We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Offer
Free Wi-FI and parking
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
Namur, Belgium
Reviewed 15 December 2015

if you want to visit Waikiki (30'), Pearl Harbor(40'), The Polynesian Cultural Center (50'), the beatifull beaches and many more wonderfull places and want to avoid the luxurious & expensive hotels , the busy streets and crowd of Honolulu, the Papaya Paradise is a place to go ! A friendly couple , Bob & Jeanette will make their best to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michel D
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting the many beautiful sites on our island. Mahalo

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We stayed with Bob and Jeanette for 12 nights. We enjoyed every minute. Breakfast: Coffee and tea are ready every morning. There are bagels, toast, cereal and condiments if you desire. Location: Great location. Close to town and great restaurants. You can walk to the beach in about 15 minutes but we chose to drive to avoid carrying our towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Papaya Paradise. We liked the many chats and also the feed back on your favorites (places to eat and places to see), so we can tell future guests.. We were so glad you had a chance to do the many activities and attractions our beautiful island has to...

Germany
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I just need one word to describe this place - awesome! We arrived after a 22 hour trip and it just felt like coming home! The room, the pool, the garden, the lanai - everything is so beautiful! This place is very quiet and peaceful.Jeanette and Bob - Mahalo nui loa!! You are such a great couple,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel_7911
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you experience our beautiful island. We hope you will return in the near future and send us nice people like you. Mahalo

Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The owners are really sweet. It's very private and quiet and they have so much information on what to do in Kailua. It is very close to the heart of Kailua and the beach is just a 10 min. walk away! The information they have collected over the years provide so much for exploring Kailua and the small shops and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocky S
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come again. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a descriptive review of your visit at our home and hospitality. We hope your review will bring us great guests like you. Mahalo, Jeanette & Bob

Reviewed 4 August 2015

Papaya Paradise was an excellent place to stay. Bob and Jennette are very nice people who will make sure your stay is comfortable. The rooms have AC which is a big plus and also have a private bath/shower. The pool out back is also great. For breakfast Bob will make coffee and there's a limited selection of cereals and bagels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek F
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Papaya Paradise. By law we may not offer cooked items for breakfast, so we always hope our selection of cereals and bagels will be acceptable. We hope you will visit us again soon. Mahalo, Bob and Jeanette

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Just finished our trip to Hawaii where we spent 4 nights at Papaya. The hosts (Bob and Jeanette) were fantastic. They had extensive knowledge of the island and activities and gave us some great recommendations. The rooms are basic but have all the necessities including a TV and an A/C (which cooled our room down in less than 30 min)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HokieAaron88
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Papaya Paradise BnB and hope you will visit us in the future. As small as our island is, it has a great many attractions and activities. We like to help our guests enjoy as many of the places our beautiful island offers. Mahalo

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We have stayed at the Papaya Paradise several times over the last few years. It is definitely a home away from home for us. The owners are super nice and helpful, making us feel welcome and they always are taking good care of their guests. We received many helpful tips over the years on what to do and where to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bowreality
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you continue to enjoy visiting us in Kailua at our Papaya Paradise BnB. We always enjoy having past guests return for lengthy stays. We feel we are doing something right in helping guests to see our beautiful island with all the activities and attractions. Looking forward to your next visit. Mahalo

Livingston, texas
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Bob and Jeanette were great hosts. They were quite helpful when needed and left us alone to relax. Our room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable (especially with the A/C since it was quite warm & humid). Breakfast consisted of cereal, bagels, & toast & we ate on the expansive patio looking out over a well landscaped backyard with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyandjan
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We enjoyed your visit with us and was glad we could help you experience the many things to do and see on our beautiful island. I like the way you described our home. We hope you will visit us again. Mahalo

Dallas, Oregon
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Where to begin... the place was nice but thats where the charm ended. the owners were overwhelming when it came to checking in. i had hardly stepped onto the property when they were telling us rules of the property. there was no time given to explore the location on our own. the room was somewhat clean, the beds were beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmcclelland08
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

WOW.....what can I say, except, I wish you had mentioned how unhappy you were with Papaya Paradise for your 3 day stay, we would have helped you find another BnB and we would refunded your money. We want our guests to enjoy our home and our island. If you had mentioned the bed was soft.....we could have removed the toppers...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I stayed in a studio on this property and also in one across the street owned by this owner's daughter. Both were very clean, walking distance to beach and town as well as the bus route to Honolulu. The Property across the street has complete privacy and a full kitchen. Papaya has a shared kitchen space with basic breakfast elements...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zanzibar07
KailuaPapaya, Owner at Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Papaya Paradise BnB and our daughters vacation rental....2 different types of accommodations. Due to safety issues, we only offer the use of the pool during daylight hours. Mahalo and we hope you will visit us again.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
3,655 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 85 in Honolulu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hosted/licensed Bed and Breakfast home in Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii since 1987 with original owners. The 2 units can accommodate 2 people each are on the ground floor each with a private entry, private bath, AC, TV with DVD and movie library,internet access (bring your laptop) that opens onto a swimming pool with views of the Koolau mountains. One unit has a king size bed, the other unit has a queen size bed and single bed. A daily self-catered breakfast (we provide cereal with milk; bagel with cream cheese, bread for toast with jams,jellies, peanut butter) is included in the price. Bob will have fresh brewed coffee or hot water tea waiting for you. A full size fridge w/freezer, microwave and toaster just for the guests in our 2 units is available in a separate area.Papaya Paradise is located just 1/2 mile from Kailua Beach, which was voted the #1 beach in the country in 1998 (we provide beach accessories)and Kailua town. Free off street parking. Honolulu Airport and Waikiki is just a 20/30 minute drive away. All activities and attractions are within a 60/75 minute drive. TA#W00301866. 90/BB-0021 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 395 Auwinala Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3434
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Price Range: $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Papaya Paradise Hotel Kailua
Papaya Paradise b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the outermost room and recommend it. Didn't view the other room.”
 of 5 bubbles markyg362, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Blue Room overlooks pool but is in direct afternoon sun so overheats.”
 of 5 bubbles KRM1047, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“both are equally good.”
 of 5 bubbles pauloc_sarmadeirav, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We like the 2nd unit right next to the pool with the little table outside.”
 of 5 bubbles bowreality, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“If privacy is a priority head across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Zanzibar07, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5