We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(30 reviews)
“pb j”(6 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
380
60
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
380
60
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsmeet other travellersother gueststhe financial districtawesome staydorm roomlaundry servicefourth floorno elevatorhome away from homeamazing locationbart stationpublic transport
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 471 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

All staff - Shelby, Zeke, Chad, and Lila are so friendly and knowledgable about SF. They each lead an activity every day so you can always be occupied. The guests Cory, Umimah, Jonathan, Nikolas, Alder, and others were awesome! By the way Zeke and Umimah,...More

Thank JinOrGin
Reviewed 3 days ago

Located near BART, muni, FIDI, Chinatown, etc... I would always find my way back because it's really well located. The staff was really welcoming and friendly, and made this first solo trip so great for me. My bed was on the 3rd floor, it's really...More

Thank Oumaima E
Reviewed 3 days ago

I stayed there for three nights and it was awesome. The location of the Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is great. It is close to some of the main hotspots of San Francisco. Furthermore, the staff is really nice and are willing to help you. I enjoyed...More

Thank maxv0gels
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a cute hostel with the friendliest staff! Super well located and free peanut butter and jelly all day! Definitely one of my favourite hostels I’ve visited, thanks guys for making our San Fran trip so good!!

Thank Alex M
Reviewed 1 week ago

I use these guys when I'm in the city for a few nights, and honestly the community is so good and the place so well run its a better experience than a full hotel room at 5x the cost. Good people, unbeatable location, and the...More

Thank Alder R
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$41 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$41 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
26 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Courtney L | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Floors other than the one on the same floor as the lobby would be quieter. The lobby floor is quiet during..."
Read review
"Try the free PB&J!"
Read review
"There is a no noise policy past 12am, so even if you book a "social" dorm, you will still get quiet..."
Read review
"You can ask for a little room (4 beds) on the third floor, it's quiet and the bathroom is bigger ;)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing