We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kahana Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kahana Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
Start your review of Kahana Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a studio unit at the Kahana Beach Resort while we were in Maui last month. We did a RCI exchange with some Hilton points. Based on the resort description and pictures from the internet, we went there with a somewhat low expectation thinking this is probably just another dated place like the ones we stayed before. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Anne! Thank you for visiting Kahana Beach and taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are pleased we exceeded your expectations. As you discovered, our beachfront resort offers breathtaking ocean views and spectacular sunsets that are truly marvels to behold. Throw in some dolphins and a few turtles and you're likely never to forget the experience. Thanks...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

All rooms have an ocean view with a private beach. The resort amenities include the basics and the Murphy bed is not the greatest however the ocean view makes up for everything. The beach house restaurant next door at the Kahana Sands is definitely a must during your visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis H
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Travis! Thank you for visiting Kahana Beach and sharing your kind words. As you discovered, our beachfront location offers breathtaking ocean views that invite you to sit outside on your private lanai and take it all in. We're are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us again. Mahalo!

Salinas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff that work here are truly great. The check-in process was smooth and easy, the concierge services are top-notch with great deals on local attractions, and the maintenance staff are also cool. The location is nice too; you're right on the beach with easy access if you want to take a dip in the ocean or take a walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikegrattan
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Mike. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We wish your appraisal of our resort staff had extended to our beds. It is our pleasure to address any issues you may be experiencing while you are on resort, and we are happy to replace a substandard mattress with another that will give you a comfortable night's sleep. Thank you...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Kahana Beach Resort as RCI members. The best part of this stay was the spectacular view from our studio suite and lanai. Not sure if there would be any other place on the island where you could be this close to the water and be able to watch whales spouting, breaching, and flapping tails right from your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 155004Lovetotravel
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for choosing Kahana Beach. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. As you discovered, our beachfront location affords some of the most spectacular ocean and whale watching views on Maui. It is great to know our resort staff made a favorable impression, and we are happy you enjoyed the lei making class. Thank you once more...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We were staying at the property across the street and it didn't work out so we ended up here. Our group had to separate but the room was still much better. It overlooked the ocean. It was a great view! You can hear the ocean all night. The room we had was a studio so it was quite small -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mooki x
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, mooki! Thank you for your visit and kind words. We are happy you had an enjoyable experience and enjoyed the great view. As you discovered, it more than lives up to its reputation! As a timeshare resort, we offer one complimentary midweek cleaning to visitors staying a full seven days. We are always happy to replenish any items you...

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Studio apt. small but adequate, can cook and has full size frig. Ocean front, with lanai looking right over the water. Bill does great activities, made a lei with beautiful flowers. Also taught a quick class in Hula.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 6 February 2017

So we did love our stay here, and I would strongly recommend this place for travelers on a budget/not looking for a resort experience. The beachfront location and view from the rooms is simply unmatched in this price range. Having that said... there were -a lot- of small/minor issues with our stay that made this a 3/5 rating instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EatDoodleBugs
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and we were blown away by the view. The ocean laps the wall beneath you. The staff was very accommodating and had that sincere Aloha spirit. My grandson & his wife slept on the sofa bed and said it was the most comfortable mattress ever...that was not expected. Randy & the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue K
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Sue! Thank you for returning to Kahana Beach. As you mentioned, our oceanfront resort puts you right on the water and offers breathtaking views of the vast Pacific. It is great to know our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit, and we are pleased they contributed to your five-star experience. We truly appreciate your ownership and look forward...

Foster City, California
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This will be our 4th visit to the Kahana Beach Resort in May 2017 and we can't wait to come back as we love the location, the view, and the peacefulness of the resort. The first couple of times we had ocean view and then on our last visit we had ocean front - wowza. We had the doors open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mauica
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Mauica! Thank you so much for returning to Kahana Beach. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are delighted we keep giving you reasons to come back. We will do our very best to give you a wonderful view for your anniversary, and we look forward to seeing you in May. Mahalo!

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Awesome. Gorgeous views. Sound of crashing waves. Every time we were in our room the door was open to out deck so we could hear the ocean. It was incredible. Murphy bed is ok. I have some pretty awful back problems so by the end of the week I was feeling it but I was in paradise and wasn't ruining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
Soleil M, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Lynne! Thank you for choosing Kahana Beach. We are happy our close proximity to the ocean afforded you wonderful views and soothing sounds by which to drift off. Please accept our apologies for the mattress. We change them out on an as-needed basis and are happy to replace while you're on property so you can enjoy your stay to...

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
4.0 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
3.0 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
5.7 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $245 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kahana Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Kahana Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“most (2/3) of the rooms are ocean front, with higher floor and/or corner units, the views will be even more amazing”
144anneh144, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request upper floors, ocean facing room. Get egg crate pad for Murphy Bed.”
EatDoodleBugs, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner, higher floors are worth the elevator ride!”
Mauica, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They're all on the waterfront so it doesn't really matter!”
187lynnea, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floors to get the best views of the beach that you feel you can reach right out and touch”
Plain Susie, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5