We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Adelaide Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Adelaide Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Don't stay here! I stayed ONE night in golden gate and ended up with over 50 bed bug bites over my entire body, neck, chest, shoulders, ear, hands, thighs, calves, feet. Everywhere! I was just getting into my bed when I saw a bug on the wall dividing the bunks. Turned out to be a bedbug so I started inspecting...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Lori A
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here with my friend in the summer of 2012, this was the first leg of our travels, having flown in from Scotland. The rooms are pretty basic, but what do you really expect from a hostel? I personally think it is just your luck who you are paired with in the rooms, for us, we had a really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonophonics
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wanted to check out a day early from a private room and the front office staff refused a refund despite requesting 24 hours in advance. Asked 3 different front office receptionists to be told that it would be possible initially. When check-out time came , I was told the manager had been spoken to and that I should have given...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vinnaray
Yomitan-son, Japan
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

First time a stayed in a hostel. I'm traveling through and decided to stay in SF for 3 days to check the place out. Basically just needed a place to sleep, shower, and charge my phone. I found the room I stayed in the first night to be absolutely disgusting bit that was the fault of the occupants, not the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wyatt L
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I'd highly recommend this hostel to any international students or young travelers. Although the rooms are not the best (they only have the very basics), the place itself is very clean, with thoughtful decoration and a great atmosphere. The common rooms feel like very big but cozy living rooms, and the kitchen area has all you could need. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SebHoch
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 June 2014

No words to say how much a liar and these comments, I've been staying at the Adelaide Hostel, polite staff bad, stole my cell phone iphone 5s, I informed the owner known as PJ, arrogant, not looking at our face and said he could do nothing. Dirty rooms, with many badbugs, cheap, and many people, a dirty kitchen, with refrigerator...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Julian823
Ilaria L, Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Julian 823, I apologize you had such a bad experience here at the Adelaide. Anyhow, I would like to take this chance to shed some lights on a couple of issues you have mentioned in your review that could be a little misleading for other travellers. Rooms both at the Adelaide and the Dakota get thoroughly cleaned every day,...

Koronowo, Poland
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hostel on pics looks great but went we got there they told us to go to Dakota hostel ( very close to Adelaide). Elevator looked like it was about to fall down. Hostel was very dirty and stinky. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable. Breakfast wasn't so bad but also realy good. All in all only good thing about this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maciexx
Dublin
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I lived in San Jose and when I stayed in San Francisco at weekends, I stayed at the Adelaide Hostel every time! The staff are brilliant, friendly and very helpful! Free Breakfast in the morning is a huge plus and a great saving for those travelling! Appeared to attract a great mix of people which was great! Beds are comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hylo10
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On our recent west coast road trip, the Adelaide was my favourite hostel. A nice mixed atmosphere with some families and older travellers as well as your standard bunch of young people. Good sturdy bunks built into the wall mean there's none of that awkward clambering up a wobbly bunk, disturbing everyone as the frame squeaks and creaks. Also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

They will do as much as they can to help you, rooms are perfect for travelers (bunks beds with light, plugs and curtains) and the breakfast is amazing. The place is quiet and they offert a lot of activities. Definitely gonna choose this hostel again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Elizabeth - Private Room (30)
Viewed
Six Person Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Yosemite - Four Person Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
314 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
946 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
324 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $58 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adelaide Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Adelaide Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor that is on the opposite side of the entrance. Much less big city noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RandyCosmos, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else if given Dakota”
 of 5 bubbles starfire888, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bottom bunk if possible. Secure your valuables in the locker or store them in a locked bag.”
 of 5 bubbles 754dianeh, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend Adelaide to people with accessibility concerns, as the location does not allow for an elevator and accessible rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles natspark16, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Private double room with en suite is good.”
 of 5 bubbles kieskeurig, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay