morning!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ctucher wrote a review Dec 2019
Palo Alto, California2 contributions
We spent a comfortable night at Aloha Crater Lodge. It's very well located for visiting Volcano national park. Best was: when I left a jacket in the room, the hosts were super accommodating to mail it home to me promptly! Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aloha crater hotel volcano
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiVolcano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aloha Crater Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Aloha Crater Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Kilauea Iki Trail (7.1 km), Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (3.1 km), and Kilauea (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aloha Crater Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Aloha Crater Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aloha Crater Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aloha Crater Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tuk Tuk Thai Food Truck, Cafe' Ono, and Kilauea Lodge Restaurant.