We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Expedia.comUS$149*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

This resort was a pleasant suprise. Clean, open plan with a comfy bed, not much more wanted! The view from the balcony (Lei Wing) looked out over the pool with a corner view of the beach and the wing offerrd direct access to the beach. The only negative is the refrigerated aircon. Just gets colder all night with a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lou B
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Lou! We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and beautiful views! We appreciate your feedback regarding your air condition and we will be sure to share it with our team as we are always striving to improve the guest experience. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to...

northridge
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

First of all I want to say we stayed here for one night and for free. We booked this place because we were landing really late and didn't want to drive on a strange island in the middle of the night. The hotel looked like an old apartment building. The lobby looked nice. The people were wonderful and kind. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hxa0063
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear you were warmly welcomed and received excellent service form our friendly and helpful staff. We are disappointed to learn about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. Your valuable feedback regarding our accommodations, landscaping and pool area is greatly appreciated and we...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Older hotel getting upgraded. Great beach bar! Bathroom had tiny sink area and it was hard to regulate water temperature in shower. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We were working on clearing property for sale so leisure time was limited. Took a drive last day to what is known as Hawaiian Grand Canyon. While not far mileage wise it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindaMac4143
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful spot, hotel right on the beach! We had breakfast on the beach every day. They offer free wifi and yoga and bycicle rentals! Was an excellent experience. The rooms were average, unfortunately lacked some cleanliness overall. We had a power outage one evening but was back on within an hour. Overall a beautiful experience for the traveller...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine M
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 6 April 2017

My wife and I stayed here in November 2016 in a room sold as "Ocean View". The room is set well back from the beach and is looking at it between 2 buildings. With a compass, I measured the angle of the ocean part of the view as being all of 14 degrees wide. We didn't see how any honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanmin
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Alan! Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful dining experience. We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with ocean view of your room, and are glad that the photos on our website accurately depict the ocean view. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you for an improved experience in the...

Aiea, Hawaii
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We were visiting from Oahu overnight to attend a wedding near Princeville. I shopped around for what I thought was the best balance between price, location and reviews. This is beach hotel, meaning the hotel property fronts the beach although the buildings with the guest rooms are more set back from the beach. There seemed to be adequate parking, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaka_Frank
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Frank! We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and that you received exceptional service from our incredible staff! We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to discuss it with our leadership team so that we can offer an improved experience...

Honolulu, HI
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I was travelling on the State's dime, so I had to pick a hotel that was reasonably priced. I loved this place. The location was perfect. It's an older, small hotel...very quaint. The rooms were large and clean. The water pressure in the shower was weak and the sink in the bathroom is rather cramped. The staff was friendly. They...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kimcheeboy
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are thrilled you had a wonderful experience and that we exceeded your expectations! We are pleased to know you enjoyed our ideal location, quiet and spacious accommodations, wonderful amenities and that you received exceptional service from our friendly staff! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so happy to hear you would return...

Denver
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This 2-story older hotel/motel has been refurbished with bright rooms and nice touches. Tiny bathrooms but adequate. Service especially at the front desk was excellent. Walk able to some restaurants and gifts shops. Beach very steep and not really good for swimming, however, to the right of the hotel's beach is another which is really nice. All beaches in Hawaii...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AandBDenver
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our renovated accommodations, ideal location and received exceptional service from our friendly and helpful staff. Your feedback regarding breakfast is also appreciated as we are always striving to improve our guests' experience. Thank you for sharing, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

West Pennant Hills, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This hotel is extremely well situated -close to airport, near Kapaa town and on the beach. It's an older style hotel but the staff are oh so helpful, the Lava Beach Club has always got music or something going on & the restaurant is very affordable. The many young staff around the place give it a youthful exuberance with makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zenonSydney
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha! We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed our ideal location, wonderful atmosphere and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff! Thank you very much for taking a moment to share the details of your stay that made it so memorable. It was a pleasure to have...

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

This has been the 2nd time since 2014 that we stayed here and the KS continues to improve the rooms, service and overall atmosphere. After arriving late our first night, the front desk was extremely helpful and checking us in and allowing us to park right up front near the lobby. Our room was very clean and there were fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark D
AA H, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Mark and thank you for sharing your lovely review. We are delighted you returned for another stay, and that your experience continues to get better each time. We are delighted to hear you were warmly welcomed by our friendly staff and that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations, ideal location, fabulous amenities and our newest addition the Lava...

554 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (167)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Double Room (42)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Room (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (22)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
746 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy renovated accommodations at our beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover an array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Wailua River kayaking, Wailua Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kapaa town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools included. Bicycle rental amenity is included with your hospitality fee. Join us for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner at our new restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club - a true "Toes in the Sand" dining experience right on the beachfront. For your convenience, our sundry is open 7 AM to 11 PM daily. Contemporary guest room accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including in-room coffee, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, luggage service (no overnight storage) and self-parking. Thank you for your patience while we renovate our main pool. Renovations will begin on 4/3/17 and completed by 5/16/17. The back pool will be open for use during this time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1449
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: $223 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Chandler
6 months ago
over a year ago
Santa Barbara
2 months ago
Albany, Oregon
5 months ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“CALL the hotel direct to make sure you're getting everything you're expecting.”
lostonpolk, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Some ground rooms have the door facing outside. None have a serous Ocean View, even though it is an ocean front property.”
  • View from
Alanmin, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ocean view or courtyard facing rooms”
honolulugrl, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We really like a first floor room facing the gardens. All rooms have patios.”
Buffie1314, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spring for the deluxe pool view rooms, you won't be disappointed.”
  • First sunrise from our room
enomical, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$149* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$241
TravelocityUS$149
Booking.comUS$149
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates