We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Serrano Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Serrano Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Serrano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,918: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Disappointing stay at The Serrano - most definitely NOT a 4* hotel. Ripped sheets on the bed. Tatty fixtures & fittings in the room. Bathroom sink was blocked, and dirty water & hair etc coming back up. Hole in the bathroom door. In-room telephone didn't work. Discarded pizza left on the hallway table for over 24 hours! Disgusting. The neighbouring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank js0908
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello js0908, We’re very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We do truly care about our guests and strive to provide a wonderful, memorable experience for all. We sincerely apologize that your bathroom was not cleaned properly prior to your arrival and that you were not pleased with the condition of your room. We...

ENGLAND
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Found this property through reviews on Booking.com and Tripadvisor. Was looking for somewhere in town, comfortable and reasonable cost and this seemed to fit the bill. Got the shuttle from the Airport, cost $18 and delivered me to the front door. Check in was friendly and quick. Room was a little dated especially the bathroom but reasonable size, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dagog
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dagog, We’re thrilled to have been part of making your first visit to San Francisco so memorable! We’re glad you found our accommodations clean and comfortable and our nightly rates so reasonable. We’re happy to hear our friendly team provided you with great service, helpful recommendations, maps, and other arrangements during your stay. We apologize if you weren’t pleased...

Taylor, Texas
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When staying in some of the more expensive cities around the country, the Kimpton brand is my go to for hotels. The Serrano doesn't disappoint. When I stayed here, it was during America's Cup and other things going on in the city and this was the best deal. The location is excellent and all tour companies seem to pick up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stigeweard
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello #1 Fan, We think you meant Steeler fan, but it’s great to see you’re a fan of ours too! Thank you for the 5-star review. We’re thrilled you were pleased with our wonderful value, convenient location, beautiful, historic feel, and clean, comfortable accommodations. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with the size of our rooms, and we apologize...

Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I arrived, they told me the hotel was overbooked and they then sent me to another hotel. The other hotel was smaller and older. I found the manager at the Serrano hotel was decent but the front desk staff were not very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ThomasM2010
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thomas, We sincerely apologize for any confusion, frustration and inconvenience caused by a mistake with overbooking. We’re sorry that you weren’t satisfied with your accommodations at the other hotel and are genuinely sorry if your experience with our service team was anything but friendly, helpful and gracious. We’re happy to hear our manager was of some assistance. We do...

Oroville, California
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed for 3 nites, the rooms were small, but clean, as was the bathroom. I was taken back by the additional fee for amenities.... since they weren't much of anything. A very small workout room, without a restroom and water in the lobby, that was it. If the amenities had been better, the fee wouldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barbara W
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Barbara, We’re happy to hear you found our accommodations clean. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We apologize for any inconvenience or confusion over our standard Urban Fee. It includes morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes,...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is far from perfect, but what is refreshing is that they try and seen to care. I can forgive anybody anything as long as they are sincere. The Good: Great bed, good sleep Quiet Fast (free) wifi Convenient plugs, connections Wonderful coffee (but no in room facilities so you have to go down to the lobby) Bath robes...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 100nights
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Valued Guest, We’re happy you found our rooms comfortable and quiet. We’re glad you enjoyed the smaller, charming details, like delicious organic coffee and snuggly bathrobes, as well as the little, practical ones (convenient connections and fast Wi-Fi). We’re sorry the size of our bathrooms failed to impress you. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our...

Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You can hardly do better, unless you want ultra deluxe and want to pay for that. This place is stylish and friendly, has all the amenities, you can park on the street for a while at a meter, or there's a garage across the street(about $30). Food is excellent and of course, there's the free cocktail hour. Within 3-5 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Preston B
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Preston, We truly appreciate your great review. We may be a little biased, but we love our exciting location, dedicated staff, beautifully designed rooms, great amenities, and reasonable rates too. Thank you for sharing a few helpful tips with future guests and complimenting the food selection at Jasper’s Corner Tap & Kitchen. We’ll pass the praise on to their...

Devon, UK
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week tour of the western US. Gorgeous hotel, friendly staff and a great central location. Our room, although beautifully furnished, was a little on the small side and we were located next to the lifts so a little noisy. A word of warning to those visiting San Francisco......take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda W
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lynda, Wow! Three weeks exploring the western U.S. sounds pretty amazing. We’re glad you were able to wind down your tour in our beautiful San Francisco. You know what they say about saving the best for last. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, dedicated team, and fantastic location. We apologize for any disturbance noise from the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Serrano in San Francisco two weeks ago. The front desk team was so great. They act much like a concierge desk, helping us with everything from taxi's/cars, directions, train systems, breakfast etc.. but also just general friendly. Remembering when we would leave or return during the day where we had visited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krysta c
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Krysta, It sounds like you had a fantastic stay and really had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful city. We love our fabulous, centralized location too. We are thrilled to hear our dedicated team members took excellent care of you during your stay. We love hearing when they take a personal investment in our guests’ interests and go above...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We come to San Francisco a few time each year and like to stay near Union Square. We have tried several places, many of which are very nice. Lately, we keep going back to the Serrano because it is the best deal around. The hotel is charming--especially the lobby where you can sit comfortably in a great atmosphere and likely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Murphthesurf6236
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Murphthesurf6236, We love welcoming back a familiar face, thank you for your loyalty. It’s exciting to hear that after trying several hotels; you prefer our accommodations and value. We’re very happy to hear that our hotel team has always offered you friendly service and our atmosphere is welcoming. Your tips are great; we know future guests will be very...

590 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (370)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (153)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite (32)
Viewed
Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#50 of 229 in San Francisco
3,968 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
1,137 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#76 of 229 in San Francisco
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
508 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $257 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Serrano Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Serrano Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get higher floor. You should have some views.”
 of 5 bubbles KwangRR, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My North side room just looked at a wall of the next building”
  • Workout room
 of 5 bubbles Wyosoldier, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room w/ view, they'll put you facing a wall.”
 of 5 bubbles robbym960, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure room is not next to the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles RubinaGan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floors away from roads are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles CliveSabel, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5