We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

San Francisco City Center Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
San Francisco City Center Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
Start your review of San Francisco City Center Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I choose the HI city centre after searching for hotels that were far too expensive for the amount of time we would be spending in our room. We were very happy with our decision! We booked a 2 bed private room with private bath so it was exactly like a hotel. Everything was very clean, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2017 when I tacked a weekend stay onto the end of a work trip. I used a 4 person, males-only bunkroom, with ensuite. The bed was very comfortable and came with a shelf, power, lamp and lockable cabinet. It was on teh 4th floor of the facility. Although there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewbish
Manchester, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the City Centre hostel with 2 colleagues and 22 students during an educational visit in Feb 2017. We had a great stay and would like to thank the staff for accommodating us all. We found all the staff at the hostel to be welcoming and helpful. The rooms were cleaned everyday and all our bedding was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimCo72
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was definitely one of my favourite hostels I have stayed in. I shared a room with 3 other females. Room and shower/bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was more than you could ask for. Met a lot of people also travelling from around the world. Very good atmosphere, for all ages. The only thing I wouldn't recommend - if travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms with bathrooms and some useful facilities like laundry, gym, cinema. Breakfast included. The hostel organises some local trips on bikes or with sighteeing of the city. The shattle from the hostel to Los Angeles was a bargain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katarzyna198
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The heavy metal CD sound whole night did not let me sleep. The bed sheets were damp and dirty, looked like they did not change after the earlier people left. The front desk rebuked me for complaining as if I was the one that made the sheets dirty and now asking for clean ones. Anyway, slept on that (tried best)......

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank lfynn2017
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at our hostel. Most people consider our hostel to be extremely clean! It is something we are very proud of, so there must have been some mistake with your bed. There is no excuse for our staff being rude to you regarding this issue, so I will...

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Doing a roadtrip while you are young, is one of the best things to broaden your horizon but it often also means traveling on a certain budget. This hostel is the ideal solution for traveling on a budget, having a nice place to sleep and being very central in the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel K
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 2 February 2017

City Center San Fran ticks most of the boxes that I want from a hostel: clean, friendly and affordable. The breakfast is also pretty decent and goes on until 1130. There was always a good vibe at the bar during the evening and as a solo traveler it was easy to make friends. I want to give a special shout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letian88
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Worst hostel I've even stayed in. What kind of youth hostel doesn't allow you to bring a girl home when you've been out in San Francisco?!? No spirits served at the bar downstairs and the hostel is located in a highly unsafe location.

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank Jacob L
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jacob, I'm sorry you had a bad time with us, though it sounds like that was probably based more in your preferred type of hostel than in our not operating responsibly or respectfully. Indeed, we do not allow unregistered guests in our hostel, largely due to our commitment to providing safe and comfortable stays for all of our guests...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Hi Hostel on Ellis St for three nights. The rooms are small, but very clean with an ensuite bathroom. The common areas are great although a strange smell fills the hallway. Free breakfast is awesome and the option to buy eggs or pancakes for $1 is also great. The biggest con of this place is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan K

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
2,259 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
851 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 51 in San Francisco
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience budget travel at its best: Both private and shared rooms available (only 4-5 beds per dorm), all rooms with private bathroom, restaurant-quality guest kitchen, cafe serving free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, plush common areas, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. Recently renovated 1920s hotel near San Francisco's best affordable restaurants, diverse nightlife, and world-class Civic Center arts district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Francisco City Center Hostel

Address: 685 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $71 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Francisco City Center Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your San Francisco City Center Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco City Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Francisco City Center Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Palm Bay, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from San Francisco City Center Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See tip in review about Ellis Street”
 of 5 bubbles JimCo72, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not bring food to the room”
 of 5 bubbles yaels0ffer, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite (private room with bathroom)”
 of 5 bubbles unterleiderh, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the front/off the street are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles MarKansaSity, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Aliciawilde, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5