We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buena Vista Motor Inn

Expedia.comUS$161*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$170*
US$161*
US$170*
US$170*
US$161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buena Vista Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Larchmont, New York
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Tired decor and tight lobby space, but conveniently located. Breakfast is so so. Coffee isn't always hot . Staff is ok. Nothing special. Coffee maker in my room did not work and on the third night of my stay the shower curtain mysteriously disappeared. I asked the chambermaid about this in the morning, but she didn't speak English. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanG9141
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We are very happy to hear that you had a quiet, comfortable room during your stay with us, and we trust that you had a restful night's sleep. We appreciate you taking the time to outline all of your thoughts on your stay, and rest assured that the team and...

scotland
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The nightshift reception girl attitude was very unprofessional we complained as there was a funny smell in our room.she abruptly said I'm not moving you and ask the cleaner for an air spray not helpful....not very professional.we paid good money for our room.beds were comfy pillows lumpy..rooms need revamped.very dated. I liked the coffee machine and the rooftop view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angeScotland
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

I'm really surprised that our receptionist did not assist you better - the comments that we generally get about our staff are about how helpful and friendly they are, and I'm sorry that you did not find this to be the case. I'm glad that you found your room to be comfortable, and I trust that you had a restful...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed here a couple of nights. The recepcionist was great helping me printing a Alcatraz ticket! Cant remember her name but she was 5 starts!! The rooms are ok, with a lot of space. they have all the basic stuff you need, including an iron and iron table. Beds are not that great but it is a confortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macsantos82
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for staying with us recently, and for posting your review. We are delighted that you found your room to be comfortable, and that you enjoyed the amenities in the room. We appreciate you mentioning our receptionist - we are known for our friendly and helpful staff, and we always love getting that feedback. We hope...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Absolutely horrible experience. In San Francisco to support family member in ICU. Last thing we wanted to worry about was our room. 1st night, found trash in ice bucket. Next day, tried to extend stay via phone & add room for additional family member flying in, but after 15 hours at hospital, locked out of room. When finally let in,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Vanderpoole, I do apologize for all of the problems that you encountered during your stay. The trainee that cleaned your room on your first day is no longer with us. Due to your extending your stay your keys had expired and that is why you were locked out of your room. I do apologize as we did discuss...

Rockhampton
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights staff were lovely rooms were large enough for a rollaway bed. Close to restaurants and fast food. Complimentary breakfast (muffins pastrys cereal fruit and yogurt). Outside of fishermens wharf area but close enough to walk and the price is brilliant. Would definitely stay again if ever in San Francisco.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsypher
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Horrible, Pay more & don't get bit or take any bugs home. Price seemed fair until you consider the cost of taking vermin back home with you. Parking was difficult & someone had peed right in front of my car trunk. Luckily this caused me to only take in a carry on, instead of all my luggage.We only stayed 1...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa A
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teressa, I am sorry that you feel that you had problems during your stay. I have tried to find your situation but was unable to find the issue you had described. I hope you can contact us again as I have checked with our Pest Control Service as we take the bug problems very seriously. Ecolab which is our...

Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

After reading a few reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little hesitant. Due to booking last minute, there was not a lot of hotels left to choose from in San Fran which didn't blow the budget or were already booked out. Upon arrival, the front desk staff were lovely. Though it is a little cramped when this same area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My husband and I arrived in San Francisco after a long day on the road without a reservation or a good understanding of where to stay so I used Trip Advisor reviews to guide us and that's how I found Buena Vista Moter Hotel. I'd say other reviews are accurate. It is over priced for the accommodations but not for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
Athens
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The 'Buena Vista Motor Inn' hotel is located centrally on Lombard Street, one of the main roads of San Francisco and is very convenient to walk to the Marina district from there or have access to the center of the city. The rooms are quite big and spacious and while the furniture is outdated, the beds are comfortable enough. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paixtaras
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the same day we stayed (after a failed Airbnb experience). We chose this place because of its great location, price and "ok" reviews. Honestly, we were quite impressed with the facility and value for money. The room was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. It is so well located that we could walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeCeeDeeCee

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
Queen Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
553 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
1,105 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#146 of 227 in San Francisco
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 227 in San Francisco
541 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
476 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 72 in San Francisco
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $227 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Georgetown, Canada

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the rear.”
383mikef, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Level 3 has a nice shared sun room with a view where you can eat your breakfast if it is busy downstairs.”
jodgee, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a room at the back of the hotel. Noise from Lombard street in front rooms can be unbearable, especially during the night.”
Paixtaras, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look around at others, there are better, even on a budget.”
HonestWayne, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to check daily for best rates; the values goes up/down on a daily basis...we get a great value for our budget.”
itumidon, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$161* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$161
TripAdvisorUS$161
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates