We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marina Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 461: English reviews
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I liked the set up a lot. Courtyard with flower boxes reminds me of European b&B's. Not fancy or super modern but relaxed feel and has everything you need. Liked the free parking and the very helpful and friendly staff. Answered questions about getting around the city and even set up a uber ride for me. I like the location,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail K
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Gail, Thank you for sharing your review! Regards, Allen

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent customer service right off the bat. Stuck in traffic past midnight, which is when their office closes. They were kind enough to call us and set up a drop box for our room key. Upon arrival, the property is not only in the best location for city exploring, but it is also absolutely gorgeous!!! Beautifully decorated with flowers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany A
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Tiffany, Thank you so much for your kind review! I actually just read it aloud to the staff! And we cheered afterwards! We always try to take care of each guest...And hearing reviews like yours is affirmation of our efforts! Please come and see us again! Regards, Allen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place, rooms are decorated in a traditional, cosy way and the courtyard is beautiful. It's clean and the kitchens have everything you need, even plates/cups etc. Take note when they say the street view rooms are noisy, they are! You can feel the vibrations from the traffic outside but with the tv on you can kinda...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha J
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review...For future reference, we only have 4 rooms that face Lombard street that do not have a quiet back bedroom. We always suggest that for anyone that is sensitive to traffic noise, that they book one of our 35 rooms whose bedrooms face the courtyard. We hope that you stay with us in the future again!...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel at a great location. Walking distance from the Innovation Hanger, where I had a conference. Also walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf and the touristy options that offers. Having the kitchenette with fridge and microwave was a plus. The lack of A/C is probably not an issue usually, but it was a little inconvenient as it was unusually warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ananta M
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Ananta, Thank you for the kind review! You're 100% right...It's never an issue to not have A/C here...The issue is if the heaters work good! This year was unusually warm, as you stated. We hope that you can find the time to come & see us again! Allen

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town for a wedding but extended the trip for 2 extra days. This motel is so centrally located to many tourist spots. Also had a garage for our rental car. Staff very nice. Only complaint is the street noise as it is right on Lombard St. choose a room in the back of motel. Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maribeth g
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Maribeth, I trust that the wedding & gathering went well! Come see us again! And thank you for taking the time to give us a review! Allen

Rotterdam, New York
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a pleasant 3 night stay in October. It is in a great location near all of the touristy attractions. The Management staff are wonderful and accommodating. I only have 2 complaints, the housekeeping staff was non existent. We had to chase them down for towels and to empty our garbage and the rooms smell a bit musty. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneeElvis
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

ReneeElvis, I'm sorry that you had to hunt down one of our housekeeping staff. The housekeepers generally clean the "checkout" rooms first, and then move on to the "stayover" rooms. Sometimes it can seem as if they're not around because of the property setup (when they're cleaning a room they're not within eyesight. We leave the windows open upon cleaning...

Fort Bragg, California
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Pros: Very friendly staff and a great location - a few minutes walk from the Palace of Fine Arts, 10 minutes walk from the Marina and very handy for the 30 route bus to downtown. Several bars and restaurants also within walking distance. Very pretty courtyard. And parking in your own small garage included. Cons: Street facing room not just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fredfr12
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

fredfr12, Thanks for the review. Yes, the Lombard facing rooms can be loud. Hopefully you'll stay with us again in the courtyard! Allen

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We chose the Marina Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and because we had friends staying at a VRBO in the Marina district. It was quaint and adorable and had free parking, oh my! There was no air conditioning, but lots of natural sea air from open windows. It gets quite cool at night so lack of air conditioning is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Barbara, Thank you for your review! A-16 is always a favorite as well! Allen

Reviewed 27 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The motel is in a great area for restaurants and shopping. The lodging doesn't seem like a motel at all because of the great courtyard. The room was very clean and comfortable. You really can't beat the price for the accommodation and FREE parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny-Lisa
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Sunny-Lisa, Thanks for sharing your review! I'm always happy to share comments about the rooms with our staff! Allen

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights there: Pros- location pretty good but would have taken a hotel closer to the piers; nice room with full kitchen and a big shower room; nice and helpful receptionists; parking. Cons- lousy Wifi, horrible noise from Lombard street (mostly coming from the door not the window), the bed was shaking when cars drove by; heating started to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tal S
MarinaMotelSF, Manager at Marina Motel, responded to this review

Tal, I'm sorry to hear about your experience, although i always appreciate reviews from our guests. I'll address your issues in order. First,we've upgraded our wi-fi system,& added quite a few repeaters,so i'm surprised at your lack of connectivity: different devices function in different ways, as we've had no complaints about the wi-fi from any guests since our upgrade, i'd...

357 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Double Full Room (43)
Viewed
King Suite (54)
Viewed
Queen Room with Kitchen (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
653 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
455 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2504
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $194 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marina Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Marina Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Lombard if noise bothers you. Some rooms have kitchens.”
 of 5 bubbles 457gailk, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard facing rooms will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles AnantaM_12, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the courtyard rooms away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles fredfr12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had a room in the inner courtyard which is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles knightd112016, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Select a garden view room, almost no street noise and the floral smell from the gardens was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Sparx79, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay