We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Palms at Wailea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palms at Wailea
Palms at Wailea
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palms at Wailea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely grounds, good amenities, very well maintained. Condo's are spacious with especially generous patios--literally, outdoor living rooms. Ocean views (and whale spotting!) from many. Walking distance to the best beaches and fine dining restaurants like Manou's and the Ka'ana Kitchen At the Andaz.

Thank UnrepentantFoodie
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha to our Foodie friend. Thank you for letting readers know that you enjoyed your time here at the Palms of Wailea by Outrigger. Guests do enjoy the layout of our condos as we often hear guests reflect on how comfortable and relaxing it s here. Mahalo for taking the time to provide your review. Matt.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Used the gps to locate the resort but it kept bringing us to a shopping mall. Called the resort and the person was very helpful in quickly sending security to meet us & bring us to the after hours check-in location. We had 25 steps to access the unit (1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen & dining area, washer/dryer...

1Thank Juanna C
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Jaunna. Mahalo for taking the time to proved valuable information about our property as readers will appreciate all of your helpful tips. Our property works out well for guest who appreciate being able to save a lot of money by taking care of themselves with use of the full kitchen, washer/dryer and bbq's. Additionally, your observation about Foodland's Makai...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I wish I had read all reviews but I didn't & was very disappointed. First of all yes, some are very run down & horrible housekeeping !!! Especially when there charging you over $250 for a cleaning fee on top of your nightly rate. One thing not stated prior to stay but informed after check in is that they have...

4Thank John2064
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha John. Although spoken with a little more energy than is necessary, we pleased that you are pointing out some important considerations when staying at the Palms of Wailea. First of all, readers should know that it is becoming common for there to be a cleaning fee for Vacation Rental properties and this policy has been in place for a...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our rental unit is one of many in The Palms close to the beach(6 minute walk away) and there is a small pool as part of the property. A grocery run into Kihei only takes a 10 mins. drive at best. Overall a good price for the size of the place but air conditioning is only in the master bedroom....

Thank Robert C
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Robert. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. However, it sounds like you might have not rented an Outrigger condo as all of our units have bbq's on the lanai. Sorry to hear about the maintenance concern. Please make sure to let the management company know so that they can attend to it. Mahalo. Matt

Minnesota, USA
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Based on other reviews on TA, I was concerned but our experience was quite positive. Our condo was a very nice, very spacious 2 bedroom 2 bath. We had both a mountain and ocean view from the lanai. Beach chairs and some toys provided. Beach towels available at front desk. Unit has enough supplies (soap, shampoo, detergent, etc) to get...

Thank Traveler98765
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha. I am pleased that you gave us a chance and affirmed in hearing that you were 'very happy' with your time here. Reviews are important part of the industry and we need to embrace them. My believe (and experience being here for 12 years now) its that a majority of the people are pleased with their time here (but...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We have rented a condo here two different times and have really enjoyed both stays. Just a couple of minutes walking down the hill and you are on the beach. Nice sand and areas to snorkel. We recommend the two bedroom units that are around 1,200 sq feet. Tip: try to get top floor facing the ocean. Building 12 is...

1Thank Keith M
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Keith. Mahalo for taking the time to provide a nice comparison/contrast with some of the attributes of our property. One of the dynamics of renting condos is that typically they are all different in location, style, floor plan and décor. What we have found is that what works for some, might not work for others. The good news is...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed at the Palms at Wailea for one week, booked through Costco Vacations. Our Garden Deluxe unit was in a great location, away from any road noise (about halfway down the green space "garden"). The "pros" side of our stay; all staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient. The grounds are absolutely beautiful! The garden down the middle...

3Thank MrsRW101
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha from the Palms at Wailea by Outrigger. Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review of the unit that you were in and of our property. We appreciate both your 'pros' and 'cons' as each are important in helping us live up to our potential. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed you stay with us...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Just back from a very nice 10 day stay at The Palms at Wailea. Booked through Westjet vacations with a air package so not sure of their rates but I paid $3200 for 2 with air for 10 nights. Comparably Air Canada and Costco were $4700. (Costco included a rental car for this price, about a $350 value) As with...

1Thank pauljames403
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Paul and Mahalo for providing a very comprehensive review. Too add to your review, I would like to make a couple of points of clarification. Outrigger Hotels (we) are a management company here and have 60 condos in our inventory. Although we own the Front Desk here, we are here for Outrigger owners and guests.... to that degree we...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Clean place. Enough room for a family vacation. No fitness center. Very friendly hosts. Beach is very close. If you are fit you don't even need a car to get there. Fast Internet and Cable TV all over the place. If you are lucky (appartment numbers 20xx) you can see the sunset in the evening hours.

1Thank Lars S
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Lars and Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review of our property. Readers will appreciate seeing your comments which is a quick summary of who we are. Mahalo for your kind words. Matt

San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Just stayed at the palms, number 703. The 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo was very nice. While one could quibble with the older cabinets, it was clean with relatedly new appliances, had plenty of space (everyone could spread out), had a nice grill on the patio, AC (from the bedroom) kept the place cool. Although, the pool at the...

Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Richard and Mahalo for your kind words. We are always pleased to hear when guests are happy with their time spent at our special property. Readers will appreciate all of the amenities that you noted and we like knowing that they are important components for an enjoyable vacation. Mahalo for taking time to provide your comments. Matt Swartz

731 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (172)
Room/Suite (38)
View from Room (19)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (550)
One Bedroom Garden Villa Deluxe (166)
Pool (52)
The Hotel (70)
Two Bedroom Garden Villa (102)
Two Bedroom Garden Villa Deluxe (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,052 reviews
36.8 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: $260 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palms at Wailea staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
Awliscombe, United Kingdom
Sherwood Park, Canada
3 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Palms at Wailea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Condo #606 was MOSTLY road view, noise was unbearable. Busy Intersection with honking, screeching, bus fumes, motorcycles racing, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles bobkuchmaent, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“garden view. 1702 is one , on the road but is upstairs and 30 yards from road. Never noise. Matt can direct you.”
 of 5 bubbles alertwatcher, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would suggest asking for a condo as far from the road as possible. Also one with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles lms973, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the Ocean View upgrade to avoid road noise”
 of 5 bubbles colinmI3005YS, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request second floor close to reception, facing the ocean. For 2 bedroom condo, request AC in living room. #806 is really good.”
  • Second bedroom (bathroom not shown)
  • View from balcony of #806
  • Large living room area.
  • Master bedroom and bathroom.
  • Second shot of living room area.
  • Another shot across room of kitchen.
  • Kitchen w modern amenities.
  • Size of balcony is large.
 of 5 bubbles JSAATY, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5