We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Booking.comUS$77*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
HI San Francisco Fisherman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 359: English reviews
Start your review of HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
 Click to rate
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great stay at the hostel. You will not find a place closer to the bay. Staff were very friendly and the place was very clean. We were on the first floor so we were only a few steps from the laundry, breakfast and the movie theater. We did the bike ride across the Golden Gate bridge on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Yeeeee! Thank you so much for this lovely review of the hostel. It brings me great pleasure to learn that you had such a wonderful time while visiting us, that's exactly what we wanted to happen! Really hope you can make it back to visit us again one day soon. Hopefully we can help you experience and even better time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hostel last year and that was my first ever hostel visit so was a little hard as had no comparison. Have since stayed at a few more so easier to do. I love this place, very peaceful...clean, amazing location, kitchen is great, free breakfast is very good, cafe franco is a lovely spot to have lunch/snacks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne739
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hostel. We are so happy that you have continued to hostel and that you chose to visit us again, we must be doing something right! Thank you for the idea of putting individual reading lights near every bed. Believe me, we would absolutely love to do this, but we simply don’t have the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, 2 friends in a room of 12 mixed beds. The first night 9 of the 12 people went out drinking and came back at 1.30am most likely waking everyone else up but we didn't mind because we were 2 of those 9 people. It got really hot and smelly so you definitely need to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLG137
Terika T, Owner at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hostel. I am happy to learn that you and your friend enjoyed your visit with us – glad you had fun on the pub crawl! Thank you for your recommendation about the bathroom – as much as we would love to make changes in order to create more privacy for our guests, we...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first experience in a Hostel so I can't compare it to anything. I stayed in a 5 bed only female room. To be fair, I must say that even though I didn't like sharing a bathroom -with almost no privacy and one shower- with the entire floor and the bed was too soft -It felt like sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florentina86
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hostel. We feel so honored that you chose us for your first hosteling experience! Hopefully you knew that there were other bathrooms besides the one on your floor that you were welcome to use as well. I am sorry that you found the Tempurpedic memory foam mattress to be too soft…those mattresses are...

Hanau, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. You can everything you need: common area, big kitchen, good breakfast, clean bathrooms and very hygienic beds, big lockers under the beds. Located in the Marina Area you can walk all the interesting spots, bus stops aren't too far either. Building is pretty old though with cracking windows and doors that can wake you up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa H
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of the hostel! How kind of you to let everyone know what they can expect while staying here. It pleases me greatly to find out that you had such a wonderful visit. Apologies that the creaks of our national historical building woke you up! We’ve got free earplugs available at the front desk...

UK
Reviewed 22 April 2017

San Francisco hotels seemed expensive, so we opted for a hostel for this leg of our travels (PCH and Yosemite). We stopped 4 nights, and considered checking out on the first night. We booked a private twin room. Super basic. Bunk beds. No TV. Rules about not eating in the room. Our "shared bathroom" was actually a communal toilets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lissy2904
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hostel! I am sad to hear you probably wouldn't stay with us again, but am grateful that you took the time to leave us a kind review. Although all of our bathrooms are communally shared and there are no TVs in any of the rooms, we do have other private room options that...

Erlangen, Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This hostel is great for all ages, from teenagers to over 60. It was really chill and I loved the sitting room area with many sofas and a fire in the center. Although some people might want to stay downtown I found the location great as it was quiet, relaxed and had a fabulous view! The guy at the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anjaliosetsinha
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this short and sweet review of the hostel! You have no idea how much it warms my heart to learn that you had such a stellar time while visiting our humble home by the Bay. I’d love to know which front desk associate helped you out so that I may send them your regards! Truly...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 11 April 2017

First thing, big Shout-out to Daniel for his excellent customer service. We arrived in S.F. at 6:45 am, Daniel got our reservation processed and our bags stored immediately, even though check-in isn't until 3:00 pm. We only had reservations for Thursday (due to lack of availability at time of booking for Friday), but my wife was going to be attending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sillynsurly
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you so so much for this incredible review of the hostel! I agree with you, Daniel provides amazing customer service. We all feel extremely lucky to work with him and I am so pleased to know that he made your stay so wonderful! We look forward to having you and your wife visit again one day soon. You’ll see...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The location is great, really beautiful. A bit far from the center though, especially if you get the distances in the US wrong every time. The beds are not so good, memory foam, and really loud. Also the heater was making a lot of noise. The breakfast is typical American breakfast as you get everywhere. The showers and toilets are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiemAmsterdam
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of the hostel. I apologize that you did not really enjoy your time while visiting us. I would like to address the statement you made about us requesting that you throw used toilet paper in the green bin outside of the stall – this is simply not true. We only request that after washing...

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed back in October, for the first time in a hostel and in the USA we were very happy with the room and the location. Best part was the staff. Jasper was unreal doing anything possible to make our stay. Would be the first hostel I go back too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarquin W
Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the hostel! How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much while staying with us AND that your first hostel experience was a pleasant one! I will make sure to let Jasper know what a wonderful job he's doing and that he helped make your visit with us so fabulous! Thanks so...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,914 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
1,095 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in a National Park overlooking the Bay at San Francisco's first and best hostel! Both shared and private rooms available, cafe serving three meals/day plus free continental breakfast, free parking, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. In a beautiful park setting near North Beach, Pier 39, and cable cars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, CA 94123-1335
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $64 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in room 5 which has a small lounge next door...this can get loud...we did have to go and ask them to keep it down....”
Suzanne739, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the basement can be very hot in Winter.”
Florentina86, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Call ahead. Plan your trip. It could be noisy if a large group of college kids is there.”
, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“With all hostels, when staying a dorm, if you sleep early, avoid any beds in the path of light when the door opens”
G1257NDannal, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to be around marijuana then DON'T stay here, it was freely being smoked while I was there, legal in California.”
835jeffreyv, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$88
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates