Shores at Waikoloa

Shores at Waikoloa

69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5737
Traveller (227)
Aston Shores at Waikoloa 2 Bedroom Golf Villa Deluxe Living Room
Room & Suite (111)
dining living area
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#6 of 10 apartments in Waikoloa
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
A view of the golf course can be as exhilarating as a view of the ocean. Located on the sun-drenched Kohala Coast between the King's Course and the Beach Course in Waikoloa Resort, this resort features suites and golf villas with large lanais and full kitchens. Guests have access to the nearby shops, restaurants, and activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis court
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern

Location

69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5737
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Keahole Airport
26.3 km
See all flights
Kamuela Airport
24.2 km
See all flights
287Reviews17Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 94
  • 26
  • 20
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CBS wrote a review Feb 2020
Norton Shores, Michigan26 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed this property. We have stayed at other Ashton's and we're impressed by the grounds of this one as well. This one does not have the office on property so influenced the score a bit. The condo itself was nice but a little more dated then others I have stayed at. The bathtub/ shower has a huge step in and out with no grab bars. There is no cleaning service included in the stay without an additional cleaning fee. Towels are in abundance and cheerfully delivered. The dishwasher had something awful in the bottom that we reported. The Lanai was beautiful and beds clean and comfortable. It seemed like this unit hadn't been used for awhile as the plants and end tables were dusty and there were a few bugs (this is the tropics). The beds were comfortable. Over all the stay was great and I would stay at an Ashton again. All three of us enjoyed our stay here. We especially enjoyed our evening visits to the pool and hot tub. Very convenient location. Quiet property which suited our needs. Grills scattered throughout property for use. Gated community with a code for entry. A different code for pool and fitness center. I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny T, Manager at Shores at Waikoloa
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Aloha, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. The property is beautiful and relaxing and has all of the conveniences of home. You have provided some great insight into our property and we will take everything into consideration to help improve our product and services. I want to apologize for the areas where we did not meet your expectations and will discuss this with the team as well. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to host you and your family on the Big Island of Hawaii again! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to personally assist you with your future accommodations. Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikaela C wrote a review Apr 2021
Rochester, Minnesota1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The condo itself was really nice- large open space with high ceilings, big kitchen, nice big patio/lanai. The kitchen has good utensils and new countertops. There were lots of towels. But the furniture was really worn out and old. The linen was scratchy and there was only one thin ugly blanket. I brought a beach blanket that I ended up using on the bed because the one provided was so poor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom wrote a review Jun 2022
Rancho Cucamonga, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great location. The rooms in #315 are terrific, nice mattresses to sleep on (not like hotel ones). The kitchen supports the gourmet at heart with a full stove, oven and microwave plus a high class set of cooking utensils a sou chef would be happy with. It’s a quite unit and has dedicated parking. This is the perfect HQ for exploring lovely Hawaii!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy M wrote a review Feb 2023
Minnesota22 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rental unit #106 at Sandalwood at the Shores is one to stay away from. The Shores complex in all is wonderful and a great location. When we arrived we were greeted with dirty carpets and a leaking shower. We were told we could use the shower in the owners condo but we declined- we are rather private people. So if we wanted to take a "quick shower" they would turn it on for us. We declined since the leak went right into my sisters bedroom and would soak the already smelly carpet. We did have another shower to use but with 6 people it was a challenge. The next thing that fell apart was the dishwasher! Again we were invited to bring our dirty dishes to the owners condo to wash them. Well my idea of a vacation is not hauling dishes around an apartment complex!!
The owners had a quick fix to every problem we had.
The rental is advertised as quiet updated condo. The kitchen has dull knives and old teflon frying pans with the teflon pealing off. The cutting boards were old and so scratched up we had to sanitize them before we used them. The appliances are old and stained and dirty.
The screen door to the master bedroom fell off the first day we were there. My nephew put it back on and we never used that door again. It was mentioned in a previous review of the place that the screen had trouble back in 2017! The owners said it had been replaced last year. REALLY???
The screen on the window in the bathroom blew off and blew a ton of dirt into our shower.
All the beach equipment is old and rusty and falling apart.
The whole relaxing vacation turned into me calling the owners almost daily to get them to fix something. The dirty carpets and filthy grout in the bathrooms were really a turn off for us.
This place needs a deep cleaning. The cupboards need to be cleaned they are all sticky.
Due to all the trouble we had I asked for a late check out on the day of our departure. That was turned down. I asked for a days refund of $450 but they offered $250 or a free night next year. Needless to say we will not be back.
Please be careful when you look at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This condo is dated and filthy! Stay away from this place! It is over priced .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dparm wrote a review Dec 2023
20 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Unit 326 Banyon Tower from November 5-27. Unfortunately our stay was very disappointing. The cleanliness of the unit was unacceptable. From dirty floors, dirty tissues and bandaids left on the floors and uncleaned shower and shower doors.The front door is not sealed. Daylight (&critters) can enter from all sides , not very safe! Glass dinning table is not attached to base so be careful! The chairs are on rollers which is somewhat hazardous.Fridge will freeze your food. The fridge is not the same as seen in rental photos. The sink and garbage disposal smell. Oven door handle fell off as did the towel bar in main bath. The outdoor furniture is very dated , tables chipped and not comfortable. We have visited the island numerous times and this by far is the worst condo we have ever rented. Be aware that there are repair’s happening to the outdoor floors. We had construction the entire stay. Although this is an older complex, the grounds are well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mikie12 wrote a review Oct 2023
Tucson, Arizona432 contributions250 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rented from Paul Banyon Tower 228 through ABandB for 7 nights, October 10-17. Unfortunately the owner of this unit just didn’t bother mentioning that there was construction noise going on. It started at 8am the morning after we arrived , jackhammers, hammering, etc. I contacted the owner, and basically he said “I don’t know” so I asked one of the construction workers what was going on…”we are tearing out all the tile floors and replacing them in the building. It will last a month. OH..and then the construction worker went on to say “he didn’t tell you”. Thats right, he never mentioned this project that all home owners are notified about. Now Paul could have said “I am so sorry”, however he just said we could leave. I made another reservation at a nice hotel. Then I find out this guy is holding over $500 of our money.

The place was okay, but not stellar. Spots on the carpet, hair in the sinks, patio furniture needed to be replaced..very bad condition. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melissa wrote a review Jun 2021
Choctaw, Oklahoma13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is horrible. The pictures that are posted are deceiving. They look nice and very updated but in actuality this place hasn’t been updated since the 70s. We were put on the third floor with stairs and the elevator was broken. We both are disabled and they had nothing else. The bed is dated back at least twenty years. Mattress very hard. No air, very hot. No cooking pans, no dishes. Limited towels, no tv. Shower was very hard to get into. No handicapped parking . Huge cockroaches. Awful awful awful. All lies. Would have given it a zero but that wasn’t an option.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick wrote a review Jun 2021
Henderson, Nevada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our condo at Waikoloa Shores. Possibly the best VRBO we have ever had! 322 had everything we could have wanted. Quiet, great views, comfortable furniture, fully stocked kitchen, and balcony supreme. Did we mention A-1 parking spot?

Thanks to Peggy with Waikoloa Realty. Peggy was with us throughout our process. We had multiple COVID-19 related changes. We had a seamless transition throughout!

Nick and Lori
Henderson, NV
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington20 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived it was clear the unit had not been cleaned. My daughter ended up getting lice from the bed, and was bit multiple times by something overnight. The floors were dirty and clearly not vacuumed. Showers weren’t cleaned. Hawaii was beautiful, but will definitely stay somewhere else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny T, Manager at Shores at Waikoloa
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Aloha Thank you for sharing your review with us. We believe that these are important items that you have brought up and wish we were made aware to be able to help look into all of it for you. If you wish to share more information about your stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We appreciate you taking time to post about our property and hope that you can give us another chance. Mahalo, Jenny Tolentino Assistant General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali H wrote a review Dec 2021
Berkeley, California3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took wasabi tours while staying at the big island. The tour was great and covered almost all natural attractions of the island. Our tour guide Robert was awesome, a great tour guide with an amazing humor. we really enjoyed the tour and encourage everyone looking for a day tour take the tour.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure to be ready for all kind of weathers, we got rained out pretty badly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne W asked a question Mar 2022
Hilo, Hawaii
Is pet allowed
neyugnanit asked a question Jan 2019
San Jose, California22 contributions
Is there a cleaning fee?
Answer from Jenny T
I apologize for this delay. Still getting used to the new features on here. Yes, there is a one-time departure cleaning fee according to the room size. One bedroom $95, Two bedroom $150, Two bedroom villa $175, Three Bedroom $195.
Answer from mimi565
Regina, Canada23 contributions13 helpful votes
The condo we stayed in had some supplies for us for the first couple days - toilet paper, hand soap, dishwasher tablets, and dish soap. It stated that in the information package they sent us once we booked. But I have stayed in Condos on Maui where there has been nothing. It is best to ask the question before booking if it is important to you.
Tavia M asked a question Jan 2017
Spring, Texas
How far is the Beach from the Hotel?
Answer from Jenny T
The nearest beach, Anaeho'omalu Bay, is about a 2-minute drive or a 20-minute walk.
Answer from Jenny T
Aloha Mariea, Yes there are several beaches that do not have strong undertows here on the Big Island. You will want to visit the front desk to get more information and driving directions. We do not have umbrellas or chairs to rent, but some guests leave behind those items that they may have purchased on their trips and leave it with us so if there are any available then we lend these out at no cost. There is a kiosk on the beach in this resort that you could rent these items from if you wish although the cost to purchase these from a Walmart may be a lot cheaper. We look forward to hosting your stay! Please let us know if you have any other questions. Mahalo, Jenny Tolentino Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Tour323357 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Shores turned out to be Grand Hotel, the whole reservation was a fraud!"
Read full review
DDDFJD wrote a tip Apr 2023
Carmel, Indiana, USA731 contributions214 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool chairs go quickly, especially for those who take a lounger PLUS a table & more chairs for later arriving guests"
Read full review
Kathy M wrote a tip Feb 2023
Minnesota22 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This condo is dated and filthy! Stay away from this place! It is over priced ."
Read full review
Ali H wrote a tip Dec 2021
Berkeley, California3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to be ready for all kind of weathers, we got rained out pretty badly."
Read full review
Lon C wrote a tip Mar 2018
Round Rock, Texas42 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a view of the mountains."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waikoloa area.
PRICE RANGE
S$1,124 - S$1,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aston shores at waikoloa hotel waikoloa, resortquest shores waikoloa, shores waikoloa, waikoloa shores
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ResortQuest Shores at Waikoloa
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastWaikoloa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHORES AT WAIKOLOA: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 244 Photos (HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shores at Waikoloa
Which popular attractions are close to Shores at Waikoloa?
Nearby attractions include 49 Black Sand Beach (1.2 km), Anaehoomalu (1.0 km), and Queens' Market Place (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shores at Waikoloa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Shores at Waikoloa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Shores at Waikoloa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shores at Waikoloa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Island Gourmet Markets, Lava Lava Beach Club, and Kamuela Provision Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shores at Waikoloa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shores at Waikoloa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Shores at Waikoloa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (4.4 km).
Is Shores at Waikoloa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Waikoloa HotelsWaikoloa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Waikoloa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire