We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Makai Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Makai Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Makai Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This place is really sweet... quiet, comfortable, large accommodations, great amenities for timeshares. If you plan on staying on north shore, this is a great location. It's only about 10 minutes from Hanalei, a bit far from south shore if you have activities planned down there. Highlights: 1. Large accommodations, updated looking kitchen, 2. Beautiful grounds and location, 3. bike...

3Thank Thtrebuf1
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Thtrebuf1. We like to provide the kind of service that will keep you coming back again and again, so we certainly appreciate your thoughtful words. Thank you once again - please allow us to serve you sometime soon!

Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My husband and I spent Christmas 2016 and 2017 New Years in Kauia - our first trip to Hawaii, and had an incredible cottage at Makai Club - it was huge, well appointed, clean and surrounded by lush, tropical greenery. We hadn't thought we'd spend much time at the cottage, but it was so comfortable, it was a welcome respite...

3Thank kenandlin669
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Kenandlin669. Thank you for your great score of a perfect 5.0 and your wonderful review. We're grateful for your thoughtful words about our team We'd love to see you again!

Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay for the week! More than enough room and very well kept! We did not expect to spend time in our cottage on our first trip to Hawaii but we found the cottage was so awesome we spent more time there.

Thank kdgc12
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you for taking time out to share this delightful review. All of your comments are appreciated. Our warm and friendly team awaits your next visit.

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017

2nd trip to Kauai so we kinda' knew the "lay of the land" so to speak. Got a pleasant surprise when we found out and booked at Makai Club. Experience from start to finish was excellent. Email responses were fast and accurate. Staff was super friendly, especially the office personnel. Unit was clean, well kept up, and we had a...

Thank howster44
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Howster44, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with Makai Club Resort. We will be sure to share your review with our passionate associates; they will thoroughly enjoy reading your kind words. We hope to see you here again soon!

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Our experience here was disappointing. We were lured in by the seemingly terrific advertised price and location. The value seemed great...online. But, upon arrival we quickly found the combination of the mediocre facilities, undelivered services, and the disinterested off-island management, leaving us sorely disappointed. With so many wonderful options nearby, we will not return here.

3Thank CarolineH298
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Carolineh298. We're very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We never want our guests to leave feeling disappointed. Please feel comfortable reaching out to Wilbert Tai Hook at wtaihook@gpresorts.com with any additional comments or questions. He would like to help in any way he can.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This condo unit served our needs to a tee. We don't like to eat out every meal, so we cooked in the unit for breakfast and lunch, usually went into town for dinner. close to everything we wanted to do, beaches, town, hiking etc.

Thank golffreak2016
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The place was awesome, the people amazing and the views were spectacular. Air condition worked great, kitchen was stocked to perfection and they also provide detergent for the clothes washer. Would love to go back and would definitely stay here again.

Thank w4d3j3r2
Orange County, CA
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Makai Club is a timeshare with vacation rental management. The unit we stayed in was quite nice with updated interior. Kitchen is well appointed and it includes a laundry in the bathroom. Air conditioning in the 1br units only. Bed is comfortable. Everything is super clean. Everyone at the front desk was helpful and courteous. The only downside is that...

1Thank scphil21
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Came here for one night only. To my surprise husband called ahead to ask for floral arrangment purchase to surprise me for our 3rd wedding anniversary. They instead, at no charge to him, had a beautiful tropical floral centerpiece, thoughtful cars and box of Mac nut chocolate in the room when we arrived. I'd say that is above and beyond...

1Thank Grace L
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Thank you, Grace, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Delivering excellent service is our utmost priority and we are thankful that you have experienced it. We'd be thrilled to have you back again soon!

West Sedona, Arizona
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I have visited Kauai often since the late 1960's which means I have seen a lot of change on the island. First visited Makai Club Cottages in about 1996 and fell in love with the style and the laid back charm. It has gone through many changes over the years under different managements (mismanagements? indifferent managements?) It is a cottage-style...

1Thank Jetsmama

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (120)
Room/Suite (39)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
View from Room (7)
Bathroom (10)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Dining (5)
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (12)
Dining (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.8 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
27.6 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,181 reviews
37.6 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.9 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,663 reviews
1.3 km away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure.Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makai Club

Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Price Range: $269 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makai Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makai Club staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Belvidere, New Jersey
5 months ago
San Diego, California
3 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Makai Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the accommodations are good.”
 of 5 bubbles RosalieNewton, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we stayed inthe condos - rooms are on 1 of 3 levels - need to be able to use stairs”
 of 5 bubbles SeaSpence, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cottages on the golf course have a nice view and the course is not busy so its not disturbing.”
 of 5 bubbles ChopperHackit, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms either looking at the golf course or at the back of Napali Coast have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles MarianneBachus, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the pool... if you can request one overlooking the golf course, you might prefer this.”
 of 5 bubbles Thtrebuf1, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5