We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aston Islander on the Beach

Show Prices
#2 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Aston Islander on the Beach
Aston Islander on the Beach
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,482: English reviews
orange county, ca
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Basically am very particular when it comes to cleanliness. So im reviewing it based on my best judgement . I had read the trip advisor's reviews before booking this hotel. It was average but we decided to book this place and we were glad we got a pretty decend room. Bathroom, toilet bowl, bathtub was very very clean. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rkv_11
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

Aloha, It's always wonderful to hear from our guests. We will certainly share your review with our front desk, housekeeping and maintenance teams. The units were renovated in 2004 and it is time for some refurbishments. We have been working on replacing air conditioners, mattresses and Televisions to flat panel, mounted on the wall. From you review, we will look...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a week booked at the Kauai Beach Villas and after 3 disappointing nights, got online and looked for a place to move. So happy we found the Astron Islander on the Beach - great value. We stayed in an ocean front room (highly recommended) with a lovely patio just steps from the ocean. The room was extremely clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodie E
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review. We love hearing from our guests and with every review look to make improvements to our services to everyone. Pool towels - yes, they seem to have legs and keep walking away. We continue to order more and unfortunately, our last order was delayed at the factory. They will be arriving soon....

Manhattan
Reviewed 16 August 2011

There are so many things right about this property ... it's on a beautiful beach, it's a great value, it's well located but the bad overwhelms the considerable good. Parking is horrible and the front desk and bar staff are anything but hospitable. The only nice staff member we met was a housekeeper sweeping the walk. She should teach the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greglando
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear that our staff showed no hospitality to you, both at the front desk and at the pool bar. We have gone through "gracious hospitality" training and will do it again to reiterate that we are in the "hospitality" industry and you are our guests. We will be...

Townsend, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I am so insulted at how we were just treated at this hotel. We were happy with the room, although the staff wasn't as friendly as everyone else we dealt with our whole week in Hawaii. However, we just went out for dinner and came back to the hotel at around 10 (not that late when you're on vacation) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryllee63
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

We can fully understand your Trip Advisor review.. When you are on vacation, you want to be away from hastles and having to get up early in the morning - to move your car. Security is here to assist everyone,including helping with parking. They try their best to be sure that you have somewhere to park. Unfortunately, we have very...

kranenburg germany
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent 6 nights in this hotel and it was not what we expected. The reception was under construction, there was no restaurant. The swimming poolwater was green and the pool closed two days. The towels were after nine o clock in the morning available not earlier. The check in time was three in the afternoon and very late. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franc s
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for not responding to your Trip Adviors. I send to you my deepest apologies for all the unpleasant experiences you encountered while staying with us. A year or so ago, a tour but hit our entrance canopy and the rebuild finally took place. It's most unfortunate that you were here during that time. It took a bit...

Waimea, HI
Reviewed 12 August 2011

After arriving at the hotel that we were originally booked in, I refused to even check in. It was that horrible. So we drove down the street, spotted the Islander and went inside. The Lobby was under construction so I was a bit suspect at first but Sue at the front desk was so nice, so helpful. She booked us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShockedC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently stayed for eight nights at Islander on the Beach condo 250. It was awesome!! It was exactly as promised in the description and photos if not better. The lanai overlooks the ocean so you can fall asleep to the sound of the waves every night. Everything in the condo was new, clean and exactly as promised. We loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torontonians_11
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 7 August 2011

When we first checked in we were a little disappointed with our oceanview room. It was a pretty small room, with only 1 night table - no full length mirror, the furnishings were a little outdated and it had cold tile floors - very different from the Maui condo we just came from. However, we soon realized that Kuaui is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixblue50
piemonte
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for four days during our honeymoon. The Aston Islander on the Beach is a nice hotel in the lovely "Coconut Beach". They have clean and tidy rooms, close to the seaside (you can take your bath or sunbathing directly from the other garden). A nice base for visiting Kauai. I would Suggest this hotel for families as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msereno1970
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

Congratulations! It is always a pleasure to welcome Honeymooners to Islander on the Beach. Being in the center of the island, makes it convenient to travel either North to Hanalei or South to Poipu. We hope you had a chance to snorkel, paddle board or just lay on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary....

Riverside, CA
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here at the end of July 2011. We loved the property. The room was great, even had a radio. We had a partial view and it was awesome. The check in staff were wonderful. The manager was great too. I would recommend staying here. The one reason why I had to give this place three stars was one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JeremyRiverside_CA
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your review. I am so sorry for the rudeness of the guest service agent. I assure you that this will not go without a reprimand as it is not an acceptable behavior. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai and please do not hesitate to call me directly with any...

1,447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (265)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (168)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (360)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Garden View Room (41)
Viewed
Ground Oceanview Room (41)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (38)
Viewed
Partial Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on a stunning oceanfront location, Aston Islander on the Beach offers true island hospitality with warm service and convenient amenities. Contemporary tropical-inspired guest rooms include air-conditioning and private balconies. Sitting on six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, Aston Islander on the Beach features a sparkling pool with a poolside bar, lush gardens for strolling, and a beautiful beachfront location - popular for viewing Hawaiian monk seals. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. It's impressive oceanfront and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Please note: The hotel collects a daily amenity fee which includes DVD movies and Playstation 3 game rentals, Airport Shuttle service (must call hotel direct at least 24-72 hours in advance to make arrangements), a refreshing welcome drink per guest, daily newspaper, daily coffee and tea, in-room safe, WiFi internet, and local & toll-free calls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: $249 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aston Islander on the Beach staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
Hesperia, California
El Cerrito, California

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Islander on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the second or third floor for a view and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles G8196UOsusans, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd or third floor ocean view....can't beat!! Walking path between hotel & ocean so top floors offer more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Lakeeffectfamily, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front are best; ocean view would be a good second choice.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerSF, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get one of the beach facing rooms!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles couplessPS, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had "garden" view room, but they were nice to put us out the outside so we could still see the beach from our room.”
 of 5 bubbles 72daciab, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay