We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

PricelineUS$119*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$171*
US$119*
US$171*
US$119*
US$171*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA
 Click to rate
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Well located even though a lot of homeless and drug addicts are in the neighborhood but I guess it is not that bad once you're aware. The pub downstairs is a cool place and the laundromat across the street is serving good food and good coffee. Good pastries for breakfast make sure you wake up early :-). Friendly staff. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul t
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for visiting our property and responding here! I am happy to hear that you liked our breakfast, friendly staff and good location. I hope to see you back at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We would love to have you again! Sincerely, Hasu P Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed while on the way to a conference in Santa Rosa. It was clean, friendly and due to the location not one I would take children. All for openness and individual rights but not an area to have kids. Staff friendly, assisting and guiding for those (me) that had never been to San Fran and where some of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing us for your stay in San Francisco. I am sorry for anything that caused your visit to be less than perfect, we strive to provide each of our guests with everything they need for a comfortable relaxing stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, great...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for new years eve and the accommodations were better than we expected, despite the negative reviews! The room was basic, but so clean and spacious equipped with a closet area, more than enough dressers, and a refrigerator/freezer. Plus we were on the top floor and had a decent view of the SF skyline. Location is prime and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dara Joan D
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I'm very happy that you chose us for your stay in San Francisco and took the time to share your great experience. We work hard to give each of our valued guests amazing service, a clean comfortable room, and all of the amenities to make our guests feel at home right in the heart of town. It was a pleasure...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It never ceases to amaze me how high prices are for rooms in big cities. The price of this room is very high when compared to a typical city but much lower when compared to other San Fran rooms near the same location. It was old with creaky doors and somewhat thin walls but the bathrooms had been upgraded a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thanks for letting me know about your stay and for choosing us for your stay. I apologize about anything thatcaused your stay to be less than perfect. We will be making some new updates to all of our rooms this spring in order give our guests the best possible stay in one of the best locations in San Francisco. We...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Location is about the only up side to this place. Old squeaky floors, you can hear people walking at all hours of the night, paper thin walls, no microwave, internet never works, you'll be lucky if a page loads in 10 minutes (not exaggerating). Shower was like a water blaster with no pressure control. Key card stopped working twice during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sealdogfish
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. I will personally look into the issues you mentioned. I thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us valuable feedback. Sincerely, Hasu Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed 2 days at this location on our recent trip. The Hotel is clean, rooms are relatively small but no sharing bathroom (many places in SF don't have private bathrooms) and the location is good. Now the things that were not so great is (of course) no parking so be prepared to pay for the valet depending on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WarmCoffeeHubBlog
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share what you enjoyed about your visit as well as what we can do to improve for the future. We work very hard to provide clean rooms, great service, and convenient amenities. I'm glad that you liked our clean private in room bathrooms. We have made updates to our rooms such as new in...

West Menlo Park, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Room must have been upgraded from previous reviews. Had refridge, flat screen tv, working complimentary wifi and comfortable bed. Liked the room very much - try to get on the 4th floor as it allows u to see SF skyline. Great low price for room in a convenient location south of market. No complaints just that parking charges were excessive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EazyEDob
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us positive feedback. We have done renovations to the property and glad you enjoyed the upgrades. We try to keep our parking charges to a minimum and I am sorry to hear you felt they were still excessive. We appreciate all your comments and hope...

Bluefield, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Do not recommend Price to high Location not in good part of town Breakfast coffee and sweet rolls Sun closed early No room service one day No wash cloths one day No A/C Pillows terrible Lots of other reasons not to stay there Have water cooler in lobby But said no water available To far away from many things

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bagboy42
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about any issues that caused your stay to be less than what you expected. Our hotel is located downtown close to many nearby attractions, the safety of each of our guests is our top priority and we always make sure that all of our security measures are followed closely by our staff. Thank you...

Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This hotel is fine if you're low maintenance. Dated and hallways are scuffed up but room and bathroom were clean. The staff were nice and helpful. Feels like a European hostel and we were fine as we knew we were saving money. There is a heating unit in the room but no AC. We walked to the fishermans wharf which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelforlife1989
haspa, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa. We strive to provide excellent service and clean accommodations to each and every guest and glad we did not fail you. I truly apologize for anything that was less than satisfactory with your stay. Thank you for your feedback and...

Scotland
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place for location and price . In actually there now , leaving tomorrow . Whilst I always gauge a place by both price and location , what I haven't considered in waking up covered in flea bites . Yes - flea bites from head to damn toe . This place looks ok from the outside . The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank camster66
haspa, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We strive to be very diligent when it comes to pest control, so information like this is critical in order to win the battle against these pests. Please contact...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
147 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#160 of 228 in San Francisco
159 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#198 of 228 in San Francisco
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
584 reviews
Music City Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
372 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa is newly renovated summer of 2007 with 33 rooms and suites. A boutique style hotel, located off famous Folsom Street in a small, quaint alley Hallam Place, when you enter you feel you are in a charming small European town, yet still in SoMa/Downtown San Francisco. Most rooms with city skyline views. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, public areas and lobby are all non-smoking and the designated smoking area is outside 50 ft right of the lobby entrance door. Valet parking ONLY. Free daily breakfast (muffin, coffee, and Juice). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Address: 10 Hallam St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3907 (Formerly Globe Hostel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $177 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Soma
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Soma Hotel San Francisco
Americas Best Value Inn Soma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lake Tahoe (California), California
10 months ago
Montreal, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the convention center and other types of facilities.”
U5564EMmichaelm, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“private bathroom, downtown”
WarmCoffeeHubBlog, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms are in another hotel”
499shaid, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay at the Four Seasons”
cmswartz, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the end of the building, apparently this may be why the wifi didn't work?”
spursfan45, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$119* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
ABVI.comUS$119
ElvolineUS$171
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates