We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Luna Inn

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of La Luna Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Slept comfortable, was able to take showers every day. They even gave me recommendations of where of where to go for dinner. However, we did not have cable for a day and the wifi came and went at times. But, it was fine because we were out enjoying San Fran majority of the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose N
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location in the heart of San Francisco, at the most famous street in SF. Clean rooms and good service in a good neighborhood. I'd love to stay there another times when I go to SF again. Thanks La Luna!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thaisbrando
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

If there was a 2.5 rating, that would be much more appropriate. It is a convenient location, for a fair price. If you notice, hotels in San Fran are pretty spendy. There is a bit of road noise if you are on the front near Lombard Street, but you also get a balcony off your room with a peek a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank downtown1959
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing really to write home about, however the rooms were clean and spacious. Not much else needed when paying budget prices. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was basic but just enough. Nice location and would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1joe1p2
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear 1joe1p2, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at our budget friendly motel and look forward to your next stay with us! Kind regards, La Luna Inn

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 2 nights. Breakfast was decent, nothing fancy. Walls are thin. Could hear footsteps from the room above us. Front desk staff needs training for better customer service skills. His sarcastic remarks were rude!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 91travellers
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear 91travellers, Thank you for your review. Please accept our apology for the service you received from our front desk staff. We will be sure to address your concern, thank you. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Warm regards, La Luna Inn

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby had been painted, but the female receptionist looked miserable and couldn't smile. Went up to our room and was immediately disappointed. The room was pretty dark with old carpet and old...everything. The bed seemed clean and the toilet was clean, but was not pleasant. The shower was ridiculously small and gross looking. I figured I'd be cleaner just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laura G, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments either good or bad because they help us improve for our future guests. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience your experienced during your stay. We have noted your comments and will be sure they have been given to the appropriate managers. We hope you will give us...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at La Luna Inn for 2 nights. Compared to other Inns on and around Lombard Street, La Luna Inn is a very good choice if you compare price, cleanliness, interior, location, staff friendliness and breakfast. Parking and WIFI are available. The rooms are a bit darkish and not 100% super clean, but for sure clean enough to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki1972
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helsinki1972, Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, La Luna Inn

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the La Luna Inn at the last minute after the original hotel we checked in to was really far away and we had to do a last minute switch to a better located hotel with free parking. Free Parking was the main attraction of the La Luna as many other hotels in the area charge exorbitant fees for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amber S, Thank you for your great review of La Luna Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our budget friendly Inn, location and the free parking! We like to add this perk for our guests because we understand how expensive parking can be in San Francisco. We will be sure to pass along your kind regards to...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

Third floor facing busy Lombard street - it was not loud, but you definitely hear the street noise. One cool thing was that we had a partial view of the Golden Gate bridge from our room, was not expecting that. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance, we were only there for the one night, but location was convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Axrandjv
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear Axrandjv, Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. How exciting to see the beautiful Golden Gate from your room, it's so lovely! We hope the next time you need a room in SF, you will stay with us again to explore the major attractions around our...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

This a a really great little place for the price. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our room was in the back away from the street so it was pretty quiet. The beds were comfortable and the blankets were nice since they were soft and heavy not those horrible cheap ones. There was no bathtub which was a drawback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breadandbutta
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review

Dear breadandbutta, Wow, thank you for your great review of La Luna Inn! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us . Please do let our front desk know next time you were having trouble with the refrigerator staying cold - we can have it replaced. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We...

267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (31)
Viewed
King Room (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 227 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
146 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the M...
#160 of 227 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our guest rooms feature all custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast served every morning in the lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $192 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Luna Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from La Luna Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe the best room to get is on the third floor.”
, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's better to choose ground floor rooms if you have luggage.”
thaisbrando, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second or third floor rooms to the left of the lobby offer a small side view of the Golden Gate bridge. Not photoworthy, but still touristy.”
AmberS844, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book direct with hotel, its cheaper than any rate you will find on this site or others, also third floor facing Lombard has good views.”
Axrandjv, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For the price the free parking is a nice highlight”
Mrbeltswildride, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5