We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard San Francisco Union Square

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard San Francisco Union Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Francisco Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room was very clean, and staff was very friendly. The hardest part would be carrying a suitcase uphill from the BART station but we took uber around which made everything a lot easier and more convenient since parking and traffic can be a little hectic in SF.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ehau S
SherrieCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our rooms and staff! Our team will be very pleased to hear that you appreciated the friendly service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

New York
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Located two blocks from Union Square but close to the worst district of SF, Tenderloin with hundreds of homeless and scary faces... Avoid reaching this area that is located to the left when you leave the hotel and go down two blocks to O`Farrel St. Leaving the hotel always walk to the right, Union Square direction... Staff in the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlosfidelis
SherrieCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we appreciate your insight as we are always looking for ways to grow. We will certainly address your experience in the restaurant with our team. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Westford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Leave it to Marriott to have 3 properties with nearly the same name in the Union Square neighborhood of SF; study the names carefully or you will end up at the wrong one as we did, schlepping our bags from the bottom of Powell St. The good news? The nice Desk Manager paid for our cab ride to the Courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TominWestford
SherrieCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I really appreciate your candid feedback which helps us to learn and grow. I am glad you found the room to be quiet and the bed comfortable. We hope you will return for a visit in the future!

Ames, IA
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in some wonderful Courtyard properties this summer and were disappointed by this one. Small room had two double beds crammed into it. There was only one chair in a room that could potentially sleep four people. Bathroom was very small. Someone apparently thought the gray-toned decor was trendy, but on foggy San Francisco days, it was kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williedillo
Antonio D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Williedillo – Thank you for your review. Your detailed account of your recent summer visit will certainly be utilized as we want to ensure our guest service offerings and product is up to the expectations of our valued guests. We have noted your comments and will surely work exceptionally harder to elevate future guest experiences.

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

1. Look at the photo of the bathroom. You have two choices: poop side-saddle, or, put one leg into the bath tub. 2. The rooms are not roomy. One mile away, there's another courtyard Marriott. It's much nicer. 3. You have to ask every day for body lotion. Now that's no biggie, but that's something courtyard provides regularly at other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
Antonio D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your honest feedback. I know it can be frustrating to come to San Francisco and have to deal with the metropolitan city size rooms. If you do have travel plans back to San Francisco, I would like for you to contact me directly so I can assist you with your reservations. I appreciate...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I had a great stay at the Courtyard Union Square. I had a wonderful night's sleep and even worked out in the morning at their gym. The room was spacious and the bar and outdoor space next to it was really cute. The manager Antonio DiMarco was so helpful, nice and took great care of the guests staying at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristiscoats
SherrieCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your fantastic feedback! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel space. Hopefully you were able to experience some nice weather on the terrace. Antonio is a great asset to our team and I am so glad to hear you appreciated the service you received. We look forward...

Central Valley, CA
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The Courtyard Union Square is an uphill 4 blocks from the outer edge of the square. Further from the primary shopping area. The hotel offers no comparative advantage to the other major hotels closer to the square. The rooms are small, the bathroom is miniature, parking is expensive, and the neighborhood gives the impression of being unsafe. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calflyer80
Antonio D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

calflyer80 - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I realize that The Courtyard San Francisco Union Square is in somewhat of a unique location though I am glad that our customer care was nothing short of your expectations as a frequent business traveler and that our rooms were clean and quite. I appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This place is really bad. It's not Union Square, it's Tenderloin, one of the worst areas of San Francisco. The rooms and halls are small. Bathroom has literally no counter space. Elevators slow. It's on a fire truck route so you are awoken many times per night by sirens. The neighborhood is plain scary.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave H
Antonio D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Dave H - Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I realize that The Courtyard San Francisco Union Square is in somewhat of a unique location but hope that our customer care was nothing short of what you except when staying at a Marriott Courtyard Hotel. I know it can be frustrating to come to San Francisco and...

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I was very surprised by this hotel. I have stayed in many Marriott and Courtyard hotels in the past and this one was quite disappointing. First off, the location. I should have done more research, but I assumed the "Couryard Union Square" would be IN Union Square. It is not, and it is about 3 blocks away on a not-so-nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen B
Antonio D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Jen B - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I realize that The Courtyard San Francisco Union Square is in somewhat of a unique location though we hope that our customer care was nothing short of your expectations when staying with Marriott and Courtyard hotels. While we are still less than a year old,...

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 7 September 2016

When I was choosing hotels to stay in for our San Francisco trip, I was impressed by the comments that people made about the staff at this hotel. We were not disappointed. We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel at 10:30am. The room was not guaranteed until 4pm. The staff did everything in their power to secure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrossCountry11
SherrieCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you shared the positive experience you had with our staff. They will be so pleased to hear you appreciated their attention to the situation. We love our prime location near Union Square, it is nice you were able to walk to all of the great districts we are...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
No photo provided
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
#62 of 227 in San Francisco
1,008 reviews
Union Square
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
No photo provided
SoMa
No photo provided
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#43 of 227 in San Francisco
4,336 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small boutique-style hotel in downtown location, 3 blocks west of Union Square & 15 miles from San Francisco Int'l Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Union Square

Address: 761 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105 (Formerly Vantaggio Suites Cosmo)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $268 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vantaggio Suites Cosmo Hotel San Francisco
Cosmo Hotel San Francisco
Cosmo San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard San Francisco Union Square staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard San Francisco Union Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a high floor. The lower floor rooms are below the street level.”
 of 5 bubbles jnetk, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Important to get higher and not their basement/ground level rooms unless you love limited daylight.”
  • Walking into room
  • Bathroom---nice but very small
  • Small closet
 of 5 bubbles 949Global, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors, not by elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles CrossCountry11, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“King room on the north side. OK size, nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles EmceeToronto, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles AndreSuissa, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5