We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Islander On The Beach

Save
Share
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!10% Off Your Stay!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1461)
360
Panoramas (13)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Aston Islander On The Beach
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Kapaa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Video game console
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:10% Off Your Stay!
1992Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 762
  • 796
  • 286
  • 89
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hy3mie wrote a review 21 Jul
Seattle, WA1 contribution
This property is great! As other reviews have noted, this is a "condo-hotel": some units are rented through Aston and others are rented privately, mostly through KrellersGetaway.com. If you can get unit #324 DO IT! It is owned by someone who has lived on Kauai for over 20 years and is a wealth of information. The unit has a giant king-sized bed and a 65" TV to match, a huge fridge, a nice desk, oh and the best bathroom in the complex. The hot tub is great, and although there is not a good swimming beach, you can certainly swim off off the property if you want to. Or just walk 15 minutes to Lydgate Beach. The best part of Islander on the Beach is that there is a grocery store w/deli RIGHT THERE, as well as several restaurants (Italian, Thai, Chicken in a Barrel, etc.) so you do not have to get into a car to do anything. Also the public bus stops right on the property! It only runs once an hour, but how cool to take a bus up to Hanalei? Aloha!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No elevator so choose a ground-floor room if that is important. The best views are obviously the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha Hy3mie! Mahalo for your 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope your travels bring you back to Kauai one day soon!
Read more
Karen J wrote a review 20 Jul
Colorado Springs, Colorado261 contributions55 helpful votes
Aston Islander on the Beach is located at the south end of Kapaa on the side near Lihue. There is "traffic," but not like mainland traffic. Everyone should "zipper," meaning that every other car goes so that all of the merging lines go smoothly. No one's fighting, cutting people off, or flipping them off. If everyone plays the game, the traffic is slow, but ... you don't have to go far! As for the air conditioning, it was lovely. I did have to look on YouTube at the Fujitsu remote control instructions, but I've got it now, which is good since I stayed in 2 other places this trip and they had the same remote. Thank you, Jason Richard, for your awesome instructional video! I was a bit surprised that the front desk closed at 7 pm on weekdays and 5 pm on weekends! Luckily, I had my cell phone and called security who told me to knock on the door next to the front desk (no answer). Another guy knocked on the door next to the front desk (no answer). Security showed up and got me the keys to the room and I checked out the following morning. Included with my hotel room was two tickets for coffee at Imua Coffee Roasters. I gifted them to nice people, because I don't drink coffee. I was happy that I had a refrigerator, but I was a little surprised that there wasn't a microwave. I didn't use any of the "resort fee" DVDs, games, etc. I was disappointed that there are only 2 ice machines on the property and only 1 was working ... the working one wasn't on the half of the property where I was staying. I enjoyed seeing the cat. I enjoyed that there was a lanai in the back of the room to just sit and enjoy the views. I didn't enjoy that mosquitoes think that I'm delicious. I enjoyed a morning walk on the beach which I had almost to myself for the sunrise. I stayed in room 155 and couldn't reach any of the Pokestops. I later stayed in 165 and could reach one Pokestop. 165 was through Vacasa, a vacation rental company which I can't quite recommend since they couldn't run my credit card (twice) and I arrived in the rain to no key, a cold shower, and a non-working hair dryer. Vacasa's SNAFUs are absolutely not the fault of Aston Islander on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha 719KarenJ! Mahalo for your review! The Aston front desk is now open later every day to service our guests. Thank you for your patience as we were working hard to get reopened and ready to welcome guests back to our island and our property. The Aston rooms are all equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. We will work on the Pokestops for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon!
Read more
Jennifer S wrote a review 16 Jul
38 contributions87 helpful votes
We are not "resort" people so the IOB was just our speed. Attractive grounds, comfortable though small rooms, RIGHT on the water. We swam most mornings. We did not use the pool and grills but that area looked very nicely kept. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace is a big perk. I would certainly return to this area and this property. The staff was very friendly, although the limited desk hours were inconvenient a few times. Thank you, Rachel, for being so nice on the phone and in person. (I gave four stars because of the limited desk hours.) Our family of four was cramped in the room. We had intended to book two rooms, one for the parents and one for the teenagers, but somehow ended up with only one. I can't say that that wasn't my mistake and if I had read my confirmation carefully I would have noticed it before it was too late to add a room. Oh well!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha jennifersK181OFY! Mahalo for staying with us at Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to post a review. So happy to hear we were just your speed and that you would return to our property. We enjoy meeting our guests and having the opportunity to welcome them back again and again. Special thanks for mentioning Rachel~ she works very hard to take care of our guests and is always friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your comments with her. Mahalo!
Read more
pvaultingirl wrote a review 14 Jul
Stafford, Virginia34 contributions11 helpful votes
the beach isn't ideal for swimming since there's barely any beach but this hotel is in a great location and its clean and quiet. Really nice hotel. But if your packing a lot of bags, be aware that theres no elevators so you'll be lugging those bags up steps if your on an upper level.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha pvaultingirl! Mahalo for your 5 star review of your stay with us at Aston Islander on the Beach! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon! A hui hou... until we meet again!
Read more
ireeemyuksel wrote a review 14 Jul
San Francisco, California6 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is in a central location. You can walk to ABC stores in Coconut marketplace which has great premade food selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Beach is not so safe to swim. Room has a kitchenette, no cooktop though, you can only microwave food. The furniture in our room was very old, the dresser has a horrible smell, which made all of our tshirts super smelly. The chairs in the balcony were literally falling apart. The bathtub didn’t properly drain. Overall a nice location but rooms need a lot of maintenance to be worth the money you are spending to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha ireeemyuksel! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and share your feedback with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful central location with the array of options for dining and shopping just steps away. I am not sure if the items you mentioned were reported during your stay as we would have loved an opportunity to address them while you were here. This is the first time I have heard about a smell in the dressers but I will share your comments with our facilities manager so that we can address this as well as any lanai furniture needing attention. Mahalo for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. Aloha,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$185 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aston islander on the beach hotel kapaa, aston hotel kapaa, best western kapaa, resortquest islander beach kauai, islander beach kauai
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiKauaiKapaa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aston Islander On The Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Aston Islander On The Beach?
Nearby attractions include Coconut Marketplace (0.1 km), The Queens Jewels (0.03 km), and Lae Nani Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aston Islander On The Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hukilau Lanai, Imua Coffee Roasters, and Sleeping Giant Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aston Islander On The Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Aston Islander On The Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kapaia Suspension Bridge (7.8 km), Poli'ahu Heiau (3.8 km), and Hikinaakala Heiau (1.4 km).
Does Aston Islander On The Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Aston Islander On The Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.