We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stayed here because our daughter lived near by, but the studio she rents was too small to accommodate everyone for her graduation. We found this bed and breakfast and it was perfect! We had a nice private location for quality time together, yet close to our family member. And it had great parking places for guests as well, located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha Kathy, We are glad that everything worked out just right for you. You reflect the sentiments of the hundreds of guest who stay here and never write a review. The comments in our guest books do not get published, so no one sees those. I so appreciate you taking the time to represent them and that your stay here...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

I booked the B&B because of the location and good reviews. We stayed 4 nights in the Studio in june this year and there some good points about this place: the owner was helpful to meet our requests. the location was great 5 min walk to Lanikai beach - Voted one of the best in the world. ( but you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fayliu
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feed back. I am sorry that you did not discuss these issues with us while you were here. I did explain prior to your arrival that the only unit that was available was the unit with the king bed and you stated that it was not problem for your daughter to sleep on the...

Madison, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 April 2015

First stop of a three week trek through the islands, this was the best choice to relax, shake off the nerves of travel, and recharge. Lanikai and Kailua beaches are a short walk and are welcoming, beautiful, and among our favorites on Oahu. Janice was the perfect hostess with local knowledge and accommodation. Everything we needed was at our fingertips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

I am glad our little haven could provide the perfect hideaway you needed after your flight, Rob. We love being so close to the beautiful beaches of Oahu, and I'm happy they're some of your favorites. Providing everything my guests need is my pleasure, and I hope to be able to host you all again soon! Warmest Aloha, Janice, Owner

Hove
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is run by the most wonderful, welcoming and helpful hotelier I have ever come across, and we've done an awful lot of travelling all over the world! Janice's little piece of paradise is tucked away just a few minute's walk from the beach in the most beautiful and tranquil residential area just outside Kailua in a place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loolocks007
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Wow! Hearing that my place is one of the best places you've ever stayed in is just music to my ears -- especially since you've traveled the world! Thank you so much for all the kind words about my service, and the beautiful descriptions of the house and its surroundings. Sounds like your stay was the perfect romantic getaway, and...

Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewed 24 January 2015

This is my second stay at Hidden Hideaway. The first time I took one of the studios, and this time I took the suite, which I prefer. The suite is one large room with a sleeping area and a sitting area, a separate kitchen and bathroom. The owner is a delightful woman who fills the kitchen with pastries, drinks, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlesliek
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha, We were happy to have you return and enjoy your time here and with your family. Between your walk to Lanikai Beach and your time in the suite, it sounds like you had quite a relaxing getaway. Let us know when you want to come back and as you know the earlier you reserve your unit the more likely...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 23 December 2014

Lots of privacy and quiet! If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing location within a 5 minute walk to calm Lanikai Beach, this is a wonderful choice. My husband and I are not particular fans of standard bed and breakfasts, where you must awkwardly interact with the owners every day, (we prefer to keep to ourselves) so the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliza B
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This was our first accommodation on our round-trip. We really enjoyed the place. It is only a short 5 min walk away from Lanikai Beach, one of our favorite beach parks in the whole state. It is well-located to discover the island and especially the North Shore and Honolulu. The breakfast was not our main focus but to be honest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Mahalo, Christian! It really means a lot to hear how much you appreciated the beauty and location of my place. Sounds like you all had quite the adventure! I couldn't be happier to hear that you'll be returning next time you're on the island. Next time you are back you're like having family. Warmest Aloha, Janice

Hanalei
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I had high expectations of this place that were shattered by multiple factors. The owner had to be tracked down whenever I had a question or a need. Her responses ranged from curt to downright annoyance and meaness. She never offered us anything , such as, fresh towels ( towels sour in the tropics) or a tour of amenitities of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanneo01
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

First of all, I'm sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. I hate to hear that your expectations weren't met at my place, but I'm happy to have the opportunity to make things better around here. I apologize if I came off rude or dismissive; that certainly wasn't my intention. I aim to treat all of my guests like...

Alaska
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Our little retreat in Lanikai was a refreshing change from the usual hustle and bustle of Oahu. There are three units in a lovely home in the upscale neighborhood of Lanikai, just a few short blocks from an amazing beach. The B&B is nestled in very lush vegetation. Everything we needed for breakfast and refreshments was provided. Janice was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattiinak
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As others stated, I was completely disappointed in the breakfast. The problem is Janice charges a substantial amount of money for a barely edible continental breakfast. We had to go to breakfast every morning, because the food she stocked on Wednesday, was moldy by Thursday. She also came into our room and snooped around, but didn't bother to restock our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debie S
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

We always welcome our guests to ask us for anything that they need. Telling us after the fact, we cannot meet all of their requests in a timely manner. We also respect everyone’s privacy and are there if you need us. We need to clarify that no one goes into the units when guests are there without them present. We...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The peacock suite is larger, has a hot tub and can sleep 3, The smaller units are very comfortable for 2 adults.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladybug21212, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the left side unit with bamboo trees all around us, it was private and restful.”
 of 5 bubbles helent811, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Get the Peacock Suite”
 of 5 bubbles Ladybug21212, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Only three rooms, but you can ask to have all three linked together for large group”
 of 5 bubbles BT88, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Please avoid this place.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraat, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5