We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Whitcomb

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Whitcomb
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,225: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Whitcomb
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me, my husband and daughter stayed here as my daughter wanted to spend her 21st birthday in San Francisco and sit at the Golden Gate Bridge. The Hotel was great. Beds super comfy and quiet room. The bath and shower (while not eat off the floor clean) were perfectly fine for our requirements. The staff were helpful and friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank papryde
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I didn't feel comfortable here. My room was not very clean - I got to know the previous guests through the many different-coloured strands of hair I found in the shower, as well as a couple of stickers, labelled "Sealed for your safety" stuck against the walls of the shower. The hallway reeked of marijuana, tobacco, and beer. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TFlorence0700
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day TFlorence, My sincerest apologies uncomfortable condition you experienced during your stay, it seems we did not meet some basic conditions, for this I apologize. I have made note of each of the issues and will address each directly, thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a couple of times over the last two years. Friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located right next to Bart. Plenty of good food and drink options nearby too. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Russell, All of us here at the Whitcomb, would like to thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Lisle, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this place as others have indicated because it was a reasonable priced hotel in downtown SF - and it is located ideally. We had a few woes with check in when we had to wait over 45 minutes to check in. There was a long line already and at times only 1 person checking people in, sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick Z
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Patrick, I would like to apologize for this extended delay while checking in, some customer service issues are preventable, such as this, i have spoken directly with managers to ensure proper staffing if applied to prevent issues like this in the future, Thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were very welcoming helping me with an early check in and worked hard to make sure I'm happy with my stay. The location lends itself to an easy access to different parts of SF. The hotel is reasonable clean and if you need a good room that will be comfortable and clean, this host will do. Don't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJesic
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Jesic, Thank you for choosing the hotel Whitcomb and we are glad we could attend to your needs during your stay. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Herndon, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was the worst quality hotel I've stayed in anywhere in a world where I've paid over $70 a night. I paid $300 per night for 2 nights thru a PriceLine "deal". It was safe inside, the hallways had moldy carpets, no TV remote control in room, and the shower was broken. No complementary anything. General Lousy Feel. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidFink88
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry we didn't extend to you the value you have come to expect in your travels. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's up to you. This hotel has beautiful bones and a classic look. This means you have to decide between amenities and history. This is a central location on Market right at the Civic Center BART stop. My room was a small one but had enough. Others in my group had larger rooms. The staff was very patient with spoiled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anovavacationer
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I cam to SF for a salsa festival and booked a room at the Whitcomb Hotel. The service was very good. There was a mistake in my reservation but I was taken care pretty good. I would recommend this place. They tried to make sure I was satisfied in the end. 👌👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julio G
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Julio, Thank you for your honest comments and allowing us a chance to provide a place to enjoy the city and all it has to offer. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you want a haunted hotel in a dodgy area at night then this is the place for you. To be honest, I regretted booking this place for a couple of days but it ended up being an ok location. I felt scared walking around the area at night though, a huge amount of homeless people and junkies shooting up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emstar1980
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I have spoken with housekeeping managers to address the issues during stay. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Due to paying early, they tried sticking us in a very tiny room that was not clean. The hotel was mediocre with okay service. My bed was always made with wrinkles and had someone else's hair on it. It needs to be updated all the way around. The concierge was not helpful, my research proved more useful then asking concierge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan G
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you Morgan for your comments, I apologize for the short comings in service. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

759 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (635)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (257)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
1,119 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 228 in San Francisco
1,052 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#128 of 228 in San Francisco
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
970 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
720 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $184 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the Market Street side are very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles pchas, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Valet parking only but take uber where you need to so you don't have the worry about parking dt all”
 of 5 bubbles islandnv14, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room without adjoining doors. They're much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles KYBATMAN, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not sure dont think it matters traffic noise dont disturb me”
 of 5 bubbles steve5915, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 528 had bed bugs. Get an upgrade if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles Goatsonboats, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5