We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

W San Francisco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
W San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,059 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for W San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,910: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I regularly read TripAdvisor but this is my first TripAdvisor review. The situation at hand compelled me to sign up immediately to share my experience. Let me also add that the W is my favorite hotel chain and that this hotel has always been a go-to option when visiting San Francisco. However, the following situation has left me feeling frustrated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJ_Moy
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello, I am sincerely sorry that you experienced this at your most recent stay at W San Francisco. I want you to know that by no means did we belittle your concerns, a whole team stood behind this incident; Henry from Welcome Desk, Jeff from Security, and our General Manager Roger Huldi, who called you once this came to his...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear W Hotel in San Francisco, I just wanted to let you know, that we are taking a legal action against you, for setting on fire our iPhone with one of your defective charger cables - supplied by you - and for not taking responsibility for it. Unless I hear from you within 24hrs, I'll be also going public with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AgnieszkaWojtowicz
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello, I appreciate the duplicate efforts to reach out to us, and I truly apologize for the most recent experience you had at W San Francisco. You are more than welcome to connect with me but from my understanding the manufacturer has already connected with you in regards to the replacement of your phone, so please help me understand how...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

$500 a night! Then $56+ to park my car! $5 for a little bottle of water! I understand that this is a hotel in a city, but it was so not worth it. The St. Regis next door was the same price but so much nicer. I've stayed at many W Hotels, but this is the most run down one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello Laura, I greatly appreciate your candid note about your most recent stay at W San Francisco, and I am truly sorry that you left with this not-so-perfect experience, it is definitely not what we are known for. We very much agree that our rooms are not as fab as they once were but we are on it! Renovation plans...

Bulle, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was really looking forward to stay at my first W hotels ever but this hotel ruined it for me and I don't think I want to give the W brand another chance. It looks great and sounds great but the hotel itself NEEDS a lot of work and with the money that we paid we could have stayed some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paris4Life
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello Paris4Life, Thank you for your candid feedback. From what I'm understanding we struggled with communicating our room upgrades correctly between our central reservation and our welcome desk on property, and I am so sorry for the inconvenience. Additionally, I am very surprised to hear that we lacked on the F&B front as well, that is definitely not what we...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

I have been staying here for years and decided to branch out on my last 5 day trip to SF. I stayed at the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental, Park Central, Sheraton FW, etc. The W far surpasses them all. The service is incredible, the rooms, fun, the location central. I remember I had one issue in years past and they remedied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nibbler77
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello Nibbler77, Thank you so much for that candid note. It makes us truly happy that you and your spouse created fantastic memories at your most recent stay at W San Francisco. I will most definitely recognize our amazing W Insider, Sara Hamza. Please let us know when your travel plans brings you back, we will be expecting you with...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Words cannot describe how disappointing this stay was. As a SPG Platinum member I am usually treated like a valued guest. Not here. The staff was rude, the rooms need a refurbishing, the shower has no pressure but most of all, I hate being lied to. I was given the wrong bed type upon check in. I called to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank thurston h
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your candid response, we truly appreciate your detailed feedback. I am so sorry that we created a bitter memory in your most recent stay at W San Francisco, that is, of course, not our intent and definitely not what we are known for. Unfortunately, I am sensing a too big of a disappointment to...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Great little trendy hotel in the City. Only stated one night in corner suite. Very spacious room. Comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom. Staff was very friendly and accommodating (although again a very brief stay). Had drinks in the bar, very busy lots of happy hour business. Did not use fitness center or onsite restaurant. For San Francisco hotel and parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joebuyer
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your note! We truly appreciate all feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to name so many great things about the hotel and the beautiful area around us. Don't be a stranger and swing by and say hi when your travel plans brings you back. All the best, Natalia...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect location (SOMA, 2 blocks from Market st.), nice modern hotel (not one of the best W), good quality service and quite good value for money. But...: I've been assigned a room with a really poor view; the sink was stuck; only one bathrobe was there all the time we stayed; I was charged $500 at check in on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al1271
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello, We want to cordially thank you for taking your time to write us this note. We truly appreciate your feedback. Our billing issue that you detail is definitely rare, therefore, will research closer. In regards to the additional in-room matters that we struggled with, I personally apologize. I am confident that our talents would have assisted you with every...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

I travel regularly for business and have been underwhelmed sometimes by how average a stay can become when you don't have someone looking out for you. My W Insider "Sara" made all the difference in my last 2 trips. It is amazing how some of the smaller intangibles can make you feel special. Because of her, I will seek out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cmattwallace
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

WOW! This makes us very happy and proud. Thank you so very much for acknowledging Sara, she is truly an amazing asset to the team and I will personally make sure that she is recognized by the team. Please do reach out to us when you come visit us again. We love creating unforgettable memories! All the best, Natalia Silva...

Truckee, California
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at the W to celebrate my birthday and be close to the MOMA. It is an expensive place to stay with lots of added costs such as parking and wifi. The room was nice, a bit small and there was some rusty pipes in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. We paid to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TruckeeMomma
wsanfrancisco94103, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review

Hello there, Happy belated birthday! Thank you so for your candid feedback, we truly appreciate you. I am very sorry that you felt misinformed about our basic hotel information. Since I am highly involved in how we communicate information to our guests, if you don't mind, would you be able to suggest better ways for us to inform fees such...

956 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (702)
Viewed
Room/Suite (250)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Cool Corner Room (34)
Viewed
Fabulous Room (19)
Viewed
Fantastic Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Spectacular Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
2,770 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
3,371 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#18 of 229 in San Francisco
771 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#50 of 229 in San Francisco
4,189 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Price Range: $335 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from W San Francisco staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from W San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher is better”
 of 5 bubbles MarkB75, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there! Service is horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles AgnieszkaWojtowicz, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor - good view. Get it?”
 of 5 bubbles MGDCNY, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for the south side, away from SFMOMA, and with sunshine in the windows!”
 of 5 bubbles GGW135, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“really noisy bar on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 706sarahc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5