We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Orchard Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Orchard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,472: English reviews
San Jose, CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 2 nights up in San Francisco in late February and stayed at the Orchard Hotel (and not the Orchard Garden Hotel which is also on Bush St.). I loved the location most of all. Located on Bush Street about 2 blocks up from the enormous Sutter Stockton garage, I was just a block away from Union Square but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at our place! It's great that we could give you easy access to everything you love downtown, as well as show you a comfortable and welcoming stay. I hope we see you next time you're in town. Best wishes, Collins C., Front Office Manager

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To a large extent the staff make a hotel and both the doorman and receptionist we met when checking in were lovely and friendly. The room was large and bright and most welcoming. I had breakfast at 6am each day as I was over from the UK so jet lagged and the young man who served us couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bertles
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I'm thrilled the room was welcoming and the service very friendly. Weak tea is definitely not ideal, but it sounds like the early breakfast and comfortable stay could somewhat make up for it, and that makes me happy. I hope you stay with us again next time you're in town. Safe travels, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Valhalla, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night here before headed out to wine country. Good location near Union Square but if you're walking from the BART station note that the last block is a steep one! Room was comfortable and quite large, though it was a bit dark because looked onto an alleyway. Staff were friendly. I'd stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccgkitten
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy you loved our location and our room, although it's too bad the view wasn't quite what you were expecting. I hope you get another chance to stay with us in the future. Fondly, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel far exceeded my expectations given the room rate--excellent value for money. Was very pleasantly surprised. The style is a bit more old fashioned, but pleasing, well-maintained and extremely clean (actually looks better than depicted in photos). Comfortable bed and huge bathroom. Staff were friendly and professional. Excellent central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaiLed65
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It's wonderful to know that we exceeded every expectation! Thanks so much for staying with us, and I hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you're in town. Best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Alameda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Orchard is a quaint, well appointed hotel which is centrally located in the heart of San Francisco. The rooms are nice. The staff is courteous and attentive. The location is close to Union Square, Nob Hill, China Town and a short cab ride to the Piers. I will return here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that your room was on point and that our team was welcoming and on top of everything for you, Martin! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in town. Best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Lakewood, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this little boutique hotel. The front desk service staff was friendly and patient. The door men were polite and willing to share tips of the area. The rooms were clean, spacious, modern and very comfortable. This hotel is within walking distance of many shopping, historic and destination locations. We walked down to the wharf and Uber'd back! There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blanche K
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, Blanche! It's important that our staff and our rooms can get everything perfect, so you can imagine how pleased I am to hear that you were a big fan of everything. I must say though that the prices in our restaurant are very reasonable and in-line with what you find in...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In fairness, my roommate would be writing a different review, but here goes. The room booked was for two beds. When we checked in, we were given a suite with one king size bed (which I'm sure was very nice) and a made-up sofa bed (which was not). The hotel was overbooked and unable to accommodate moving us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances L
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion, Mary, because I agree: A sofa bed is not the same as a bed. I'm sorry for our miscommunication there. Should your travel plans bring you to San Francisco again, please contact me directly and I will guarantee that nothing like this ever happens again. Once again our apologies. I hope the rest of your...

Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very good, convenient location; hotel rooms are spacious and very clean. Problem with getting enough hot water for shower in the morning. When we checked out another guest was issuing the same complaint about the hot water. It must be a frequent problem because the front desk receptionist expressed very little concern or sympathy, merely saying that she would pass...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lgs515
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

I couldn't be more pleased that you liked our room for its spaciousness and its location! I can understand how that would be frustrating if you didn't get a hot shower, and please know that it is not the norm for us. Thanks for giving us your feedback, because it's always valued. Best regards, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Mendon, New York, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the staff were friendly. The location was perfect for us to use BART from the airport and to walk around the city. Many restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb C
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, Deb! See you again next time. All the best, Collins C., Front Office Manager

Oakland, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We are a small non-profit based in Oakland, CA. We have held our Board of Directors meetings here for the last two years. We continually receive the best service and assistance from all staff at the Orchard. The board meeting room has always suited our needs, and the service staff continues to provide fantastic service with care. All of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christina653
Collins C, Owner at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review

It means a lot to me that we can always help you have a smooth and enjoyable event at our hotel! I know how hard it can be to organize meetings, and we're always happy to help. Tommy is great and I know that he always takes great care of his clients. I will be sure to let him know...

605 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (404)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room (40)
Viewed
Second Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Third Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,807 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
5,012 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
1,396 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $312 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Orchard Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Orchard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms higher and facing back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineE331, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one at the back, on a bust street, not that it was that noisy”
 of 5 bubbles MFitzCollins, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“When walking from BART, it's uphill -- and the last block is a doozy!”
 of 5 bubbles ccgkitten, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet room - and I was very satisfied, even with a room that faced Bush street!”
 of 5 bubbles 612blanchek, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“affordable price”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5