We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International- San Francisco\/ Downtown
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff are really friendly and helpful, running activities everyday. They provide free breakfast (yay!) and mostly free activities. The rooms are good size and in a great location. The hostel allows you to book a lot of stuff at a discount. Clean place, looked after and well run. No complaints at all. I had a great time and met...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Remi S
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

From here to the moon, thank you kindly for your lovely review. We're incredibly happy we were able to offer you a truly San Francisco experience full of fun and free activities! We look forward to having you be apart of our (temporary) family again in the future! Love, HI-SF Downtown

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed at. I stayed in room 505 - a four bed dorm with ensuite and everything went smoothly. Can't beat the location, the breaky, the rooms were cleaned daily. Fresh sheets and you even get a complimentary towel. Nice community here too, and the wifi works great in most areas.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rustykiwinz
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you kindly for such a positive review of our location. Please know that your usage of the word "breaky" genuinely brought a smile to my face. I hope the next time you're in San Francisco you'll join us for another pleasant stay and complimentary breaky. With hugs and our hearts, HI-San Francisco Downtown

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As hostels go, I'd put this one about mid-table. Clean, well run and pretty good staff. Although I did take exception to the cleaner persistently banging on the toilet door to clean it until I came out. Very odd! Also find the was basin in the room very strange, it disturbs everyone in the room as there isn't one in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harleyBoy42
Lancashire
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Clean, friendly and safe neighbourhood. We had ensuite room, better than some ,motels. Expect it too be noisy I think it's the price you pay for the location. Good breakfast. Lots of restaurants nearby and good transport links easily walkable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annanewty
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just one block away from the Union Square and Macy's department store. Within five minutes, you can reach the BART Powell Street station, and cable car terminal. The check in counter staff is really friendly and helpful, you can get a free city map from them. Free wi-fi is available and there are kitchen available. Next time in San Francisco...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenChang
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fantastic location and staff were fantastic however the room I was in, was right on the corner of the 2 main roads.... not even earplugs could block out the sirons and horns all night. Breakfast (bagels and coffee) was fantastic and the bike tour with Ellie was absolutely brilliant. Great Hostel but not the best for sleep quality!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason D
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed the bike tour with EL! We like having here around these parts, too! I'm very sorry to hear you weren't able to sleep well during your stay because of the street noise. Our staff is working very hard to resolve sound issues in the rooms. We hope the next time you pass through we'll be...

Napa, California
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My usual sources for great hotel deals in San Fran did not pan out this time (Priceline, Hotwire, etc.). With some nervousness, I decided to try a hostel for the first time, because it fit within my budget for the trip. My fears were that the place would be either a seedy fleabag, or a frat party environment. The reality...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank B_Pope
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for such a detailed review! It's great to hear we could offer you such a pleasant first time experience with hosteling. I genuinely hope the connections you made with fellow guests and your enjoyment of our activities and facilities will sway you positively in your decision making to stay at hostels (preferably ours) in the future!

Auburn, Maine
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. It was beyond noisy. I could never sleep to recover from my jet lag. Upon check in, I was informed. That the 6th floor was the quietest, since it was all private rooms. If this is the quietest floor, then I fear for the hostels future. First off, there were these birds at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy C
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Wow, I'm incredibly sorry to hear about your experience! I know if I had arrived at a hostel with jet lag and couldn't adjust properly I'd be so frustrated! Those birds you were hearing early in the morning are the Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill. They're an institution in SF, but I can totally see how they would be detrimental...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked a bed here for one night only at the last minute after my housing with a friend fell through and I had a gap before staying with another friend. It was expensive - about $50 for one night in a 4-bed-dorm, although I suppose that's not unusual for San Francisco, particularly for somewhere so close to Union Square...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RachelBL
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This is the Place to go if you want to meet people and explore San Francisco with awesome people. I stayed there for 6 nights. Day's and Night's programme offered is great. Pub crawl, city tours, beer tasting, taco evening or pizza wine and movie!! The rooms are clean the location is in downtown where unfortunately are a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vincent H
HISFDT, Public Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for giving us the highlights of your stay! We're incredibly happy you enjoyed our daily activities. The crew at HI-SF Downtown prides ourselves in offering an authentic San Francisco experience for all the travelers that walk through our doors. We hope you'll be joining us again to create some lasting memories! With whiskey and wanderlust -- The...

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4,908 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
1,178 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,518 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $72 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
5 months ago
Redmond, Washington
8 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City view rooms are loud. Use the freely supplied earplugs and you'll sleep well.”
 of 5 bubbles 513iang, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with city views are fun to look out but street-noisy. The rooms with in-facing windows have no view but have NO street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles itz_mon, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor interior rooms are relatively quiet and easily accessible, which is important if you don't want to climb tons of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles AdventurousDolphin, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't be afraid of the shared dorms and throw yourself in to the hostel experience.”
 of 5 bubbles EBroadbent, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room on level 3 but away from the kitchen or or level 4. The lift takes ages to go to higher floors, level 2 is loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 48ryans, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay