We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Vertigo

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Vertigo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vertigo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 806: English reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After reading the mixed reviews I was a bit apprehensive of staying here as I was tasked with planning the holiday for 8 and I didn't want to let everyone down but I can honestly say I cannot fault this hotel. The check in was easy, the staff lovely and the room clean and comfortable. The walls are thin but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hayleywhitt
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and for giving us an opportunity. I’m glad you were able to interact with so many members of our team and that you enjoyed our hotel's decor during your trip. Our staff is a great group of people and they’ll be pleased to read your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your...

England
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon, great location in Sutter Street. The decor was fresh and modern in its orange & white scheme. We had two king size beds in our rooms, and complimentary use of white toweling bath robes. There was free wi-fi here and they served free tea and coffee in the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saintsfanengland
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and for choosing us as part of your honeymoon vacation! I’m glad you enjoyed our location, free Wi-fi and coffee/tea. I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future and again Congratulations! Jaime Gonzalez Front Office Manager Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2012

At first I wanted to book a hotel that has a difference and stood out from the rest. Yes i reprieved this, hotel did stand out from every other on my honeymoon. Unfortunately so did the staff. I was never expecting to go on my honeymoon and to be receiving this kind of treatment from most staff members from this...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank ChefyDev
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about the issues you experienced with the front desk staff during your stay. My ultimate regret in reading your review was that our staff left you with an impression of indifference. I’m sorry that we lead you to have such a negative impression of our team when we could have addressed all your questions...

derby
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I’d just like to start by saying that in terms of the physical structure, cleanliness and décor there is nothing wrong with this hotel, in fact it’s actually quite charming. The problems we faced were all with the absolutely awful customer service from numerous members of staff throughout our stay. We’d requested a twin room and whilst we know that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank elisimo25
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

My ultimate regret in reading your review was that our staff left you with an impression of indifference. I’m sorry that we lead you to have such a negative impression of our team when we could have addressed all your questions with kindness, understanding, and an expedient resolution. Please accept my apologies that we did not get this one right....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

At check in we were greeted by Gregory who was very pleasant and helpful, a real asset to this hotel. Reception area is large and spacious, serving free tea and coffee every morning. Our room was a decent size, modern furnishings (appreciated the iPod docking station!) and very clean. The hotel also has free wifi and free room to room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennlittlethoughts
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear jennlittlethoughts, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our staff, especially with our Front Desk Host Greg, who is such a delight to...

Reviewed 1 October 2012

A great hotel with great front counter staff and superb housekeeping staff. Sean provides the best recommendations on where to eat. We stayed here twice, once in late August and again in late September and found the location ideal to explore the other neighborhoods from. Its also an easy walk along Sutter Street to the CBD and to Chinatown. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snouter
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear Snouter, We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about our hotel with us and the Trip Advisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed our hotel that you stayed with us a second time! We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations, service, location, not to mention, all the great restaurants and...

Nottingham
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I liked this hotel very much. The theme and decor were quirky and gave it a funky feel. It is well located centrally. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and whilst there was no bath, the bathroom was well appointed. Staff were generally polite. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Griffboy
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear Griffboy, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon! Best regards, Nick Dalisay Area...

Netherlands
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked the hotel after reading some reviews and because it seemed to be in a nice location. We loved it! The basics where great, good bed, shower/bath, plenty towels, nice modern look, quiet! Even though the hotel is located so central we loved that is was so roomy. Wide hallways, big lobby. And we really loved-loved-loved hanging in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travel-a-lot76
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear Travel-a-lot76, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you say that you "loved" our hotel, we love you for saying that! Thank you for feedback about how much you enjoyed the acommodations of our hotel, the amenities, our lobby, but most importantly the warm hospitality provided by our Front Desk...

Derbyshire
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Vertigo for 4 nights 14-18 September 2012. Very pleased with our choice of hotel. Excellent location - just 5-10 minutes walk from Union Square. Hotel was clean and decently priced (for San Fran which is very expensive!) and room was spacious with a good bathroom. Only downside, like most hotels in California you struggle to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkieMule
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear YorkieMule, Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our acommodations during your four-night stay with us. I will definitely bring up your comment about providing English tea with our Hotel Manager, we'd love to be one of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Overall: Very pleasantly surprised and left the hotel with the best impressions! The hotel had a design feel which I really liked. Some elements of the design like the porcelain dogs I found tacky but hey! Star rating: The hotel was sold at Expedia as a 2.5 star which I felt was a bit of an under estimation. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexPtraveler
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review

Dear AlexPtraveler, Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff and our proximity to Union Square and Market Street. We hope to welcome you...

428 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
1,664 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
877 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,283 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $247 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Vertigo staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Gaithersburg
Muncie, Indiana
Baltimore, MD
26 days ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vertigo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street side was not noisy, side of building less light, but who stays in their room?”
IrisheyesinAmerica, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do Not Stay Here”
tm153, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“311 was a good room which faced the inner courtyard.”
Colin1967_11, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get to know your staff, they're people too!”
550bridgetc, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“high floor street side”
Tangun23, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5