We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Metropolis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Metropolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 483: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

What? I like girls in yoga pants! But enough about that..The hotel itself it actually quite decent. My brother and I checked in a little early and we had no problem getting our room. The front desk staff were very friendly and the lobby is pleasantly decorated and quiet. The room is hit and miss to be honest. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Martin G, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We also appreciate your candid feedback about the location and neighborhood as I'm sure it'll help...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located right at the edge of civilization and beginning of ghetto. So not a good place to take your kids. Unless you have a car and will be just driving to and from parking lot. But if you travel as a couple or group of adults it is very good place. Hotel is literally two blocks away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgeni A
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Evgeni A, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco on your next visit....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Despite the roughness of the neighbourhood, despite the old musky rooms and mouldy chairs (added photos) despite the poor plumbing in the toilet (toilet blocked 3 times in 3 days) and shower leaking all over the tiles, we were still satisfied and appreciative that we were moved to a better room once we informed front desk but not before the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Natalie S, Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we apologize to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. We will be using this example as a training opportunity with our team so that we may improve the experience for our future guests. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis, I would welcome the opportunity to have...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed only one night for business trip - booked late and this was one of the few hotels within walking distance of multiple meetings that I had so bit the bullet. THE GOOD: Hotel lobby is decent. Hotel room is relatively clean. Nothing special. Decent HDTV. Bed was pretty comfortable. THE BAD: As others have stated - this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndoe807
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear johndoe807, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with. We appreciate your detailed review and will certainly bring these items to the attention of our Engineering team to care of immediately. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge of your particular experience....

San Mateo, Rizal, Philippines
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three days. The place is an old hotel near Union Square. The room is clean. There are restos and diners around. But if one is scared of homeless people around maybe look for a place far from the city. Shopping is walking distance. Liked the location. The staff not so friendly though. Its alright with me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ferry A
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Ferry A, Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us! We do apologize that our staff did not provide excellent service as we expect of them. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge of your particular experience so we may address...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We actually stayed Dec 2014 and had mixed feelings given the reviews we had read but it was absolutely fine. We stayed on 8th floor but you can still hear the street noise a bit. A few homeless people around but they're everywhere in SF and they keep to themselves. Short walk to public transport and Ftrain to pier. Clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie M
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Ernie M, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

I have mixed feeling about this hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were of a decent size but nothing special about them. The room, 1001, had a pretty good view. The hotel as itself is fine. The location is both, good and bad. There are plenty of homeless and druggies right outside in the street which makes you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Humzah Y
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Humzah Y, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This was our first stop on our tour around California ( 2 adults 2 children ) and we were quite glad to move on . The location borders onto a poor area at the south end of "downtown" , with locals loitering in the main street , and it felt a bit unsafe, although we had no trouble over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Det126
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Det126, We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that the service of our team and cleanliness of our guestrooms were enjoyed by your family. Although our neighborhood of may not be the most luxurious part of the city, we pride ourselves in our location and close proximity to Union Square, the...

Sydney
Reviewed 27 October 2016

First time in SF, unfortunately had a unpleasant stay in this hotel. The hotel located in a bad neighbourhood. There were so many homeless people in that area. You can smell urine on the street and hear siren every now and then. Even the uber driver advise me not to walk around during the night. To be fair, it's close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce l
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear bruce l, Your feedback is greatly appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. We will be using this example as a training opportunity with our team so that we may improve the experience for our future guests. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis, I would welcome the opportunity to...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had been driving a hire car and dropped it off when we got to San Francisco. The hotel was walking distance from the drop off and I am sure this was why our travel agent booked it! We were 9 floors up and the noise from the drunk, crazy or drug addicts funnelled up between the buildings and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanneandralph
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear suzanneandralph, I am sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us during your recent visit. Our neighborhood is undergoing a transition especially with all the new adjacent construction going on. We pride ourselves in our close proximity to all the attractions in San Francisco as well as the future of our location with the...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 230 in San Francisco
721 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
1,335 reviews
SoMa
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $162 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Manteca, CA
Glastonbury
Santa Cruz, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles 730evgenia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles johndoe807, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the tenth floor facing the Market Street”
 of 5 bubbles humzahy, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You're in a city. It doesn't make any difference front or back.”
 of 5 bubbles Det126, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get your room towards the back of the building to help with the street noise. Trash truck comes every morining at 3:30 on the dot!!”
 of 5 bubbles Ginaclark3, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay